Customer Reviews


335 Reviews
5 star:
 (215)
4 star:
 (78)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full House
She's the best, a really great short story from Maeve Binchy, you can't put it down. Worth every penny would have paid more.I have to read all her books. Brilliant story.
Published on 8 Feb 2012 by Evie

versus
50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Family troubles
When a financial crisis hits the Nolan family, Dee Nolan decides things can only improve if some big family changes are made.
Dee realises that she will have to be harsh with her grown up children - she is sick of waiting on them hand and foot and it is time they stood on their own two feet.
This was a pleasant quick read that shows that mistakes are made in...
Published on 10 Feb 2012 by C. Colley


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full House, 8 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Full House (Quick Reads) (Paperback)
She's the best, a really great short story from Maeve Binchy, you can't put it down. Worth every penny would have paid more.I have to read all her books. Brilliant story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FULL HOUSE, 2 Feb 2012
By 
Amanda "sac" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Full House (Quick Reads) (Paperback)
Dee Nolan and and her husband Liam have three grown up children living in their home, not only being waited on hand and foot but completely rent free as well. When Liam loses his job Dee decides that it is time for a life change, starting with her offspring, who she feels must now fend for themselves.
A pleasant easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maeve at her best!, 12 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Full House (Quick Reads) (Paperback)
In bed with flu, and a short concentration span, this was the PERFECT read for me.
I think thousands of families, and not just in Ireland, could relate to this story, taken for granted parents, and indignant kids!
I know of a lady who is still working lifting and helping disabled geriatrics, (even though she should have retired years ago, and has severe arthritis) because she still has a mortgsge to pay, yet her recently divorced daughter, has just bought a new house, and a new hot tub! And her teenage boys have all the gadgets, and 400 pound jackets on their back. Where is the sense of helping your parents? I believe the PC term is "giving something back" and this is what the book is about. I normally settle in for a weeks read when a new Maeve book is published, but this fit the bill nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Family troubles, 10 Feb 2012
By 
C. Colley (Lincs) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Full House (Quick Reads) (Paperback)
When a financial crisis hits the Nolan family, Dee Nolan decides things can only improve if some big family changes are made.
Dee realises that she will have to be harsh with her grown up children - she is sick of waiting on them hand and foot and it is time they stood on their own two feet.
This was a pleasant quick read that shows that mistakes are made in life and whilst it is sometimes difficult to make the necessary changes to move forward, a crisis is sometimes the catalyst.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Winner, 25 Feb 2012
By 
Mrs. A. Williamson "Bertie" (FIfe, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this over a couple of nights and, as always with Maeve Binchy, I loved it. She brought out both sides of the story beautifully. I have subsequently bought it for a friend who is about to go through the same trauma with her son.
Highly recommended for a train or airline journey
Audrey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars short but worthwhile, 11 Aug 2012
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Full House (Quick Reads) (Paperback)
Full House is a novella by Maeve Binchy in the Quick Reads series. The story centres on Dee and Liam Nolan, residents of St. Jarlath's Cres in Dublin, an address with which Binchy fans will be familiar. Dee and Liam have two adult daughters and a son, all still living at home, none of whom contribute financially or practically to the running of the household. Rosie was married to Ronan for all of what seemed like 10 minutes before she returned home with a list of complaints about married life; Helen is a teacher with grand if impractical ideas for her students; Anthony is waiting for the songs he writes to make him famous, spends every minute listening to his iPod and has never had a job. It's true that Dee and Liam have made a rod for their own backs, but when Liam loses his job, Dee decides things have to change. Binchy takes everyday situations and brings them alive with her skilful dialogue, character interactions and original plot. Fans will welcome cameo appearances by Lizzie Scarlett, Maud and Marco, Simon Scarlett, Noel, Faith and Frankie Lynch and Fiona Carroll. Short but definitely worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CLEANING HOUSE, 20 Jun 2012
By 
Red Rock Bookworm (St. George Utah USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Full House (Quick Reads) (Paperback)
Maeve Binchy's new book FULL HOUSE is classified as a quick read and is perfect for a lazy afternoon. Once again she has "hit the nail on the head" with her latest offering that presents the story of the Nolan family, whose household could be a microcosm of many of the families in our world today. We have hard working loving parents, doing whatever it takes maintain their home which is overrun with their adult children who feel their parents should be thrilled to have them underfoot. Like many children in this era of entitlement, they contribute little or nothing to the household, are demanding and tend to treat their mother like a maid, pay no rent, and in general behave like spoiled brats.

When her husband Liam loses his job mom, Dee, decides it's time to make changes in the status quo and her overindulged children are a good place to start.

Filled with the cozy, warm storytelling style that is a Binchy trademark, FULL HOUSE, while not a full course meal, should serve as a satisfying little "nosh" for her many fans. 3 1/2 STARS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Binchy book is a great comfort, 14 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Full House (Quick Reads) (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this short story which reminds me of real families in Ireland today!
After hearing the sad news of Maeve's death, it feels special to find another of her books I havn't read and enjoyed yet. She was always spot on in her observations of life in Ireland. Always a great pleasure to open one of her books and start to read...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Room at the Inn, 23 Mar 2012
By 
Owl "Ollie" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have always liked Maeve Binchy's books but this one was not much of a story. I know it was as short read but I felt it could all have been said in about half the book. This would have made a nice short story in a collection but as a book by itself not much. Don't know if I would bother about any other of the quick reads mentioned at the end of the book by other authors. Not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maeve Full house, 29 Feb 2012
This review is from: Full House (Quick Reads) (Paperback)
As usual it is another Maeve Binchy feel good book the only thing is that it is not long enough, her books are so easy to read and of course the clue is in that the book is a sold as a quick read. Good homey feelings when reading I enjoyed it.Full House (Quick Reads)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Full House (Quick Reads)
Full House (Quick Reads) by Maeve Binchy (Paperback - 2 Feb 2012)
£1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews