Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars57
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 November 2014
great book - lovely author , not sure about her stance on 'The countryside' at times- but vert interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
All Miss Reads writings are delightful and a pleasure to take you back down memory lane to a kinder world
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
This is a joy for all Miss Read fans. I enjoyed every article and also the comments from her daughter and publisher. A must read for Miss Read!
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
Miss read, is a wonderful writer,
. 'she writes such lovely charactors, and gives me so much pleasour reading her words.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
This book is for those of us who read and re-read Miss Read's books. Written by her daughter, it gives more insight into her life and background, and more little snippets of the country life which she loved, without being 'a biography' with all that that entails.
I lived for many years in the area about which she writes and her gentle prose and sharp observation bring it all back to me.
It's a lovely book, and one which I shall dip into again and again for years to come.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
Dora was a wonderful writer of all her works as a Teacher and Head Mistress of her Schools. Her Mant funny tales made her books hard to put down. Mrs Griffins Sends her love is her last book written for her before she died. This Auther will be missed, by all who knew her writings - God Bless! Dora ( Miss Read )
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
Very enjoyable, as Miss Reads writings always are
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
Bought as a gift for my Wife and she loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2015
Not what I expected not written by her
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
If you like Miss Read, you'll love this. Wonderful stories, diary extracts and articles, in which nothing much happens but it happens delightfully. Beautifully written. I loved it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.