Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
24
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 May 2013
excellent i can now understand what it is all about, having been in my earlier life a PE teacher who many time had to inspire young people to believe in themselves, i feel that what i did was not so far away from Mr Mourinho. i was fascinated by his approach to detail and the psychology he used, wish i was 40 years younger again
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2014
Enjoyed reading about the greatest manager probably of all time.
Jose Mourinho is flawed in quite a few aspects of his character,though his positive attributes by far out way any of these flaws,in my opinion.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2016
Excellent, balanced view of 'the real' Mourinho. Very well written and obviously well researched. Couldn't put it down. If, like most of us, you get your views framed by reading newspapers (whose main aim seems to be to sell the papers rather than convey a balanced view) then read this book. Yes, it's by a journalist (a well respected one) but this was an eye opener about a genuine leader, whose people seem to really respond to him. This helps us understand why, and paints a picture that is so much more than the sensationalism and sound-bites that we usually get. Clearly, Mourinho has his faults (don't we all), but this book puts them into perspective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
The story of Jose Mourinho's rise to fame is real Roy of the Rovers stuff. Never realising he was going to make it as a player, he got himself on the coaching ladder, acted as translator and assistant to Sir Bobby Robson at Barcelona, then went alone, and proved he had the midas touch. Patrick Barclay's book is a superb biography of the 'Special One.'
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
skeptical about online puchasing, postal/courier things!, but NOW!, it was all so simple & convienient. best part, like a child waiting for his present!
(ps i actually support liverpool!!)
many thanks A'zon, bookmarks @ the ready for more!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 April 2012
Unlike some of the top Football Coaches today like Alex Ferguson, Bobby Robson, Fabio Capello, Giovanni Trapattoni, & Carlo Ancelotti Mourinho does not have a past as a professional football player. Having studied languages and psychology he arrived in the football world as an interpreter for Sir Bobby Robson. Mourinho is a great observer, strategist & tactician. Once a player turns professional he already knows the basics of playing football, the rest is down to fitness, psychology & team work. Mourinho is a master at this and this book shows you how.
Good to see that behind this great man is a solid family, where his wife plays a key role.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
Well what can I say about the Special One I have read about all the books featuring him and find them very enlightening. He has had quite a rough journey to get to where he is today and has had to deal with quite a few unsavoury characters along the way.Can't wait for the next book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2011
This newly-released book (25 Aug 2011) is an update on an earlier book by Barclay titled Mourinho: Anatomy Of A Winner published in 2005. The story is updated to Jose's time in Italy and his first season in Spain from 2010-2011. Written in true journalistic style you get the anecdotes and the quotes. Do not expect a full biography. This is a book for Mourinho's fans and for those curious as to his management style and his methods to achieve success in the highly stressful life of a top football manager.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
I am not very deep into football and bought the book looking for the story of grit & determination with some rough edges. The way it has been written did not appeal to be me a lot as it seemed like reading the sport section of papers continuously from the last few years. Except for the style I found the book good with details and facts covered.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2012
Very good view into Jose's ways and methods. I picked it up to learn how I could get the most from my team
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£16.59
£3.85

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)