Customer Reviews


448 Reviews
5 star:
 (282)
4 star:
 (109)
3 star:
 (38)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We all are gettin' older every day...
... so it isn't some great wonder that this also happens to our hero Harry Bosch.

In the last book (The Drop (A Harry Bosch Novel), instead of choosing retirement Harry Bosch returned to the LAPD with a 5 year contract under the Deferred Retirement Option Plan - "The DROP". He now works with the Open Unsolved Unit trying to bundle up Cold Cases.

And...
Published 22 months ago by miki101.Michaela

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bosch not at his best
I always enjoy a Harry Bosch novel, but somehow the plot and characters felt a little tired. Maybe it is time Harry called it a day and spent more time with his daughter. It wasn't hard to guess the outcome (unlike in earlier books in this series) and the whole story felt tame after reading the latest John Sandford book.
Published 15 months ago by jean ennis


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We all are gettin' older every day..., 11 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Black Box (Hardcover)
... so it isn't some great wonder that this also happens to our hero Harry Bosch.

In the last book (The Drop (A Harry Bosch Novel), instead of choosing retirement Harry Bosch returned to the LAPD with a 5 year contract under the Deferred Retirement Option Plan - "The DROP". He now works with the Open Unsolved Unit trying to bundle up Cold Cases.

And there it comes along ... May 1992 - The Snow White case.
So called because most of the other victims after May 1992, and after four LAPD officers were acquitted for the savage beating of Rodney King, were of colour. What was a very young and very white Danish reporter doing in the middle of the looting and beating that took place for weeks in certain quarters of Los Angeles.
Harry and his colleagues - working under wartime conditions and the supervision of ex-Gulf-War troopers - can only do that much on the crime scene.
Not enough to solve this apparently so futile murder. But there WAS someone to gain of the death of the free-lance reporter...

And now it has come his way - the Snow White. And Harry, the old bloodhound as always, begins to sniff in all possible places to find his The Black Box. He calls it that way because he knows: In every case there is a Black Box, like those who are nearly indestructible and give away - when found - their knowledge about airplane or ship disasters. He only needs to find his special Black Box to resolve the case.
And he will find it. And will try to hunt the culprit(s) down.
But he himself is a hunted, too.
He has lacked of respect for the (In)competence of his superiors at LAPD - especially his current Lieutenant O'Toole more or less friendly nicked "O'Fool" -who refers Bosch to Internal Affairs on what seems to be a petty cause. But it could become very important because it can affect the way Harry may run or not the investigation. And he could lose his job very easily if the complaint remains standing.
But in the very end also the Internal Affairs will be of very, but very very important use for our hero, who has centered a wasp's nest with his investigation.
And - as I said above - we are all gettin' older every day - and so's our Harry.
So also heroes need a helping hand, sometimes...

This book is a perfect read not only for friends and lovers of Michael Connelly and Harry Bosch, but for all those who like their Police Procedures with the very personal touch only an author of this bravura nowadays dares to use on his protagonists.
And that is an experience to value highly - in this times of easy e-books and wishy-washy investigations!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More like the Connelly of old., 16 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Black Box (Hardcover)
The Black Box is a nice return to form for Michael Connelly and although not as edgy or thrilling as earlier novels, its not far away.

Harry Bosch tries to solve the 20 year old murder of a Scandinavian Photo journalist who was killed during the LA riots. As Harry was the investigator on the case, he has never been able to let go of the fact that the Killer got away with it.

Although short on action (until the finale), the pacing of the mystery is done well and the facts that unfold from an obvious path of enquiry into a much bigger conspiracy are beautifully woven as only Michael Connelly can.

Some repetition lets the novel down slightly. The Internal affairs beef, the "can I trust my partner" exercise and Harry's inevitable clash with his superiors are now well trodden ground.
I also found the appearance of a certain character at the conclusion to be convenient and not really convincing. The violence at the end was slightly out of place with the rest of the investigation, but gripping none the less.

Certainly above average, but becoming a little familiar.

I will continue to eagerly anticipate Michael Connellys rich narrative works as Harry "walks down those mean streets" once more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bosch not at his best, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always enjoy a Harry Bosch novel, but somehow the plot and characters felt a little tired. Maybe it is time Harry called it a day and spent more time with his daughter. It wasn't hard to guess the outcome (unlike in earlier books in this series) and the whole story felt tame after reading the latest John Sandford book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Connelly, like Bosch, is a shadow of his former self, 19 Dec 2012
By 
OEJ & SKY - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black Box (Hardcover)
Detective Harry Bosch gets involved in another cold case, that of the unsolved murder of a female Danish journalist twenty years earlier, at the time of the Los Angeles riots. While he painstakingly gathers evidence and develops hunches, he is once again faced with an internal affairs examination. What very few sub-plots there are involve his 16-year-old daughter Madeleine and his slow-burn romance with Hannah Stone.

I have read every single novel by Michael Connelly, and while this is professionally and smoothly delivered, sadly there's not that much substance to it. For several years Connelly depended almost exclusively on Bosch to pay the bills, and in the early days he consistently produced some very satisfying stories. The Black Box is, I think, the first Bosch outing I've not been able to give either 4 or 5 stars, so this is a little sad for me. Every year I look forward to the latest Connelly effort (whether it's Bosch, Haller or a standalone) but this was a 'quality disappointment'. The writing is good from the first page, but it takes a long time before it really gets going - beyond 300 of the 400-odd pages, anyway.

There's nothing new about Bosch investigating an Open Unsolved case, but there were two things missing this time around. First, it was curiously difficult to care (in the same way that Bosch does) for a successful pursuit of justice. Possibly one of the reasons for this is that the suspects are not actually introduced in person - as part of the narrative - until late on, so for a large part of the tale they are no more than names. Difficult to engage with or have any feeling about. The second thing that was missing compared to earlier Bosch escapades was a sense of tension or danger - and when it eventually did turn up, not only was it (again) very late in the story but it was over almost as soon as it started.

Bosch's love-life is getting more and more insignificant these days, and while he may be rather unconcerned about that, it used to make for better reading when he was. Past relationships with the likes of Rachel Smalling and Eleanor Wish had real impact, but his latest companion Hannah Stone doesn't offer very much and at times it almost feels as if he's having dinner with his sister rather than someone he might have real passion for. In some ways his daughter has taken over his private life, but once again, compared to past episodes, not a lot happens in that department. There's another Internal Affairs probe (although it has a new title these days) but it always feels half-hearted and bolted on for no worthwhile reason.

Anyone completely new to Connelly or his pride and joy Bosch will probably wonder what all the fuss is about, why Connelly is one of the most successful crime fiction writers in the world. This won't get many newcomers putting his next novel on their wish-list or rifling through the Bosch back-catalogue. As for established Connelly fans, I think they'd have to be crazy to think that The Black Box is as good as his older stuff. Most of the basics are still there, it's just so diluted compared to Bosch at his best. Also, after a massive 'middle bit', the ending is much too fast and feels rushed. The story could have been improved with a much better thought-out ending, and I would have given it another 100 pages - but they weren't there.

For some reason I kept thinking of one of my favourite Bosch tales Lost Light, which didn't have the most dynamic of storylines but was in my opinion possibly the most memorable of them all because it really got into the mind and heart of Harry Bosch in ways that the author has rarely managed to equal since. The Black Box is quite good and I did enjoy it - just - but it doesn't come up to this author's previous high standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay Connelly - you've got cool tastes in music, 16 July 2014
By 
All the ingredients are there - a case from the unsolved files, incompetent, infuriating management and family problems for Bosch.

Yet this one failed to fire me up. It was absorbing till about half way in but then I started to become irritated with the personal stuff e.g. accounts of Harry's relationship with his daughter Maddie which featured a domestic birthday scene and some practise on the shooting range. Amusingly, in another book, Mickey Haller makes reference to his half-brother's strange desire to teach his daughter about guns.

None of this is germane to the crime plot and it's all a bit sudsy - not an accusation I ever thought I'd level at this author.

I am a jazz fan too but I can do without several references to Bosch's record collection. Okay Connelly - you've got cool tastes in music. Enough!

Bosch went out on a lone quest to get the villains. Surely this was unwise in the extreme. He deserved to be bumped off really and the endgame was most unsatisfying. It felt like an afterthought and that's lazy writing.

These days I tend to favour the Haller books. He's got personal problems too but Connelly doesn't allow them to sully the narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very poor, 11 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Black Box (Paperback)
i love Michael Connolly books, however this is the worst book he has produced. Given that Connolly himself says that the LA riots and his background as a journalist make this a special book to him, its a shock that this is so bad. I had high hopes given the potential the background to the story hints at at the start but it soon went off to the familiar fight against the department.

Its not in the Lost Symbol league of dross but then what is!
Harry has become a cruel stereotype, the sort of cop that a Touch of Cloth uses so well. Hes a maverick that bends the rules and goes against his boss, hes in trouble and goes it alone, hes etc etc etc.
Either retire him or give him his mojo back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Black Box, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another hit in the continuing saga of Harry Bosch as he now strives to solve cold cases in the OUI. This particular one has stayed with Harry for 20years since he first encountered her and then was re- assigned and the case was never solved - until Harry gets a second look.
As usual, a great story, skeletons tumble out of closets as Harry gets to work, he is no respector of rank or office and has to get justice for the victim despite the lack of support and interference of his idiot of a boss! Last minute revelation about Shawn Stone - where will that go? Highly recommended. Each one I read gets better than the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring Tecnical Detail, 24 Dec 2012
By 
Herman Muttongleuber "Book Wizard" (Blyth, Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sorry, but I literally skipped dozens of pages in this book. Boring, boring, technical details which really did not progress the story - MERELY PADDED IT OUT.
I'm fed up to the back teeth with reading crime/detective stories where half the story is taken up with the hero's failing/struggling relationship with his, or her, husband/wife/girlfriend/child. It really is getting very difficult to find a good thriller/crime story.
For example, what the heck did the hero's daughter's aim on a shooting range have to do with this story. Grrrr!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Bosch at his best, 11 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In another compelling cold case the central character Harry Bosch plays out hunch after hunch until finally the various clues start to come together. This is another finely plotted book from Michael Connelly who makes us care about Harry and his mission to speak for those how can't speak for themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lukewarm, 1 Feb 2013
By 
Bill Bell (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Black Box (Hardcover)
I don't know what has happened to this great writer. Like Lee Child his books are very erratic and you don't know if a book by him nowadays is worth reading or not. The Black box is a lukewarm book, not up to normal Connelly standard. Like in Childs newest book nothing happens until the last 50 pages. Just police procedural and familybusiness the other 300. And some plots in the book are not even solved and Bosch just say that he couldn't solve that! That's a bit thick when the writer take such an easy way out. A real disappointment and I can't underrstand people that find this good. Did we read the same book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Black Box
The Black Box by Michael Connelly (Hardcover - 22 Nov 2012)
£15.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews