Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars51
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
48
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 December 2011
Despite my fanaticism about Iron Maiden, the book is one of the best things i've ever get about Maiden. It tells the whole story of the Somewhere Back In Time Tour and the Final Frontier Tour with photos. By the way, excelent job of John McMurtrie.

I'm really enjoying my book!!! Get Yours fast!!!!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2011
I loved this book on sight. the look, the feel, the whole package. And the content is amazing - the whole tour literally unfolds in pictures in front of you and makes you feel like you're right there with them. I'm a huge fan of the band anyway and got goosebumps looking at the expressions on the faces of all the fans pictured, they jump out at you as much as the photos of the band do. All the offstage photos are so fascinating, the personality of each individual in the band is captured to perfection I think. The captions are both concise and explanatory (and often very witty) and in Bruce Dickinson's foreword it really hits home what a truly mammoth task it was to get the whole project off the ground. Mindblowing stuff! I recommend this book as a self-help manual to anyone interested in seeing how crazy dreams can come true!
11 comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2011
You must buy this book, Its amazing, I bought it as a gift and the recipient was delighted.
Fabulous book, amazing photos and great story, highly recommended
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2011
this book is just great for maiden fans. the pictures are brilliant, and the quality of the pictures and resolution are amazing. very nice hard cover and very thick book. well worth the money! easily the best band the world has ever or will ever see/hear.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2011
This is the best of Iron Maiden, but I'm not in the book and I do not care because I know I was in two concerts of them and it makes me happy
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2012
I bought this book for my husband as we are both Maiden fans. He absolutely loves it and is always picking it up to have a look through (mostly with a magnifying glass to see if he can see us in the crowd!)

After his initial thumb through he has gone back to read it from start to finish and is amazed at the amount of work gone into putting this together. He found the introduction really interesting and it sets the scene well for the rest of the book.

It is good to see the off-stage photos as it gives a different perspective. It is like looking through a family photo album.

You spend ages looking through the crowd pictures and it is a reminder of the fun you had there and how good Iron Maiden really are.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2011
I bought this book for my husband as he is a die-hard Iron Maiden fan. The book is fantastic from cover to cover!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2011
Great book! A must have for any Maiden fan, specially if you have experienced them live in the last two tours.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2011
If you are a Maiden fan then you already have this book, if you are thinking of buying
It for someone who likes the band then do cause it is superb, great layout great pics
It is so well put together!

A must buy for any fan
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Maiden's recent tours aboard "Ed Force One", a converted 757 adapted to carry the band, crew and all their equipment to various far-flung destinations, were epic treks, and a genuine first for a rock band. The story is very interesting, and is told to good effect in the "Flight 666" documentary. This book isn't really a telling of the story - there is just enough text to tell a bit of the background, and an interesting introduction from Bruce Dickinson. The fact that the story is already available in video format frees the space in this book for photographs of the various tours, both on and off stage.

I'm not in general a huge fan of books of photographs - I'd rather have something to read - but I am happy to make an exception in the case of this one. The off-stage photos are fine - seeing the crowds, the off-duty activities and the flying is always interesting, but a lot of this was already covered by the documentary. But the on-stage photographs are superb, and in some cases, utterly stunning - I have seen few examples of rock performance photography that compares with some of the shots in here. John McMurtrie, the band's official photographer, clearly vies with Maiden themselves in terms of talent in their art.

The book probably doesn't stand on its own - for a full record of the Flight 666 tours, you want the DVD as well, but this book is pretty much a compulsory purchase for any Maiden fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)