Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amsterdam on your fingertips
“DK Eyewitness Travel Guide Amsterdam” was an out of the blue purchase but nevertheless a good one because it offers a comprehensive perspective of the city, thus making one, upon reading it, familiar with it without having been there yet.

Rich in detail and teeming with pictures, maps and bird's eye views of Amsterdam's main sites, “DK...
Published 9 months ago by J.P.Gomes

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Expensive for poor maps & mediocre info
Very glossy some lovely photos but".... The map index did not show street I was staying in, but street on map!
The info very basic for the size of the book, which is quite hefty to carry.
Maps of holland itself poor. Not the best buy I've made. Amsterdam & it's inhabitants however were great, had a fantastic time travelled by trains which were clean...
Published 9 months ago by alex


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amsterdam on your fingertips, 30 April 2014
By 
J.P.Gomes (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Amsterdam (Flexibound)
“DK Eyewitness Travel Guide Amsterdam” was an out of the blue purchase but nevertheless a good one because it offers a comprehensive perspective of the city, thus making one, upon reading it, familiar with it without having been there yet.

Rich in detail and teeming with pictures, maps and bird's eye views of Amsterdam's main sites, “DK Eyewitness” divides central Amsterdam into seven different areas and, within each, main monuments, historic buildings, churches, markets, museums, canals and so forth are highlighted. There is also a chapter on “Beyond Amsterdam” for broader travelling throughout the Netherlands.

Furthermore, autonomous chapters such as “Travellers’ Needs” and “Survival Guide” address practical issues for Amsterdam’s visitor such as where to stay, where to eat, where to shop, how to get to the city, how to get around the city, what places to avoid and so on… All this updated to 2014 as easily perceived, for instance, on public transport fares.

No doubt, a good guide. And, as of now, a somewhat anxious reader willing to finally make the trip! Definitely four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This was an excellent companion on our recent trip to Amsterdam, 26 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Amsterdam (Flexibound)
This was an excellent companion on our recent trip to Amsterdam. It was never out of my hand and allowed us to get more out of our trip than we otherwise would have. The maps and photographs were most helpful as was information about opening times etc. The only omission we noted was that there was no mention of the Amstel Botel (it had been mentioned in an earlier edition). For a clean basic inexpensive place to stay it ticked all the boxes. And the 10 minute ferry ride at the beginning and end of the day was part of the fun. And never more than 6 minutes late!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Amsterdam (Flexibound)
Packed with information and advice, an ideal handbook for anyone planning a visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DK Eyewitness Travel Guide, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Amsterdam (Flexibound)
Perfect book, just what we needed to have a great time in Amsterdam. Very happy with my purchase indeed. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easiest-to-follow guides of them all, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Amsterdam (Flexibound)
This series of travel guides is right-on. The combination of visual aids and reader/traveler reviews and input is the best way to get an idea of where you plan to visit before you get there. I used to rely wholly on the Michelin Guides but DK Eyewitness is my new best friend in travel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this one gave us a great overview of the city's history and culture and in ..., 15 Oct. 2014
By 
James E. Black (Harrison, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Amsterdam (Flexibound)
As with many Eyewitness Guides, this one gave us a great overview of the city's history and culture and in additional to helpful maps and guide also pointed out worthwhile attractions that we might not have come across on our own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She said that it was so useful and she miussed nothing, 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Amsterdam (Flexibound)
I bought this as a gift for my Niece going to Amsterdam for a long weekend . She said that it was so useful and she miussed nothing . handy map too !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Expensive for poor maps & mediocre info, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Amsterdam (Flexibound)
Very glossy some lovely photos but".... The map index did not show street I was staying in, but street on map!
The info very basic for the size of the book, which is quite hefty to carry.
Maps of holland itself poor. Not the best buy I've made. Amsterdam & it's inhabitants however were great, had a fantastic time travelled by trains which were clean &efficient stayed at hotel landeres see trip advisor immaculate rooms April 2014
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Oct. 2014
By 
JAT (Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Amsterdam (Flexibound)
Quick and easy. Came earlier than they predicted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goods were not delivered correctly, 26 May 2014
By 
Mrs Elaine Holmes (Bingley, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Amsterdam (Flexibound)
My order was seeming to take a long time to be delivered but fortunately, a lady living near by came to my address with both the Eyewitness guide and the other order of a pocket map of Amsterdam. She had witnessed someone in a white van acting suspiciously outside her home and after he had gone, went outside to see what he had been doing. Having walked a few yards she found my books laying discarded in long grass and a little further down the road she discovered the torn wrapping. She managed to work out my address on Google and very kindly brought the books to me. I reported it straight away to Amazon by telephone and the young man told me he would investigate. He told me the system was showing 'items lost' so have no idea how that was posted on the Amazon information screen, but I have not heard anything since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Amsterdam
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Amsterdam by C Catling (Flexibound - 3 Mar. 2014)
£9.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews