Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I've read this year
After Western Approaches I wondered if the series had lost its way, this definitely brings it back with a bang. The military aspect is really strong, and the murders keep you guessing. A real page turner, I just had to know the next twist.

Can't wait for the next on
Published 13 months ago by Miss M A Osler

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Still not up to scratch.
Good story well written apart from the Irishman; what was all that about? Also much to my dismay Lizzie returned !! Bad language and lizzies sex life not needed. Suttle and police work all OK , Please get back to basics , every Faraday book was a winner.
Published 10 months ago by Dave


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I've read this year, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After Western Approaches I wondered if the series had lost its way, this definitely brings it back with a bang. The military aspect is really strong, and the murders keep you guessing. A real page turner, I just had to know the next twist.

Can't wait for the next on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will she or won't she?, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jimmy Suttle has clearly moved on to pastures new in the Devon constabulary, but has his wife? As tense and exciting as ever, and leaving plenty of new plot possibilities. I'm so into Jimmy Suttle now that I've forgotten the name of his old boss, you know, the birdwatcher single parent with the deaf son. Full of detective work and fast paced. I even found the romantic bits moving. Should suit Ian Rankin, Mark Billingham, John Harvey et al fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling Read!, 19 Jan 2014
This review is from: Touching Distance (Jimmy Suttle 2) (Hardcover)
Graham Hurley has produced a great story with Touching Distance. The detail is forensic and his knowledge of procedures leaves the reader in no doubt that the author is telling us how this stuff really happens. He has got into the Royal Marine mindset and has created some incredibly persuasive characters. Views on Afghanistan are complex and multilayered, subjective and objective depending upon the time, place and individual. Hurley has understood this dichotomy and leaves us to make up our own mind rather than preaching. It is a balanced presentation. That he has created people we can loathe and admire in equal measure is a real gift and balances the methodical and relentless pace of the criminal investigation, which drives the story to its compelling finale. His enduring characters, D/S Suttle and Lizzie are complex and deep, they certainly do not conform to our expectations. I read Touching Distance over the course of a weekend, it was a compulsive read and left me wanting to read more of Graham Hurley's books..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced with plenty of twists ., 17 Dec 2013
This review is from: Touching Distance (Jimmy Suttle 2) (Hardcover)
It's fantastic that Jimmy Suttle is becoming such a fascinating character . I had wondered how on earth Hurley would ever replace Faraday and Winter, but in this recent book I really now believe he has managed to achieve that. I found thus such an intriguing setting and the military aspect of the plot gave it an amazing extra . Master at creating such convincing yet quirky characters- I cant wait for Hurley's next book. There's nobody to match him at the moment .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best read of the Year, 12 Dec 2013
This review is from: Touching Distance (Jimmy Suttle 2) (Hardcover)
Simply, brilliant. The characters come to life and the continuation from Western Approaches was spot on. Can't wait for the next Jimmy Suttle book.Touching Distance (Jimmy Suttle 2)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 30 Nov 2013
This review is from: Touching Distance (Jimmy Suttle 2) (Hardcover)
Hurley's best yet. A crime novel with a feel good factor. A great insight into the mindset of the Royal Marine and the spirit of comradeship existing within the corps. The plot weaves itself to a clever climax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant... couldn't put it down, 9 Jan 2014
By 
S. Morgan (Guernsey, CI) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have just finished reading this book at 3.30a.m. Just had to find out how it ended. Really looking forward to the next Suttle story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back with a bang, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touching Distance (Jimmy Suttle 2) (Hardcover)
Graham Hurley has long been my favourite writer of crime fiction, until the first Jimmy Suttle book - Western Approaches - which I truly struggled to finish.
Touching Distance is without a doubt in a class of its own and is the best book I have read in a long time. The storyline is fast moving in much the same way that the Faraday series was written. Looking forward to the 3rd book in the series now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic !, 5 Jan 2014
By 
Richard Shaw (Windsor, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touching Distance (Jimmy Suttle 2) (Hardcover)
Very interesting book using the Afghanistan war as the backdrop. Graham Hurley's books are amongst the best police procedural crime fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and atmospheric, 8 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gripping and atmospheric. Hurley is one of the best UK crime writers and under-rated in my opinion. He seems to have a new lease of life with these Jimmy Suttle thrillers and it's a great idea to set them in Devon. Who'd have thought of Exmouth as a crime location? There's a strong sense of place, as there was with the Portsmouth-based novels. There is also a subtlety and realism to the characters who are human and flawed and engaging. It's true I can buy Kindle mysteries cheaper, but truly good crime writing tells and is worth the extra. This is one of those rare novels I am sad to finish and genuinely sorry to have to wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Touching Distance (Jimmy Suttle 2)
Touching Distance (Jimmy Suttle 2) by Graham Hurley (Hardcover - 21 Nov 2013)
Used & New from: £23.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews