Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably THE best book on the TT, 20 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok - bold claim, but I have read pretty much all of the books ever written about the TT. This book, I believe tops them all. The writing is almost poetic in its approach. You can almost feel the passion oozing from every chapter as the author conveys the main protagonists (Dunlop, cummins, Martin & mcguinness).
It charts the 2010/11 Races and interchanges between the 2 very well. Each of the races are covered, though rather than have a blow by blow account of the race in commentary format, the text is well written enough to maintain your interest whilst egging you to read on.
I really was impressed by this book. It even charted a number of facts about both the riders and the race itself that I had not heard of before.
An excellent read; one which I feel any bike fan must read. Even if you have no interest in this great sport - read this regardless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow - heart stopping, 1 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No exaggeration to say this is the best motorcycle book I've read and I have a shelf full of them. A totally absorbing and well constructed story. You feel like your stood in the Isle of Man listening to the racers talk and watching the racing. Even someone not interested in motorcycles will be hooked by the intensity and drama of the story. Life affirming and mad, thank god for the TT and this excellent record of why it acts as such a magnetic to racers and spectators a like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That Near-Death Thing Captures The Spirit of the Isle of Man TT, 6 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
John McGuinness, Guy Martin, Michael Dunlop and Conor Cummins may not be household names to rival stars of football or formula one, but they are legends in the world of TT racing and on the Isle of Man.
Rick Broadbent's intelligent book follows the four men through the thrills and near-death spills of the 2010 and 2011 seasons. It is not simply a starry-eyed account of pit stops, podium finishes and petrol-fuelled bravado, but, as befits the TT, a grittier look at the racers' lives, their terrible injuries and the impact the sport has had on their families and loved ones.
If you want to know how much courage, skill and determination it takes to climb onto a motorbike and hurtle past telegraph poles, dry stone walls and stray cats at 200mph, then That Near-Death Thing is essential reading. And what makes it even more fascinating is that the heroes of this book could not be further removed from the glitz, glamour and mega bucks of Formula One. The men who bring the crowds back to the Isle of Man ever year spend the night before big races kipping in lock-up garages, under awnings on camp sites and in the case of Manxman Conor Cummins, in his bedroom at his Mum and Dad's house in Ramsey. They are ordinary men capable of extraordinary feats and this book is a chance to read their fascinating stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That near death thing, 1 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a very keen enthusiast of the IOM TT for at least 50 years,this book is probably the most intriguing insight into what the riders go through during TT fortnight.Exceptionally well written and unputdownable.Rick Broadbent is to be congratulated on his ability to capture the spirit of the TT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a captivating read, 12 Nov 2012
By 
S. Pope (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're a fan of the TT and have watched 'TT:3D' a handful of times then this book is for you.
It covers the same years' TT races as the movie only obviously in more detail.

The interviews the author had with John McGuinness in particular were my favourite parts of the book. Considering I hadn't seen this book advertised anywhere I was very pleasantly surprised with it and if there were ten stars I'd give it a full ten.

It goes into my top three favourite books without a doubt. I'll try not to use the old cliche "I couldn't put it down" but it rings true as I finished this book in record time.
That's not to say it was short, anything but. I just really enjoyed reading it and I'd highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly great, 7 Sep 2012
By 
Mr. G. M. Doherty (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As an annual visitor to the TT I was curious enough to read this book albeit with limited expectations. A lot of bike books i have read to date have been average. This however really grew on me, the characters followed are very different, the contrast between Guy Martin and John McGuinness really add depth to the pictures of the racers involved

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just finished reading this on my return from the 2012 TT. Really interesting read and good to get to know a bit about the riders we have been watching charging round the Island. Would recommend to other readers to try and get out to the Island to experience the racing for real, even my five year old son is hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 15 Oct 2012
Brilliant book, definitely worth the money, you won't be able to put it down! A must for any road racing fan!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 20 July 2012
By 
Mrs. T. Simpson "tiddles" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brought this for my husband and he is reading it as i type this, he loves it. Easy to read and some great stories from TT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 20 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. Dm Pyke "pykey" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book is so good i am reading it again if you like road racing its a must for your bookshelf
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb341d1ec)

This product

That Near Death Thing: Inside the Most Dangerous Race in the World
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews