Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT LEADERSHIP. eXCELLENT FIGHTING MEN., 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation Mayhem (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic book - as an exsquaddie, it gives a clear and excellent view of what the well trained and disciplined soldier can achieve. Steve shows what a platoon sergeant has to control and how he does it. The Pathfinders, origonally from the Brigade of Guards, were disbanded in 1972 for whatever reason, and ressurected in the 1990's. The personnel now serving as X platoon/Pathfinders are of the highest calibre as this excellent account of the mayhem and the uselessness of the MOD and it's backside crawlers. The firefight must have been hell, however, it was controlled by excellent leadership. Well done Steve and all your comrades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, A true insight into blokes on an advanced force overseas operation!!, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation Mayhem (Hardcover)
The Phantom Platoon on a fast ball out of areas Operation, under uquipped & lacking int they beg, steal and borrow what they needed to find, fix and flatten the baddies. Its brutal, warts and all of what life is really like in a tight knit SF unit at work and play. If your sick of reading the milk tray fairy tale SF novels written by ghost writing walter mittys then Steve Heaneys Operation Mayhem is a must!

Eddy Gumbo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Operation Mayhem 2..?, 6 Jun 2014
This review is from: Operation Mayhem (Hardcover)
I've read many of these type of books albeit different missions / locations but this is the first where I felt I was actually there. The way it was written came across as a very personal but honest account of what actually happened added with a very dry humour. Great book, highly recommended - when's the next one..?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pulls no punches, view combat from a soldiers eye, 27 May 2014
This review is from: Operation Mayhem (Hardcover)
Really well told and captures how the events unfolded on the ground. A great example of british soldiers ingenuity and tenacity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Operation Mayhem, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation Mayhem (Hardcover)
This just has to be a 5 star+ rating because it is a true story of the unsung heroes of the special forces engaged in a truly amazing episode in military history. If this was fiction it would invoke sentiments like 'good story, a bit far fetched' and the like.
It also illustrates the many components of human emotions in different situations.
For me it is the book of the year so far.
Immediate delivery by Amazon was appreciated

William Griffin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Job well done, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation Mayhem (Kindle Edition)
Not a woman who would normally read military or war books, but as he was a local guy I bought it for my husband. Just picked it up one day started reading, found it easy to follow, and made for very interesting reading.Amazed at his courage,at everyones in fact. Miracle they survived with little help from the army.Well done boys proud of you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Operation, great read, inspired leadership and legend soldiering, 7 Jun 2014
This review is from: Operation Mayhem (Hardcover)
What a refreshingly genuine, well written and enlightening story, about what was obviously an amazing op to be on. Steve's personal, measured, yet uninhibited account puts you right into the little African village, indeed right into the trenches. Real events, real people, real bullets - much needed after the years of fictional SF operation books. PF have, over the subsequent years, kept maintaining the bar that was set during 'Operation Mayhem'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If You Want to Know How to Succeed Against the Odds, Operation Mayhem Explains How!, 20 July 2014
This review is from: Operation Mayhem (Hardcover)
I do not normally read this type of book, so did not know what to expect. However from the off it was as though I was there in the thick of the action. It has been written in a way that I felt I knew everybody personally. The more I read the less I wanted to put it down.
The attention to detail and professionalism against almost impossible odds was outstanding and shows what can be achieved. It also shows how the human spirit, when presented with a cause to fight for can come through with anything thrown at it.
Steve and his colleagues went about their task in the knowledge that they could have been wiped out, however with their attention to detail they knew that they could redress the balance and move the odds in their favour.
I now understand what being on the frontline in the military means. It is definately not for the faint hearted and they have my utmost admiration and respect for their bravery and heroism.
Superbly written account of beating adversity and an insight into how it was achieved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JUNGLE WARFARE, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation Mayhem (Kindle Edition)
I THOUGHT THE BOOK WAS AN EXCELLENT READ FULL OF SUSPENSE FROM BEGINING TO END. I COULDN"T PUT IT DOWN, IT WAS MADE ALL THE MORE SPECIAL BECAUSE IT WAS A TRUE STORY SHOWING THE DARING BRAVERY OF A SMALL SQUAD OF "PATHFINDERS" AGAINST IMPOSSIBLE ODDS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely absorbed from the first page, 22 July 2014
This review is from: Operation Mayhem (Hardcover)
As I normally do not read military, war books or true life stories as I find them hard going, I decided to take this book away on holiday and give it a go thinking this would last me at least the first week. However, as soon as i read the first few pages I was completely absorbed and could not put it down, finished it by the second day!.

If like me you have always thought that this was not your type of book, then think again. This is one of those times when you can only admire and be amazed that while you are nice and safe at home, people like Steve Heaney are out there doing what all of us only dream we could do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Operation Mayhem
Operation Mayhem by Damien Lewis (Paperback - 22 May 2014)
Used & New from: 8.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews