Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Starting Point, 26 April 2014
By 
Malcolm Wiffen (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War I: The Definitive Visual History (Hardcover)
If you're familiar with this type of Dorling-Kindersley format, you will know what to expect, a visually stimulating, well presented, colourful and well written book.

This particular book deals with the First World War in an easy to read, accessible style and provides a good grounding for further reading should you wish to study the subject in greater depth. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and well Illustrated - A Superb Book !!, 8 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. S. P. Walshe (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War I: The Definitive Visual History (Hardcover)
An excellent book which combines a wide array of excellent illustrations with informative text. It is a difficult task for any single volume to cover either of the world wars as there were so many theatres of campaign and complexities both political and military but this book makes a pretty good job of it. The layout is logical and whilst it progresses in chronological order the book has many sections covering a wide range of associated subject material. Given that the centenary of the outbreak of WW1 is to be commemorated this summer there no doubt will be alternative publications to attract buyers but I doubt if many will come close to the quality of this book, particularly at this price point. Excellent delivery service by Amazon and if I had to be picky the absence of a dust cover was the only negative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book chronicling the World War I, 22 May 2014
By 
Janet Henson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War I: The Definitive Visual History (Hardcover)
A very informative book with lots of photographs and interesting information about World War I. I would recommend you get this book as it's before history of World War I. Spent many an interesting time reading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War I: The Definitive Visual History (Hardcover)
I have bought loads of Dorling Kindersley books, as they cannot be beaten for their lavish content, quality or value for money. This book did not disappoint. The quality and content is superb. It is, without doubt, one of the best volumes on the First World War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book on WW1, 21 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. C. Taggart (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War I: The Definitive Visual History (Hardcover)
Well explained and easy to read with plenty of photographs and diagrams. You quickly understand why things happened and why it lasted 4 years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War I: The Definitive Visual History (Hardcover)
Up to Dorling Kindersleys usual standard. A very good volume on the enormous subject that is World War 1. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World War 1 DK Style., 28 May 2014
By 
A. M. R. Smithers (Dalkeith Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War I: The Definitive Visual History (Hardcover)
Excellent book filled with great pictures and important facts and information. A great buy. I will return to this book time and time again.
Invest in this you wont be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Studying the Great War with the Smithsonian, 7 Aug 2014
By 
Robin Friedman (Washington, D.C. United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: World War I: The Definitive Visual History (Hardcover)
The Smithsonian Institution and DK Publishing have produced this new history, "World War I: The Definitive Visual History from Sarajevo to Versailles" (2014) to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the Great War. Superlatives deserve to be approached with skepticism, but the term "definitive visual history" may be warranted in this instance. R.C. Grant, who has written many books on modern warfare, is credited as the author while Richard Overy, Professor of History at the University of Exeter is listed as a consultant.

The Smithsonian's WW I consists of about 350 pages divided into seven large chapters. It begins with an introductory chapter covering the conditions that led to the War between 1870 and 1914. The next five chapters cover the progress of the war on a year-by-year basis from 1914 to 1918 through the Armistice of Novemember 11, 1918. The concluding chapter explores the aftermath of the war through 1923, including the Paris Peace Conference, the Treaty of Versailles, and the continued world instability which led to WW II.

The book is evenly divided between text and pictures. The text includes a great deal of information on every page. Each chapter begins with a timeline in a calendar format which summarizes the major events of the year under discussion. The discussion then proceeds in two-page sections on facing pages covering a small, specific aspect of the war. The topics covered include battles, leaders, political events, campaigns, and activities on the home fronts, including, for example the Russian Revolution, and the abdication of Kaiser Wilhelm II late in the War. The war on land, sea, and air is described as are the many fronts on which WW I was fought. There are insets in the text giving a short "before" and "after" summation for each event discussed. There are also extended cross-references in the book between related topics. The "before" and "after" format and cross-references provide continuity to the presentation and allows the reader to explore a subject in the middle of the book with some necessary perspective of what came before and after. It also leads to a degree of repetition, but repetition is the mother of learning. The text includes many sections labeled "eyewitness" in which contemporaneous voices are heard about the particular event under discussion.

The pictures in the volume are well-chosen and clearly presented and labeled. They are in a mix of color and black and white. The books include maps and military diagrams for readers interested in following the progression of the many battles described. There are photographs of the trenches and their hardships, of combatants, of propaganda tools, of soldiers and leaders, of weaponry, ships, guns, planes, and more.

The book provides a surprisingly detailed overview of the Great War. It gives a feel for the enormity of the conflict in terms of size and loss of life. It helps the reader understand the origins of the Great War, its course and increasing futility, its relationship to WW II, and its continuing impact. It is a necessary and important history to understand, but not an edifying one.

Although in nearly coffee-table size and with many photographs, this book is a work for serious reading rather than for browsing. It requires about the same length of time to read and digest as a standard, non-pictorial account of the Great War. The authors are careful to present issues and controversies relating to the War without drawing dogmatic conclusions. Rather, the book encourages readers to think about the Great War and its impact. This Smithsonian pictorial history makes an excellent choice for readers who want to read one book about WW I. Readers with a serious long-term interest in the War will also learn a great deal from this volume.

Robin Friedman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the farms, factories and public schools they obeyed the call to the colours., 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War I: The Definitive Visual History (Hardcover)
Being ex service myself I found the book it very informative. I have had an interest in the first world war since I was very young. The first time I seen ex-servicemen on parade at the War Memorial, it was mainly made up of these men. My late father who served in the 2nd WW as an air gunner in the RAF told me a lot about such men. So the book also helped to fill in gapes.
I would recommend the book if you don't have any other historical reference points on this very important subject, because we owe this generation so much. 'We will remember them'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War I: The Definitive Visual History (Hardcover)
Another superb book by DK which captures in photographs and illustrations all aspects of the War from its very beginnings on the hot streets of Sarajevo, to the Armistace in November 1918. Anyone who wants to have a book which explains the " "hows'" "whys"' and "who's" of the conflict would find no better point of reference anywhere - especially those that are seeking to learn more of how this war shaped so much of our modern day history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

World War I: The Definitive Visual History
World War I: The Definitive Visual History by R G Grant (Hardcover - 3 Mar 2014)
20.00
Usually dispatched within 1 to 2 months
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews