Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for the amateur and professional garden designer.
This book gives a fool-proof method of designing a garden with all you need to know as a beginner, plus great inspiration for us old-fashioned designers who still use a drawing board regarding new computer software and inspiring modern schemes that give a new slant on traditional tecniques. The format is divided into chapters on different styles plus chapters on the...
Published on 3 July 2009 by F. M. Brown

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Breadth of coverage but not much depth
I bought this whilst I was studying for a professional-level diploma garden design. It wasn't on our reading list but I did find it a useful jumping off point when looking for inspiration – there are plenty of photos to whet the appetite. The book is divided into four sections: How to Design; Choosing a Style: Making a Garden: Plant & Materials guide. There are...
Published 7 months ago by Marand


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for the amateur and professional garden designer., 3 July 2009
By 
F. M. Brown "garden designer" (Perthshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book gives a fool-proof method of designing a garden with all you need to know as a beginner, plus great inspiration for us old-fashioned designers who still use a drawing board regarding new computer software and inspiring modern schemes that give a new slant on traditional tecniques. The format is divided into chapters on different styles plus chapters on the practical aspects. The whole book is illustrated by beautiful photographs and is both useful and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Guide to Garden Design, but it is not an Encyclopaedia, 2 Oct. 2014
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS Encyclopedia of Garden Design (Hardcover)
The RHS and Dorling Kindersley have produced a superbly well-structured guide to the process of designing, constructing and planting a garden; begin at the beginning of the book, work through it, and by the end even a novice will know how to design, make and plant a garden.

It is lavishly illustrated with understandable drawings and relevant photographs to support the clear text. It is much more comprehensive than a mere introduction to garden design, and yet it is not too daunting for a keen beginner, most of whom will be able to use it as a first real design tool to produce a finished garden. Experienced designers, who will probably already have access to much greater detail in more advanced books, should still find it a useful overview and source of new ideas and an easy way to educate clients.

It is divided into four main sections.
. The techniques of Garden Design, and how to apply them; ranging from first principles of design, through selection of plants and materials, through planning, to a worked case study as a practical example.
. How to choose the Style that will be best suited to your ideas and environment.
. Making a Garden covers the methods of practical construction for the infrastructure and planting techniques for best practice and best results.
. A general guide on how to choose relevant Plants and Materials.

It is not an Encyclopaedia in the conventional sense understood by most people. I think this word is completely out of place and dropping it from the title and Foreword would give a much more accurate impression of what this book really is - an excellent educational Guide. Even the listings of plants and materials are non-alphabetic, except within the subcategories. The only alphabetical listing of topics is in the Index at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book for beginner or professional, 6 Dec. 2010
I'm a garden designer [...] and I bought this book some time ago and didnt get time to read it. I picked it up yesterday and was astonished at what a fantastic reference book it is, for just about anything to do with garden design. A must have for all designers and garden lovers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RHS Encyclopedia of Garden Design, 5 May 2009
By 
S. Ireland (Windsor) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent - This book was everything it was supposed to be - my daughter has recently moved to a house with an extremely overgrown garden. We were able to identify existing plants and trees, and plan her new garden using design ideas and tips in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book, 5 May 2009
This book is fantastic whether you have a large or small garden, live in the country or city. Ideas, planning and inspiration for everyone whether you enjoy a traditional garden or modern ideas. Every design idea is in here and is a wonderful gift. Well done to Chris Young and contributors for a supberb book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb - something for everyone, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS Encyclopedia of Garden Design (Hardcover)
This book was so much better than I expected. I am new to gardening as a hobby and wanted something that would give some fresh ideas, but was also informative and accessible to beginners. This book exceeded my expectations with its clear advice and guidelines on things to consider when planning a garden, and brilliant insights into the wide array of garden styles to choose from. It explains things that other gardening books take for granted that you, as the reader, already know. One of the best features is the breakdown of key elements that each garden style has, so you can incorporate the right things into your own garden. It's an inspirational book and great to dip in and out of, or devour at once! Definitely buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RHS Book of Garden Design, 7 April 2009
By 
This is probably the nicest book of its kind that I have seen. The sections are more varied and informative than usual garden books of its type, and there are lots of ideas. The gardens are real and current - not photo library pictures that we have all seen in several books. I know this because our garden is featured! Well worth the money and a lovely present for people who are interested in gardens/gardening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For study and leisure alike...., 30 Mar. 2010
By 
Mr. Martin J. Horne "glass half full" (Reading, Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is excellent, very comprehensive in its coverage. The topics and images are well set out and the strength of this book is that it would appeal both to the serious student - RHS or other courses - and to the more casual leisure gardener alike.
The book deserves more publicity and exposure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good garden book!, 4 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS Encyclopedia of Garden Design (Hardcover)
My neighbour borrowed me this book and I loved it immediately. So I purchased it at once. It's full of information about gardening which is brilliant guide for me who doesn't know about gardening at all. Although I haven't read through most of it. But it did give me some inspiration by browsing the pictures of the garden design. I am very pleased with the design I made to our garden which I've got some of the ideas from this book. Will read in details in the future for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Encyclopedia of Garden Design - Sookie, 14 April 2009
By 
Sookie B "Sookie" (Surrey, England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book for my gardening library. Full of inspirational ideas to change an old garden or plan one from scratch. Plenty of practical guidelines and planting ideas. Definitely worth purchasing. The only
thing I felt it fell short of was more inspirational plants to use. It was more for the beginner in plant knowledge. But then I am one of those gardeners who always look for the rare or unusual to add a little more interest to my garden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

RHS Encyclopedia of Garden Design
RHS Encyclopedia of Garden Design by DK (Hardcover - 1 Mar. 2013)
£17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews