Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good account of the Time Lord and his world
Dorling Kingsley have produced a variety of Character Encyclopedias for various franchises over the last few years. Marvel, DC, Pixar, Star Wars...so it's only fitting that Doctor Who receives the same treatment, especially with this year (2013) being the 50th Anniversary celebration of the show/franchise.

Like previous Character Encyclopedias, Dorling Kingsley...
Published 14 months ago by R. Wood

versus
17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lackluster attempt at celebrating the shows history
just arrived in the post, and after leafing through its pages, i have to say i,m very disapointed. considering this enclclopedia is supposed to be celebrating 50 years of doctor who, its a lot smaller then i expected it to be. when i saw how small it actually was, alarm bells started to ring.

once opening it up, things didn,t get much better either. although...
Published 21 months ago by andrew from llangollen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good account of the Time Lord and his world, 17 Oct 2013
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who Character Encyclopedia (Dr Who) (Hardcover)
Dorling Kingsley have produced a variety of Character Encyclopedias for various franchises over the last few years. Marvel, DC, Pixar, Star Wars...so it's only fitting that Doctor Who receives the same treatment, especially with this year (2013) being the 50th Anniversary celebration of the show/franchise.

Like previous Character Encyclopedias, Dorling Kingsley have put together a splendid book for readers. Doctor Who fans can enjoy a concise, easily digestible guide that's well laid-out, has great pictures & use of text and a very good structure to it.

Jason Loborik, Annabel Gibson & Moray Laing are the team of writers who have compiled all the entries in this encyclopedia, and on the whole, they've produced a fine piece of work, condensing the whole cast of the Doctor Who Universe into a nice hardback for fans, one that's light & easy to handle.

The A-Z doesn't cover EVERY-SINGLE-CHARACTER in the show's 50-year-history, but it does a great job in covering the most prominent players from the classic eras and those of Russell T Davies & Steven Moffat. (N.B. This Character Encyclopedia covers the Doctor's history from the show's very beginning to "The Snowmen" (the 2012 Christmas Special), so there's no updated information on Clara (as revealed at the end of Series 7) or things like the revamped Ice Warriors or Whispermen.)

All (to-date) 11 incarnations of the Doctor, his greatest/deadliest enemies (Daleks, Cybermen, Master, Davros, Weeping Angels, Silence etc), companions/friends (Brigadier Lethbridge-Stewart, Sarah-Jane Smith, Rose Tyler, Donna Noble, Captain Jack Harkness, Amy Pond, Rory Williams, River Song etc) and miscellaneous characters are all profiled/detailed in separate one-page spreads that feature excellent photos, stills & text-boxes. It's not the ULTIMATE guide to the Time Lord's world, but the encyclopedia certainly does it justice. The contents and index further solidify this as a good source of information.

Doctor Who: Character Encyclopedia is like all the other counterparts Dorling Kingsley has released. It's a handy hardback with good information for new fans who wish to know more about the show's history. For the more learned fans, it may come across as a bit lacking, but it's still worth having for being so well compiled and presented. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wibbly wobbly journey, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Character Encyclopedia (Dr Who) (Hardcover)
This book is an excellent resource for prehaps whovians that are new to the show or those who havent seen the classics. My first doctor happened to be the 7th (Sylvester McCoy) but still this book is packed with interesting facts about all 11 of the doctors and every other character to present (not including the current series monsters and characters). It helps particularly the newbies understand some of the context of the show and what things were and are.

Definitely a recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very successful present!, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Character Encyclopedia (Dr Who) (Hardcover)
This was a gift for a 7 year old so I can't speak personally but I am told this is really cool and is inspiring reading practice, whichis an unexpected bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Character Encyclopedia (Dr Who) (Hardcover)
Good book for both new and old Whovians ,covers every single Doctor and each of his resourceful assistants from the past 50 years, as well as unforgettable baddies like the Daleks, the Cybermen and the Master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what the doctor ordered, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Character Encyclopedia (Dr Who) (Hardcover)
Bought for my Dr who crazed son........very happy lad. Although it gives him even more Dr Who things to jibber at me about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Greatly enjoyed by the family, 3 Sep 2013
By 
kat4s (Scotland, uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Character Encyclopedia (Dr Who) (Hardcover)
Not perhaps the cheapest book, but we found it well worth the money for our ten year old. Lots to browse and look through, good pictures and info. Nothing you couldn't find scouring the Internet, but its nice to have all the info in one place
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate A - Z of Doctor Who, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Character Encyclopedia (Dr Who) (Hardcover)
This book is a great detailed guide of Britain's longest running science fiction series in the form of Doctors, Companions and aliens. An impressive book with good photos and images. If you are new to the series it is a great informative insight to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Character Encyclopedia (Dr Who) (Hardcover)
My kids have read this over and over and over, we also gave one as a birthday present which was a massive hit! Loads of information and illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great source of info, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Character Encyclopedia (Dr Who) (Hardcover)
Great source of doctor who info. A bag dedicated to each doctor who character past and present with just the important information. Comes in handy if you have forgotten who that's characters was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah, hello viewer.. welcome to the TARDIS. Care to take a look at the Character Encyclopedia of Doctor Who?, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Character Encyclopedia (Dr Who) (Hardcover)
Although that I have visited Worcester City Centre with my parents today I decided to visit a local book store which was Whsmiths. However the product gave me an idea because I looked at in the store today and I think that the quality of the book is excellent. But the value was £12.99 so I decided not to purchase it today. I even saw the wonderful pictures such as the all eleven doctors from William Hartnell Patrick Troughton Jon Pertwee Tom Baker Peter Davison Colin Baker Sylvester McCoy Paul McGann Christopher Eccleston David Tennant and Matt Smith. Of course were many old and modern villains in the shows such as the Prisoner Zero from the 'Eleventh Hour' in 2010 the Alliance from 'The Pandorica Opens and the Big Bang' the Mighty Jagrafess from 'The Long Game' the 2006 style of the Cybermen from 'The Rise of the Cybermen and the Age of Steel' the 2005 Russell T Davies style of the Daleks the brutal menace of Davros from 'The Stolen Earth and Journey's End' in series four Solomon the trader in 'Dinosaurs on a Spaceship' as played by York actor David Bradley and the veteran actor of Richard E Grant as the character of Doctor Simeon who appeared in the 2012 Christmas special 'The Snowmen' and in the finale of 'The Name of the Doctor' in May 2013. Not to mention the companions were included in the book such as Brian Pond who is played by fifty three year old Bromsgrove(Worcestershire) actor Mark Williams the Weston Super Mare actor of Rupert Graves as big game hunter John Riddell in 'Dinosaurs on a Spaceship' and as seen as Detective Inspector Greg Lestrade in the BBC crime drama series of 'Sherlock' Freema Agyeman's character of Martha Jones from series three the actress Catherine Tate who played Donna Noble in series four the Birmingham actor of Arthur Darvill who played Rory Williams in series five series six and series seven part one. Also there is the lovely actress of Jenna Louise Coleman who is playing the current Doctor Who companion of Clara Oswald in series seven part two and she is in series eight for the programme in 2014. So in theory I decided to order the book from Amazon.co.uk for £8.96 today because I think it is an exciting experience for me to read about the background stories of each and every individual character. I mean, I cannot wait for it to come in the post soon and I am the media consultant. Thank you Amazon.co.uk. Five stars all round!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who Character Encyclopedia (Dr Who)
Doctor Who Character Encyclopedia (Dr Who) by Moray Laing (Hardcover - 2 April 2013)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews