Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive New Edition
This latest edition, published September 2014, appears to have been completely revamped and features much more colour than the previous editions. I have found it easy to read and a mine of valuable information for my forthcoming trip.

The previous reviews appear based on much earlier editions and are really no longer relevant as the editors/authors have also...
Published 9 months ago by superdoc

versus
14 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful
This is a dreadful book. It is uninspiring. There are few photographs. The format is exceptionally dull - pages and pages of writing.
What really made me choke though was the section about Pailin (p 140): "..long-term Pailin residents still reminisce about the Khmer Rouge years, when education and healthcare were available and food was given to the old and needy"...
Published on 30 Jun. 2004 by J. R. Ekins


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive New Edition, 7 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Cambodia (Paperback)
This latest edition, published September 2014, appears to have been completely revamped and features much more colour than the previous editions. I have found it easy to read and a mine of valuable information for my forthcoming trip.

The previous reviews appear based on much earlier editions and are really no longer relevant as the editors/authors have also changed. The maps are informative without overloading detail and the text is clear and concise yet the book is small enough to fit easily in carry on baggage to while away the long flight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great guides that don't assume everyone wants to indulge in dangerous sports., 11 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Cambodia (Paperback)
Rough Guides are great. As long as you don't buy the Kindle version, which is extremely irritating and cumbersome to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rough Guide to Cambodia, 4 Sept. 2009
By 
The book was clean and arrived promptly but I wish that we had known it was such an early publication. The year was not given in the ad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful and informative, 11 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Cambodia (Paperback)
Great reading for a possible future trip
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 30 Jun. 2004
By 
J. R. Ekins "chunky" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a dreadful book. It is uninspiring. There are few photographs. The format is exceptionally dull - pages and pages of writing.
What really made me choke though was the section about Pailin (p 140): "..long-term Pailin residents still reminisce about the Khmer Rouge years, when education and healthcare were available and food was given to the old and needy". What absolute rubbish. The sort of education that the Khmer Rouge gave is very well known about - communist indoctrination. As for food, well, perhaps it was a different Cambodia where so many people died of starvation, caused entirely by the Khmer Rouge. Then again, perhaps the author simply doesn't know what she is talking about.
This book is gutter trash. Don't buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rough Guide to Cambodia
The Rough Guide to Cambodia by Rough Guides (Paperback - 1 Sept. 2014)
£12.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews