Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for the amateur and professional garden designer.
This book gives a fool-proof method of designing a garden with all you need to know as a beginner, plus great inspiration for us old-fashioned designers who still use a drawing board regarding new computer software and inspiring modern schemes that give a new slant on traditional tecniques. The format is divided into chapters on different styles plus chapters on the...
Published on 3 July 2009 by F. M. Brown

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok but limited
Great photos but limited use as lack of any real detail. Not sure quite who it's aimed at; not really a coffee table book or a good reference book. No help if, for example, you want to underatnd perspectives and how to plant to make a garden look wider or longer for example. Best section is on the plants and that's a small section and you'd be better off buying other RHS...
Published 22 months ago by myddlewoman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for the amateur and professional garden designer., 3 July 2009
By 
F. M. Brown "garden designer" (Perthshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book gives a fool-proof method of designing a garden with all you need to know as a beginner, plus great inspiration for us old-fashioned designers who still use a drawing board regarding new computer software and inspiring modern schemes that give a new slant on traditional tecniques. The format is divided into chapters on different styles plus chapters on the practical aspects. The whole book is illustrated by beautiful photographs and is both useful and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book for beginner or professional, 6 Dec 2010
I'm a garden designer [...] and I bought this book some time ago and didnt get time to read it. I picked it up yesterday and was astonished at what a fantastic reference book it is, for just about anything to do with garden design. A must have for all designers and garden lovers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RHS Encyclopedia of Garden Design, 5 May 2009
By 
S. Ireland (Windsor) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent - This book was everything it was supposed to be - my daughter has recently moved to a house with an extremely overgrown garden. We were able to identify existing plants and trees, and plan her new garden using design ideas and tips in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book, 5 May 2009
This book is fantastic whether you have a large or small garden, live in the country or city. Ideas, planning and inspiration for everyone whether you enjoy a traditional garden or modern ideas. Every design idea is in here and is a wonderful gift. Well done to Chris Young and contributors for a supberb book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I really love this book - find it inspiring, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have had this book for a number of months now and can't help but keep leafing through it as it find it so full of inspiration. It's really well laid out, so it's easy to dip in and out and just read the section you are interested in. The photography is really good, but it's a lot more than just a book a beautiful images. I love the section on choosing a style and the plant and materials guide at the back. I have a small city garden and found lots of relevant ideas, and I'm sure it would equally useful for a much larger space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok but limited, 11 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great photos but limited use as lack of any real detail. Not sure quite who it's aimed at; not really a coffee table book or a good reference book. No help if, for example, you want to underatnd perspectives and how to plant to make a garden look wider or longer for example. Best section is on the plants and that's a small section and you'd be better off buying other RHS plant books for plant information. Pity as I have other RHS books on plants which are really useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Encyclopedia of Garden Design - Sookie, 14 April 2009
By 
Sookie B "Sookie" (Surrey, England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book for my gardening library. Full of inspirational ideas to change an old garden or plan one from scratch. Plenty of practical guidelines and planting ideas. Definitely worth purchasing. The only
thing I felt it fell short of was more inspirational plants to use. It was more for the beginner in plant knowledge. But then I am one of those gardeners who always look for the rare or unusual to add a little more interest to my garden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RHS Book of Garden Design, 7 April 2009
By 
Mrs. P. Ring (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is probably the nicest book of its kind that I have seen. The sections are more varied and informative than usual garden books of its type, and there are lots of ideas. The gardens are real and current - not photo library pictures that we have all seen in several books. I know this because our garden is featured! Well worth the money and a lovely present for people who are interested in gardens/gardening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For study and leisure alike...., 30 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. Martin J. Horne "glass half full" (Reading, Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is excellent, very comprehensive in its coverage. The topics and images are well set out and the strength of this book is that it would appeal both to the serious student - RHS or other courses - and to the more casual leisure gardener alike.
The book deserves more publicity and exposure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS Encyclopedia of Garden Design (Hardcover)
Lots of ideas, maybe most out of reach of the average person but broadens your perspective certainly. Plenty of practical tips as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

RHS Encyclopedia of Garden Design
RHS Encyclopedia of Garden Design by DK (Hardcover - 1 Mar 2013)
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews