Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars129
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 October 2004
This is the best little book available for the everyday meal planner.It is the only one that is regularly used out of my many vegetarian cookery books.
0Comment|44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2000
This book, like a number of others of its type does not use photo imagery but brief descriptions and tips followed by basic instructions. It is the sort of recipe book where you will feel free to adapt and modify recipes. Definitely the type of cook book that gets most use in our house.
0Comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 June 2006
This is a bit of an 80's style book in that it is mostly recipes with a select collection of photographs in the middle....but don't let that put you off! Especially as this also means that it's priced as a paperback not a lavishly illustrated coffee table book.

This is my vegetarian bible.

I have had a copy since it was published in 1992, then loaned my copy out and had to buy a replacement. Will soon have to get another as this is suffering from overuse!

There are soups, starters, salads and savouries, plus a large section on desserts, cakes and biscuits.

Imagine your favourite vegetarian restaurant in your own house!

Don't miss Cranks nut roast and the mushroom pate, though there are many others I could recommend.

I have several Cranks recipe books, but this is the opne I use most often.
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2008
I have just ordered a replacement copy of this book. I have had my original copy since it first came out in the 1980's,but it is so worn out due to use. I have made most of the soup recipes over and over. The tomato soup recipe is the simplest ever - not having to skin the tomatoes - it all goes in and what with hand blenders that can go straight into the pot, soups are soon ready, taste so fresh and nicer than the tin variety. This book is not just about soups though, there are starters, main courses, cakes, puddings/desserts etc. I am not a vegetarian, but think every keen cook would benefit from having a copy of this book.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 1998
Don't be put off by Cranks' reputation as a brown rice and lentil institution! This recipe book has nutritious, diverse and - importantly - easy recipes. The ingredients are easy to come by and the meals are so nice even meat eaters will like them!
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2009
This is a Timeless Classic. Anyone interested in vegetarian food or wholefood could not do better than obtain this book. It will never date. Recipes written in a clear and common - sense way. The people who started Cranks Restaurant in London did so enthusiasm and love, and it shows in the book. It should be on your bookshelves along with the usual Cookery Classics.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2009
I originally bought this book over 15 years ago and it's been a regular staple ever since through years of vegetarianism and also after we started to eat meat again (shame on us!!). It's now so well worn, all the pages are falling out. I've scribbled on them, counting calories, making notes and recommendations, etc. In other words, it's been used many, many, many times.

Okay, so some of the recipes are a bit unusual (never quite got the hang of millet or bread without yeast...) but others are brilliant (Homity Pies, and Leek and Cheese Flan, for example) especially the soups, puddings and biscuits. Also, most of the recipes are VERY cheap to make, plus easily adaptable. And I always used their pastry recipe.

If you have one staple cook book in your kitchen, make sure it's this one!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
I've had this book since it was first published and have purchased further copies for my daughters who are always asking for recipes they remember from it.

There's nothing trendy about it, which is a good thing. It's just the best vegetarian book I've ever owned and is full of straightforward, delicious, easy to make recipes. The soup section is particularly good - cauliflower, for example, is absolutely yummy and well worth trying even if you don't like cauliflower!

Overall, in my opinion, you should have a copy of this on your bookshelves even if your not a vegetarian - it's a classic.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 February 2012
BEST EVER veggie cookbook! Starts with an explanatory section on wholefoods (different kinds of flour, brown sugar etc) then launches into the expected sections on soups, savouries, desserts plus less expected ones on breakfast cereals, drinks and breads.
The recipes are easy and taste gorgeous. I made apple buns last week which everyone loved. Why not try cheese baps (split and filled with mustard & cress), Armenian soup (lentil & dried apricot)or country pasties (lovely wholewheat pastry with cheese & veg filling) ? Or brown sugar meringues? I've had this book years and couldn't live without it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2009
A very easy to follow vegtetarian recipe book. Just need to lower the temperature if you are using a fan oven. Also some of the recipes have alternative ingredients or extras to try out. I use this book often.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)