Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just what you expected
nothing more, nothing less that what was promised with the first book with everything my favourite authors are able to deliver. I want more and I want it as good. BTW, are we going to find out more about the illness? and when I we are going to read the second part of the meteorite in the Antarctic?
Published on 14 July 2012 by Antonio

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I'm an avid Preston and Child fan, and have devoured their back catalogue.
I'll give them full credit for not resting on their laurels, and attempting to introduce new characters into their world.
However, it seems that the literary duo have hit something of a lull of late. Prendegast's exploits have seemed somehow lacking (never should have killed off a...
Published on 22 May 2012 by TrueJDK


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just what you expected, 14 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
nothing more, nothing less that what was promised with the first book with everything my favourite authors are able to deliver. I want more and I want it as good. BTW, are we going to find out more about the illness? and when I we are going to read the second part of the meteorite in the Antarctic?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 22 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm an avid Preston and Child fan, and have devoured their back catalogue.
I'll give them full credit for not resting on their laurels, and attempting to introduce new characters into their world.
However, it seems that the literary duo have hit something of a lull of late. Prendegast's exploits have seemed somehow lacking (never should have killed off a particular key character, but ballsy to do it. No one is safe!). Gideon Crew is a fairly generic character, with an attempt to make him more interesting by giving him a roguish charm and attitude as he rips off art galleries, a decent backstory, and a ticking timebomb in his head.
It's all perfectly adequately written. Excitement, adventure, twists and turns. From another author, it'd be a great story. But from two such skilled authors as these, it feels... weak. Perhaps I'm more disappointed in them because of high expectations, based on their previous works, but Crew just leaves me disappointed.
Don't expect vintage P&C, and you'll be fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its a no brainer Thrill ride, 23 Jan 2012
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
As with the first book in thse series Gideons Sword this is a seat of the pants thrill ride, action packed fast paced and requires very little in the way of grey matter, in fact its best not to use the ole grey matter because you might question some of the large plot holes and the impossible feats.

All that said i enjoy a switch your brain off thriller, and while not in the league of some of the better action thrillers it filled a gap and was worth the cover price.

Will i buy another? only for pool side reading when i really dont want to think.

(parm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Action packed but lacking a bit in finesse of writing, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good plot but quality of writing was not up to usual standard of Preston and Child. Amateurish passages made book feel a little like a B quality writer at times. The plot and interesting characters helped the book along but it's nowhere near the calibre of other writings of theirs. A shame as character Crew has potential but needs more attention paid to quality of story and its writing to give him the platform to equal the likes of Agent Pendergast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gideon crew, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not read this book yet, if its as good as the previous book in this series it should be good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gideon's Corpse: A Gideon Crew Novel
Gideon's Corpse: A Gideon Crew Novel by Douglas Preston (Paperback - 3 Jan 2013)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews