Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quick but satisfying read
Fans of Maureen Lee will be familiar with the setting and theme of this short story.
Set in Liverpool, Amy's Diary follows Amy Browning and her family through the Second World War.
The war breaks out on Amy's 18th birthday and after receiving a gift of a lovely notebook from her sister, she decides to keep a diary and write a bit each week until the war is...
Published on 9 Feb 2012 by C. Colley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
great author
Published 4 months ago by doreen owen


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quick but satisfying read, 9 Feb 2012
By 
C. Colley (Lincs) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amy's Diary (Quick Reads) (Paperback)
Fans of Maureen Lee will be familiar with the setting and theme of this short story.
Set in Liverpool, Amy's Diary follows Amy Browning and her family through the Second World War.
The war breaks out on Amy's 18th birthday and after receiving a gift of a lovely notebook from her sister, she decides to keep a diary and write a bit each week until the war is over. Amy records how the war affected her family and friends as well as finding her own way through a dangerous time.
I found this a simple but satisfying story. In 105 pages a lot happens to Amy and her family. I liked the characters and I was able to get a good sense of what it was like to live during that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amy's diary, 26 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy's Diary (Quick Reads) (Paperback)
Maureen Lee is an expert at weaving a tale of ordinary Liverpool folk into an enthralling read that is very hard to put down, and always leaves the reader wanting more. This mini book is Maureen Lee at her best. I look forward to her next book with anticipation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great quick read, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am only 15 years old an thoroughly enjoyed the book! I began by reading one of Maureen Lee's book for just a reading book at school and loved it so looked on my kindle for more books also written by Maureen. I picked this book at a quick read and loved it! Easy and short with a great story line! Defiantly a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read but not totally impressed, 18 Feb 2012
By 
Susan Sant (West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this as a Quick Read through Kindle. Just a bit slow going and so simple a story. Okay to read but not impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amy's Diary, 12 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy's Diary (Quick Reads) (Paperback)
One of the Quick Read series of short story books. As good a read as expected from Maureen Lee, who is an exceptional author. Delivered as promised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Quick Read, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found it a good read for an afternoon sat down on a cold winters day snuggled up in front of the fire!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 17 Nov 2013
A nice quick read. Nice a gentle at bedtime and not to long that you would fall asleep reading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Maureen Lee, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy's Diary (Quick Reads) (Paperback)
I have only discovered "Maureen Lee" and I love her, cannot get enough of her books...
I would highly recommend her books to Everyone, My 16 year old Niece is also hooked..Thank you Maureen lee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent Maureen Lee novel. I thoroughly enjoyed it!, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kept me page turning pages from the first sentence in chapter one until the last word on to the last page. A gripping story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A short story but still as good., 3 July 2013
By 
Babs (Ballyclare N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy's Diary (Quick Reads) (Paperback)
Even though this is a short story it doesn't make it any less of a good read. Once you start reading Maureen Lee you'll not want to stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amy's Diary (Quick Reads)
Amy's Diary (Quick Reads) by Maureen Lee (Paperback - 2 Feb 2012)
£1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews