Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars29
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 May 2012
The District Nurses of today as a shadow of the DNs from yesteryear. This book shows the sheer variety of differing cases a DN would have to work with, but always with a wry subjectivity. Nowadays the District Nurses will be more swamped with their computers, trying to balance statistical analysis with leg ulcers! Good read. Stuart Townsend: Author of Asylum Bound Asylum Bound
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2012
If you enjoyed the television programme Call the Midwife then this is the book for you. An easy to read, lighthearted insiders account of the life of a district nurse and midwife in the 1950's.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2012
This book is a fantastic read. I couldn't put it down. If you are interested in social history, you will love it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
Great stories and told in an light hearted way. Joy to read and highly recommended .Bit different to the ways of today!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
So well written, it makes you laugh and cry and think about life, and the life of Pat Jordan. What a great woman she was, I wish nurses were still like that today. It is a first class book and would recommend it to all.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2012
I enjoyed reading about Patricia nursing in 1950's - 1960's

Loved her stories, Patricia's friendship with Margaret was lovely.

Patricia is the type of nurse we could all have looking after us.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
im really enjoying this book it makes me appreciate what hard lives people have to suffer . we take so much for granted these days .
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2012
I was always interested in nursing as it was my 2nd choice of career and I thought this book was well written
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
I still haven't finished this book but I am enjoying it I find that era so fascinating and how they managed in their career the characters they meet, and her own family concerns great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
This is a fantastically engaging read, it is emotive and passionate and very well written- would recommend to people who enjoyed the 'call the midwife' series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)