Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing life but only a good book!
I was really looking forward to reading this, and I'd certainly recommend it. It does paint a darker side than the TV show portrays, and it's clear that Dog had (and still does have) his demons to fight.

I was amazed by his honesty. He reveals stuff about his life which must be painful, and doesn't always paint him in the way he might like to be portrayed. The...
Published on 3 Sep 2007 by Chris

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sadly Lacking
This book is full of trivial ramblings and lacks heart and grit.
Its a bit like the tv series promise's an awful lot about catching hardened criminals and normally picks up car thieves and petty criminals.ALL HYPE NO ACTION.
Published on 14 Oct 2008 by J. Bryan


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing life but only a good book!, 3 Sep 2007
I was really looking forward to reading this, and I'd certainly recommend it. It does paint a darker side than the TV show portrays, and it's clear that Dog had (and still does have) his demons to fight.

I was amazed by his honesty. He reveals stuff about his life which must be painful, and doesn't always paint him in the way he might like to be portrayed. The information about Baby Lyssa knocked me for six, and how Dog maintains his faith with all the adversity he has faced is a testament to his strength and an inspiration to others.

My only niggle is that the book is confused in places. Some of that could be due to Dog's drug hazed recollections, but in chapter 33 (aprox 1999) it talks about meeting Tim (Youngblood) - that's only 8 years ago, and Dog has hunted with Tim for over 20 years so it is just plain wrong! - That should have been picked up by someone, and there are several other examples which can make the book confusing in places.

Like the previous reviewer, I'd like to have read more about current bounties and the other team members. Leyland, Tim & Duane Lee got less mention than Tony Robbins which is a shame for such key members of Dog's success (perhaps that's for a future book?!)

All in all it is well worth reading and a rollercoaster ride of emotions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You can run but you can't hide, 29 Aug 2007
Got this in the States early in August, makes interesting reading, definitely paints a less prettier picture than the TV series, you knew from the TV that he had a darker past and this book proves it. Would have been nice if it had said more about his bounty hunting now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fantstic, 3 Jan 2011
I received this book for Christmas and from opening the front cover I was unable to put it down. I always say that if a book can make you laugh and cry then it's a good book and that's just what this book did. I never realised just how much he had struggled in his life but the book opened my eyes up to what he'd been through and how he'd come out the other side. It left me feeling like I knew him a little better and that if he's able to overcome all the hurdles and abuse he has had thrown at him throughout his life then any one can as long as they have a little faith. Can't wait to start the next book, Where Mercy is shown Mercy is given.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Enjoyed Reading About Dog....., 9 Sep 2009
By 
J. Hart - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Seeing as I am a huge fan of Dog the Bounty Hunter show and Dog himself I was really looking forward to reading his book, and I was not disappointed. I found the book to be very entertaining and true to what you see of Dog. Definitely recommend to read this book as you get a real insight into Dog's life journey and some very interesting facts about him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Constant Entertainment, 28 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. M. K. G. Frost "frostydelux" (SOMMERSET, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am a huge fan of Dog the Bounty Hunter and when i saw the book on one of the episodes i was immediately on amazon buying the book. Once i started reading it i was immediately hooked. It shows perfectly how Dog became a gangster, how his life in prision was, and how he changed his life for the better even though he was constantly screwed over. If your a fan of the programme, this is a must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad book about an interesting guy, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a bad book about an interesting guy.

You have seen 'Dog' on the TV and you get the picture that he's the good guy who makes his money by catching the bad guy and getting his ass back to jail where they belong.

At the beginning of each 'hunt' you will watch Dog and his family of bail bondsmen and women join hands and pray, they then go on with the catch of their bond throughout the show and at the end they bang them in the back of their pick up, offer them a cigarette, show some compassion and preach them a little bit- "You can get back on track now buddy".

Reading Duanes book puts a story behind the TV show and explains how the 'Dog' came to be.

It sheds light on his slightly chequered past, run ins with the law and how he found his religion.

It's quite an interesting read and is simple enough to follow. A good quick read for any fans of the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I absolutely love dog the bounty hunter and after reading this book have so much respect for this man. He has been through so much, more than anyone could imagine. Definitely a worthwhile read. I read the whole book in 2 days and was gutted when I had finished as could have read and read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dog the bounter hunter, 21 Feb 2013
excellent, fast delivery, my partner loves it! highly recommended. good book, excellent quality, I cant wait until he brings another book out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Dog the Bounty Hunter" book, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I follow the television episodes. This book I am very pleased with as parts of Dog's life not shown on tv are revealed. Terrific book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love of One can be in us all, 1 Dec 2012
This book open my eyes into a messed up world of the Bounty Hunter. We see that dog had to work really hard, to keep his family and also face facted of have time out from all the chilrens lifes. It must been a very hard time for Dog to had to put his heart and sole into open his world to the public eyes. This man Has lived a thounds death to make sure his family were still there. SO pray to the lord that dog and all of the family continune to keep all glued to tv screens and to join him cry few tears and make a bright future for people who need a seond chance in life to put things right in dog we trust, love and honner. <3 we love to tune into the the show, and enjoy seeing his family get bigger and super stronger. we wishe you all the best and cant get any more of youre shows here In scotland, xxxxx
"tomes stones dont talk back" Dune-lee 2 commets stay with me, and my mum we alos got my sister, neice how enjoy the show aswell, Ieland got few fans here too. xxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You Can Run But You Can't Hide: Star of Dog the Bounty Hunter
You Can Run But You Can't Hide: Star of Dog the Bounty Hunter by Duane Chapman (Paperback - 4 April 2013)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews