Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good guide for dogs with a lot of drive
Ryan is a behaviourist and ex-police dog trainer who is highly qualified in the theory and practice of dog training, and this book gives a good multi-step plan for owners of dogs that are problem chasers.

The book is quite thin, but it's useful and easy to read. It starts with basic obedience and the theory behind why dogs choose to chase. I particularly liked...
Published on 15 Oct 2010 by Victoria Clare

versus
25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars its ok
The book itself is well written and very easy to read. Although the recall training is perhaps a little complicated than it needs to be. The problem is it does not provide an alternative for the chase behaviour, it merely stops it. It doesnt allow the dog to think for itself or to make up his own mind. The worst part of the book was the final chapter which if you have a...
Published on 12 May 2011 by muso novice


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good guide for dogs with a lot of drive, 15 Oct 2010
By 
Victoria Clare (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Stop!" How to control predatory chasing in dogs (Paperback)
Ryan is a behaviourist and ex-police dog trainer who is highly qualified in the theory and practice of dog training, and this book gives a good multi-step plan for owners of dogs that are problem chasers.

The book is quite thin, but it's useful and easy to read. It starts with basic obedience and the theory behind why dogs choose to chase. I particularly liked the bit where he describes chasing as being like playing for England in the World Cup, and then when the dog is just about to 'score the winning goal', trying to coax him away with the offer of a biscuit!

The book is aimed at controlling chasing that occurs 'out and about' - rabbits, deer etc. It's not aimed at people who are trying to train their dogs to live with other pets such as cats - although the information about prey drive will probably also come in very handy for people who are trying to do this, it would have been nice to have an extra chapter specifically on this topic.

There is no discussion of prey drive in different breeds - as a sighthound owner, I did wonder if Ryan has mostly worked with relatively energetic dogs such as terriers and herding breeds. Some of the information particularly about teaching dogs to retrieve was quite hard work with my dogs! They tend to flip from 'high drive' to 'asleep' with only one change in gear!

None the less, this is a really valuable book that I would definitely recommend to anyone who can't be 100% sure that their dog won't disappear over the horizon if a suitable target presents itself.

The final chapter deals with using a citronella spray collar with lemon juice as an aversive to produce a 'disgust' reaction. It is fenced with warnings about all the things you should do before resorting to this, which is good news, but I am not entirely comfortable about this section. I would certainly not try anything like that myself with the aid of a book, I'd want proper professional advice from a specialist used to training with dogs of a similar breed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars its ok, 12 May 2011
This review is from: "Stop!" How to control predatory chasing in dogs (Paperback)
The book itself is well written and very easy to read. Although the recall training is perhaps a little complicated than it needs to be. The problem is it does not provide an alternative for the chase behaviour, it merely stops it. It doesnt allow the dog to think for itself or to make up his own mind. The worst part of the book was the final chapter which if you have a serious chase problem involves the use of a citroenella spray collar. To me the use of this is not training - its a cop out. David ryan also doesnt talk about how he manages the prey drive in police dogs. He also talks about the use of a tennis ball as a reward in the early stages too. something that is not generally recommended by behaviourist for dogs with a high prey drive. the reason being that chasing is 'self-rewarding' (the dogs get a buzz from it, making it more likely to occur). So by allowing the dog to chase a ball, you are rewarding the cahse internally and allowing that behaviour to continue. So when the ball is no longer exciting, something else that moves may replace the tennis ball. I just would have expected greater things from one of the countrys leading trainers and behaviourists. As an alternative I would recommend the following book:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Chase-Managing-Predatory-Instincts-Training/dp/1929242689/ref=sr_1_fkmr1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1305209103&sr=1-1-fkmr1

Its called chase: managing your dogs predatory instincts by Clarissa Von Reinhardt. Not a spray collar in sight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars no nonsense reward based step by step advice, 30 Mar 2010
By 
A. J. Hogan "ajh" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Stop!" How to control predatory chasing in dogs (Paperback)
Very very helpful step by step advice. Easy to understand, helpful explanations as to the different reasons why your dog might chase in the first place. Then takes you through the process using your dogs natural chase instincts to allow you to regain control on a positive reward based approach. Now wish I had had this, before I knew i had a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent advicefor dog owners, 10 April 2010
By 
N. Scott (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Stop!" How to control predatory chasing in dogs (Paperback)
My dog has quite a high prey drive so this book(let) has been an excellent read. It gives an overview of why they chase, what steps you can take in preventing & controlling this. I have learnt alot through this & has adopted much of the training advice into our walks to try & manage this aspect of my dogs behaviour. We are getting there now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WoW!, 12 Nov 2013
By 
Lynda Elliott (Meigle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Stop!" How to control predatory chasing in dogs (Paperback)
I would recommend this book to anyone who has a dog - basically. Very weel written in easy to undestand language. Thoroughly enjoyed every page!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Stop!" How to control predatory chasing in dogs (Paperback)
Thought this well worth a read. It was insightful and gave some good ideas on how to build on recall. I have a working cocker and at the time of reading was at my wits end but this book helped me a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Stop!" How to control predatory chasing in dogs (Paperback)
A useful and realistic guide to helping you to control your dog's natural instinct to chase. This book explains why chasing is such good fun for dogs and how the drive to chase can be channelled. It uses positive methods and builds up to the required behaviour in very small steps. The final chapters deal with aversion methods which some readers find distasteful but the writer stresses that these methods should only be used on some dogs and only after other methods have failed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chasing in Dogs., 23 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. C. Fraser (England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Stop!" How to control predatory chasing in dogs (Paperback)
Content very useful. A little manual that can be turned to again and again for guidance when confronted with a situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dog training, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Stop!" How to control predatory chasing in dogs (Paperback)
I bought this for my cousin who is a dog trainer. When I first saw the book it appeared to be very thin in size so did not expect much from it. My cousin thought the book was excellent saying it was the information in the book that was important, not the size.
After reading the book three times she said she would recommend the book to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 30 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Stop!" How to control predatory chasing in dogs (Paperback)
Well written, concise and to the point. A sensible approach, WHICH WORKS, from an experienced ex police dog handler, who really knows his subject. This is a slim volume, but it has all the information you need. I've read many and this is by far the best. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"Stop!" How to control predatory chasing in dogs
"Stop!" How to control predatory chasing in dogs by David Ryan CCAB (Paperback - 18 Jan 2009)
£8.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews