Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Rollins is the Thriller writer all thriller fans should read
Review:
James Rollins is the Thriller writer all thriller fans should read IMHO, all the hype that exists around Dan Brown seems even more unwarranted when you read the quality of story plot, pace, action and adventure that he publishes year in year out. Some of the earlier novels (listed below under Novels) can to some go to the extreme of credulity, but they are...
Published 17 months ago by Parm

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Getting a bid tired
I have always looked forward to the Sigma Force books and bought them as soon as possible, but for the first time I was disappointed. I think the series is running out of steam. Unusually this was a predictable plot with the same outcome. I found it difficult to get into and really after all this time, the romantic moments were lost on me.

I am hoping that the...
Published 16 months ago by Mrs. Lorraine Pullen


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Rollins is the Thriller writer all thriller fans should read, 18 July 2013
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Review:
James Rollins is the Thriller writer all thriller fans should read IMHO, all the hype that exists around Dan Brown seems even more unwarranted when you read the quality of story plot, pace, action and adventure that he publishes year in year out. Some of the earlier novels (listed below under Novels) can to some go to the extreme of credulity, but they are still so well written and so much fun they are addictive.

The Sigma series are that well written, but instead of stretching credulity they inspire, they give a view of technology to aspire to. So many people look at books like this and think "far fetched" when an author pushes the boundaries of technology and fiction it needs to be done right and Rollins always does this with style, look at early star trek, some of the idea (like personal communicators) came to pass (Mobile phones). Look at advances in Rollins books like Monks prosthetic hand, and do an on-line search of the next gen prosthetics, Monks hand has been around for a few years now, the idea behind it so deep so detailed, and this is just one of the ideas brought forth by Rollins wonderful imagination, this imagination is so real so detailed, from the overall plot down to the nitty gritty fine details.

In this latest book Rollins takes us on a journey through history and through the future of Space, time and dark matter. The concepts and the research for this book must have absorbed him for months. The introduction of some of the Greatest/ darkest men in History was wonderful, Genghis and Attila combined with St Thomas. How does an imagination come up with a plot like that astounds me. Add in the fine detail of families, loves won, loves lost and some very brave writing by the author. This is probably the richest and most elaborate, and at the same time down to earth and emotive of all the sigma books.
Very Highly recommended
(Parm)

Other books by this author
Series
Sigma Force
1. Sandstorm (2004)
2. Map of Bones (2005)
3. Black Order (2006)
4. The Judas Strain (2007)
5. The Last Oracle (2008)
6. The Doomsday Key (2009)
7. The Devil Colony (2011)
8. Bloodline (2012)
9. The Eye of God (2013)
The Skeleton Key (2011)
The Doomsday Key / The Last Oracle (omnibus) (2011)

Jake Ransom
1. Jake Ransom and the Skull King's Shadow (2009)
2. Jake Ransom and the Howling Sphinx (2011)

Order of the Sanguines (with Rebecca Cantrell)
1. The Blood Gospel
2. City of Screams
3. Innocent Blood

Tucker Wayne (with Grant Blackwood)
1. The Kill Switch (2014)
Novels
Subterranean (1999)
Excavation (2000)
Deep Fathom (2001)
Amazonia (2002)
Ice Hunt (2003)
Altar of Eden (2009)

Novellas
Tracker (2012)

Series contributed to
Indiana Jones (Films)
4. Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull (2008)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, 4 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This roller coaster novel takes across a world of interlinking possibilities all combined with our common origins and potential destiny. I have never been to many of the places James describes but feel I have always known and loved them through the intimate descriptions of their scales and tableaux. I am convinced after reading this that we all share a quantum consciousness each with the power to influence our common future. Joe Gillespie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Getting a bid tired, 15 Aug 2013
By 
Mrs. Lorraine Pullen "RainyP" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always looked forward to the Sigma Force books and bought them as soon as possible, but for the first time I was disappointed. I think the series is running out of steam. Unusually this was a predictable plot with the same outcome. I found it difficult to get into and really after all this time, the romantic moments were lost on me.

I am hoping that the author now concentrates on the characters her developed in Deep Fathom which I thoroughly enjoyed and was more like the early Sigma Force Novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good book, not disappointed the action starts from the ..., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good book, not disappointed the action starts from the first chapter. I purchased this book as my holiday read and had read most off it before I arrived
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Conspiracy galore, 30 Jun 2014
Take The X-Files and mash in a little Twilight Zone. Baste in a touch of Tom Clancy, and marinate in A Gathering of Twine (The Spirals of Danu) (and I'm really torn as to which one is the better "end of days" book because they are both superb), and you get The Eye of God.

This has everything - science, religion, haunting sub plots, adrenaline... everything.

This is a thinking man's action book with thrills, spills, and enough shocks and crises to keep you hooked until the last page.

I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent as always, I don't always understand the science but always love the journey
huge fan and looking forward to the next adventure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 22 May 2014
This is the latest book in the Sigma Force series. The eye of god is an American satelite which crashes to earth after getting too close to a comet and being affected by dark energy. That in itself is enough of a plot to bring in Sigma Force to investigate yet this story has other plot lines which include Ghengis Khan, the Vatican and St Thomas. It seems incredible that these things can be linked in any way and yet this is Rollins' skill! He writes so intelligently and with such detailed research that it is difficult for the reader to separate fact from pure fiction. But even this is covered with an appendix at the end of the book! I LOVE this series - if you haven't read these books, start at the beginning and work your way through them all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good story with many turns, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet another good story by the author. Fact and fiction mixed together to make a great adventure. As with all these books the good guys always win through in the end . The storyline takes you to some remote areas where modern day life is as it has been for many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fast packed reading as always, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eye of God (Sigma Force 9) (Paperback)
The Sigma Force series carries on maintaining my interest - if only they were written and released quicker!
I've shared these books with friends and family, getting them hooked also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Would recommend James Rollins books to all my friends. This book was one of my favourites. Well written, couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Eye of God (Sigma Force 9)
The Eye of God (Sigma Force 9) by James Rollins (Paperback - 30 Jan 2014)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews