Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Permission to review, Sir!
It was with some trepidation that I opened this book. Dad's Army is a television classic and anyone attempting to produce something that is seemingly part of this world - rather than about this world - had better know what they are doing. I needn't have worried as this works very well; you can hear the voices of Mainwaring, Wilson, Jones, Pike, Frazer etc. coming through...
Published on 11 Oct 2011 by Sinbad

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warmington on Sea Home Guard Training Manual.
This book is a poor attempt at Dad's Army humor; it fails to be anything above semi funny. Its far below the Dad's Army standard of that British TV show, many people loved. Had I a chance to scan prior to buying I wouldn't have!
As I read, found myself hoping + expecting the content to get better + read on. However, wasn't to be; so I've returned it for refund...
Published 5 months ago by Danny.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Permission to review, Sir!, 11 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Walmington-on-Sea Home Guard Training Manual: As Used by Dad's Army (Hardcover)
It was with some trepidation that I opened this book. Dad's Army is a television classic and anyone attempting to produce something that is seemingly part of this world - rather than about this world - had better know what they are doing. I needn't have worried as this works very well; you can hear the voices of Mainwaring, Wilson, Jones, Pike, Frazer etc. coming through loud and clear. Through footnotes and scribbles, the book also manages to recreate some of the interplay between the characters that made the series so brilliant. This would be easier to do in a script but is a difficult trick to pull off in a spoof manual. A note in the credits says that the text was written with the approval of David Croft and Jimmy Perry, and it shows. This must have been one of the last projects they worked on together before Croft's sad death on 27 September. It is a delightfully fitting memorial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep calm and carry on reading, 25 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Walmington-on-Sea Home Guard Training Manual: As Used by Dad's Army (Hardcover)
A marvellous spoof that'll lift the spirits of anyone who is wandering around saying 'we're doomed'. There isn't an issue with 'mixed conceits' as mentioned by NCC - the back cover clearly states that the book was 'printed in uncorrected proof form, possibly due to austerity measures.' Hence it can be Pike's copy but also contain Wilson's corrections. Quite a neat trick, I thought. And anyone who thinks Jones being boring is a problem clearly doesn't know the series. Ignore such piffling and unperceptive pedantry and buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic fun, 7 Jan 2012
By 
JHK (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walmington-on-Sea Home Guard Training Manual: As Used by Dad's Army (Hardcover)
Delightful record of Dad's Army antics. Very perceptive comments on human nature. Clever presentation of book as 'old'. A must for fans of this treasured TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic little book, so don't panic!, 7 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walmington-on-Sea Home Guard Training Manual: As Used by Dad's Army (Hardcover)
This really is a cheerful little book, and so wonderfully produced. When you pick it up and start to read it, and if you are a fan of the show you can really hear the actors voices in your head as you read.

The book it's self is a hardback and is made to look like an old training manual and inside it follows the same theme, with photos inside make to look they ave been taped or stapled in. There are also little comments made to look liek red pen which have been "written in" by Sgt Wilson and they prove an added boost of humour.

If you are a fan of the show then this heart warming book really is for you! If you are new to the show then this book will make you want to watch some more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doooooooomed!!!, 17 Aug 2013
By 
P. Cheetham (Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walmington-on-Sea Home Guard Training Manual: As Used by Dad's Army (Hardcover)
It's a pretty good book if you're a fan of the show, but I have to say that some parts of it just don't quite fit the character that has supposedly written them. Parts have been made just a bit too daft in order to try and get a laugh, and I have to say that a lot of Pikes 'scribbles' fall into that category.

I feel the author should have watched every episode of the series about another 5 times before writing this and it may have been a bit more polished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amusing and interesting, 21 May 2013
By 
MR - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walmington-on-Sea Home Guard Training Manual: As Used by Dad's Army (Hardcover)
This was bought as a Christmas present for my dad who is just old enough to remember the years when Captain Mainwaring and his friends were everyday sights. It is a light hearted look at the days of 'Dads Army', and is a fine gift for fans of the show, or those interested in the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 14 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Walmington-on-Sea Home Guard Training Manual: As Used by Dad's Army (Hardcover)
Bought this little book today in the British Library shop. Excellent value for money even at full price. It is a source of much amusement especially with the little annotations of Sergeant Wilson througout the book in the guise of editing it! Gauranteed to make you smile. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Walmington-on-Sea Home Guard Training Manual: As Used by Dad's Army, 17 Feb 2012
By 
R. Harrison "jelly baby" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walmington-on-Sea Home Guard Training Manual: As Used by Dad's Army (Hardcover)
Bought as a Birthday gift with interest in original TV programme. Good product which was gratefully received, much laughter ensued and read from cover to cover in no time! Good gift for fathers and grandfathers! Fast efficient service and delivery. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good!, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walmington-on-Sea Home Guard Training Manual: As Used by Dad's Army (Hardcover)
Nice item, fits in with the feeling of the programme - we will sort you Adolf etc - nice to read a bit now and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Home Guard, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walmington-on-Sea Home Guard Training Manual: As Used by Dad's Army (Hardcover)
The concept is quite novel, which makes it a "different" read, and quite hilarious in places. The author could have exploited some items further, I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Walmington-on-Sea Home Guard Training Manual: As Used by Dad's Army
The Walmington-on-Sea Home Guard Training Manual: As Used by Dad's Army by Captain George Mainwaring (Hardcover - 6 Oct 2011)
£9.99
Usually dispatched within 7 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews