Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great starter book
A great book for beginners who know nothing about cameras. I now understand the difference between SLR and bridge cameras and some of the basics for taking good pictures.
Published 17 months ago by Susan Owen

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No It was smaller than advertised.
No
It was smaller than advertised.
Published 26 days ago by Ashley Ratoo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great starter book, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beginner's Photography Guide (Dk) (Hardcover)
A great book for beginners who know nothing about cameras. I now understand the difference between SLR and bridge cameras and some of the basics for taking good pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a complete beginner's book, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beginner's Photography Guide (Dk) (Hardcover)
A very intuitive guide for amateur photographers who wish to expand their knowledge and obtain a basic theoretical background in photography. I really enjoyed reading it and i believe it helped me not only take better pictures but also enjoy the process much more. Highly recommended book, probably the best of 4 similar books that I purchased together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb for beginners and handy for a refresher, too, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beginner's Photography Guide (Dk) (Hardcover)
Dorling Kindersley has earned a justifiably good reputation for producing excellent books, and this is no exception.

The text is well-written, breaking down possibly daunting topics into simple, easy-to-follow steps. Even better, there are lots of photographs to illustrate the topics under discussion. After all, photography is a visual art; much better to have pictures which show "if you do X then the result is Y" rather than relying on dry and impenetrable words.

The book is written with Canon and Nikon users in mind (the largest market segment), but the instructions are easily adaptable to other makes of camera.

I would unhesitatingly recommend this book to anyone looking to get into photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for beginners, 23 Oct 2013
By 
Anastasia A. Kogka (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beginner's Photography Guide (Dk) (Hardcover)
For beginners like myself it's an excellent choice. I really learnt a lot about the piece of equipment I have in my hands and how to correctly use it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It All Makes Sense Now!!!!, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beginner's Photography Guide (Dk) (Hardcover)
This book is amazing!!! I really couldn't get my head around aperture, ISO, depth of field etc etc, all seemed to complicated!!!! But this book is so easy to understand and it is just like being in a lesson! Bite size chunks of info and easy to understand . Absolutely no negatives for me about this book! Well done to the author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just right, 14 Feb 2014
By 
J. Moore (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beginner's Photography Guide (Dk) (Hardcover)
This is a clear, concise and easy to follow book which is really helping me get the most out of my DSLR camera.

Would recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn as you go, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beginner's Photography Guide (Dk) (Hardcover)
A well presented, useful book. Explanations and exercises are laid out together. Illustrations are well thought out and useful. Bought as a present and described in the 'thank you note' (by a 13 year-old, mind you) as 'wonderful'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT!!, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beginner's Photography Guide (Dk) (Hardcover)
Love this is book! It explains photography in layman terms, and easy to understand, especially for beginners. I Highly recommend it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beginners photography book, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beginner's Photography Guide (Dk) (Hardcover)
Very good book with easy instructions to follow and very well illustrated. I am now slowly working my way though each chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for someone who is taking his first steps in photography, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beginner's Photography Guide (Dk) (Hardcover)
This book is just what I needed to help me start to unravel the mysteries of modern photography.
Everything is explained in a way that a layman, such as I, can start to experiment with a greater degree of confidence.

Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beginner's Photography Guide (Dk)
The Beginner's Photography Guide (Dk) by DK (Hardcover - 1 May 2013)
£11.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews