Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not her best
I can understand why Maeve Binchy didn't rush into print with this collection of stories - I think she, too, saw that they were not of the same quality as some of her others. However, her writing was so good that, if her shopping lists were to be published, her many fans would rush to buy them!

The problem is that her later works, from "Evening Class"...
Published 3 months ago by Margot0912

versus
43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Collection of Charming Short Stories.
Chestnut Street is a horseshoe shaped crescent of about thirty nice family homes. It is the location for this charming collection of 36 short stories written by Maeve Binchy. It is her last book collected together by her husband Gordon Snell after her death in 2012. Some of these stories are already published in other collections, like `Star Sullivan' and `The Builders',...
Published 4 months ago by Ismay1012


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Collection of Charming Short Stories., 24 April 2014
By 
Ismay1012 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chestnut Street (Kindle Edition)
Chestnut Street is a horseshoe shaped crescent of about thirty nice family homes. It is the location for this charming collection of 36 short stories written by Maeve Binchy. It is her last book collected together by her husband Gordon Snell after her death in 2012. Some of these stories are already published in other collections, like `Star Sullivan' and `The Builders', but a vast majority of them are entirely new material.

I have been a lifelong fan of Maeve's inimitable warmth, her easy to read style of writing about friendships, family, loss, and new or enduring love and of problems associated with the living of a life. These are the issues that Maeve has used as the focus for this collection of stories. They are like little homilies that we might learn from, the advice of a dear and wise friend and are stories with a carefully hidden morale that soon becomes all too clear, just as Maeve intended. They are shortened versions of the style of book that was the cornerstone of Maeve's inspirational ideas for her many lovely books.

I did feel that a few of the stories had been written with the idea of Maeve coming back to them at a later date in some instances. But this was sadly not to be. Usually so very certain to present a carefully rounded story with an enticing beginning, a middle which developed the story in all its splendour and an ending that just melted the heart and was so very satisfying, occasionally I was surprised with a very abrupt ending and left to ponder just why the story had not been completed with the usual dedication in finding a satisfactory ending. But I did enjoy reading this 400-page collection and I read each story carefully and with nostalgia, all the time knowing that this would be Maeve's very last contribution, gifted to us by one of the most talented and well loved authors of the modern school of wonderful Irish fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Maeve's best, 27 April 2014
By 
Mrs. E. A. McBride (Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chestnut Street (Kindle Edition)
I am a much greater fan of Maeve's full length novels than of her short story collections, so this was never going to rank among my favourites.

The stories are a mixed bunch, loosely united by the characters' connection with Chestnut Street. Some are well developed, but come to a rather sudden and apparently rushed ending. Some have a feeling of being unfinished or having been put aside for future editing, which sadly, Maeve was unable to complete.

Overall, it's an OK read, quite relaxing and entertaining like all Ms Binchy's work, but not one of her greates achievements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not her best, 25 May 2014
By 
Margot0912 (Leeds, West Yorks) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chestnut Street (Kindle Edition)
I can understand why Maeve Binchy didn't rush into print with this collection of stories - I think she, too, saw that they were not of the same quality as some of her others. However, her writing was so good that, if her shopping lists were to be published, her many fans would rush to buy them!

The problem is that her later works, from "Evening Class" (my particular favourite) onwards, were so well crafted that it must have been enormously difficult to maintain the standard to which we had become accustomed.

Her short stories such as "The Lilac Bus" and "Dublin 4" were miniature gems in their own right - Maeve was one writer who was equally comfortable with the long novel as the short story, but she didn't seem to have got into her stride with "Chestnut Street".

I would still recommend these as an interesting read, but just not quite as good as expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CHESTNUT STREET, 25 April 2014
By 
Amanda "sac" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chestnut Street (Kindle Edition)
Collated by her husband and based around the residents of the fictitious Chestnut Street this novel by the late Maeve Binchy is an assortment of short stories pertaining to every day people and their lives.
I felt that some of the tales ended too abruptly, but as is synonymous to this author they all contained that feel good factor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Binchy, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chestnut Street (Kindle Edition)
The only thing better than a Maeve Binchy story is a collection of them all in one book! These stories remind us why we will miss her special story-telling skills in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chestnut Street (Kindle Edition)
Would definïtely recommend a great collection of short stories by a brilliant author she will be sadly missed by all her fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chestnut Street (Kindle Edition)
loved loved loved this book, read it in two days on holiday,the only thing is it made me very sad to think that we won't be able to have anymore like it from Maeve, think I might start at the beginning and read all her book's again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! Though I didnt expect anything less., 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chestnut Street (Hardcover)
As an avid Maeve Binchy fan I was thrilled to hear they were putting some of her, as yet unread, short stories into a new book. It did not disappoint. I skipped 2 of the stories as I remembered reading them and wanted to read all the new ones first. Now I will re-read them all.
Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A "new" Maeve Binchy, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chestnut Street (Kindle Edition)
Definitely not a typical Maeve Binchy! I would guess another writer had written most of it and it was so boring I didn't even finish it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Author of her generation, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chestnut Street (Kindle Edition)
How sad that this is Maeve Binchy's last book.
I have read all her work and this is up wih the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chestnut Street
Chestnut Street by Maeve Binchy (Hardcover - 4 Jun 2015)
£9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews