Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars81
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 June 2014
A good enough read, but the plethora of characters introduced and then bumped off made me fill as if I was witnessing a revolving door! I have read Christian Cameron before and this novel is not one of his best in my view.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
Having read Poseidon's Spear and others I thought I knew what to expect. Christian Cameron has surpassed himself in his fireside style story telling. Historically spot on (I think) with a hero you just grow to love.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
I felt the Knighting of the ill-made knight was dragged along unnecessary and a last minute desperate act to obtain it would have led to his death, despite this it was a good read but not a CAN'T-PUT-ME-DOWN-READ
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
quite a long drawn out tale but enjoyable nonetheless......will happily purchase any future books by this author.....the story was well told and you could empathize with Wayland and the "Ill-Made Knight
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2015
Very enjoyable. Read it cover to cover in two days and it a while since I've done that. Great characters, pacy and engrossing. A completely new, for me, view of violent France post Poitiers. Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
Brilliant descriptive historical novel during the 100 Years War, cracking characters and battle analysis. Christian Cameron has a knack for bringing history into the living room. Great escapism.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2016
Another wonderful tale, a likeable hero, flawed but heroic, great battles, some love, well researched military details. All in all a great pleasure. I am looking forward to reading the next book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
Christian Cameron's writing always had me captivated from start to finish. His art of telling the story from a first person perspective draws you in superbly. Can't wait for the next one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
Cameron at his best and a different view of period we normally get, in my view should be used for a tv serial, will educate people about Europe's transition from roman to modern day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
At first it took a little time to get going. But thoroughly enjoyed this book. For anyone who likes good old knight yarns. Look forward to reading more by this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.