Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for the MotoGP enthusiast.
I'm a big Casey Stoner fan just so that's out in the open.
Pushing the Limits is pretty damn good. It's an incredibly fast book to read - I got through it over a few nights before bed - but it's somehow very informative in it's easy prose and succinct style. I learned a lot about the guy and the sport and how each affected the other.
As he tells his story from...
Published 16 months ago by Jeremy S. Burnich

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars How hard was it for me stoner.
Ok if your in to motogp, could have said more about his relationship with other riders , we know he loves his wife but we want to know more about rossi and the other top riders.
Published 12 months ago by denise henry


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for the MotoGP enthusiast., 6 Dec. 2013
By 
Jeremy S. Burnich (Monroe, CT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pushing the Limits: The Two-Time World MotoGP Champion's Own Explosive Story (Hardcover)
I'm a big Casey Stoner fan just so that's out in the open.
Pushing the Limits is pretty damn good. It's an incredibly fast book to read - I got through it over a few nights before bed - but it's somehow very informative in it's easy prose and succinct style. I learned a lot about the guy and the sport and how each affected the other.
As he tells his story from toddler to MotoGP champion you can see how his thoughts on this machine evolve over time. Think sausage: you might like the taste of it, but you don't necessarily want to see how it's made. I think for Casey, exposure to the making of MotoGP, the wheeling and dealing, the lies and half truths - the game if you will - didn't suit a guy who is of the "say what you do, and do what you say" persuasion.
One "small" aspect of this that sticks out to me are his thoughts on tires in the 2006 season - honestly I didn't know that the allocation could be so capricious. It backs up what Vale said about his tires in the last race, something that I sort of felt was an excuse, but that turns out was a definite issue - that the tires changed on, let us just say, whims. A guy who believes in honesty and following through with your word clearly would not be pleased in such a system.
He doesn't say too much about his teammates or other riders that he hasn't already said, but when he does elaborate, especially on Dani Pedrosa it's interesting. He mentions enough about his time at Ducati for his thoughts on the bike to be insightful though perhaps not definitive. Does he say why he could ride that bike to victory while others couldn't? Not outright but from the preceding chapters you learn that his whole career up to that point was spent on hand-me-down bikes with numerous issues that had to be ridden around - and winning on them. Take that as an explanation.
He does mention that after the 2007 season, Ducati chose not to fund real further development of the bike which clearly irked him. There's regret in his tone when he wonders what might have been had the majority in Ducati listened to him and spent the money to develop and further improve the bike. What's fascinating is that he really liked the Ducati on certain tracks MORE than his Honda.
I won't rehash the whole book but but suffice it to say, he goes into a lot, leaves out some, but overall it reads like a fair minded (positive) assessment. It's not like "What if I had never Tried It?" which was entertaining but comes off like an infomercial.
I really enjoyed the book and think anyone who has an interest in MotoGP, Stoner fan or not, would enjoy reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stoner is without a doubt one of the greatest riders of all time and I enjoyed reading how ..., 26 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pushing the Limits: The Two-Time World MotoGP Champion's Own Explosive Story (Hardcover)
An interesting read, Stoner is without a doubt one of the greatest riders of all time and I enjoyed reading how he came up in racing. I would have liked a little more detail about his experience in the premiere class though, the book chronicles his life from childhood to the present, but only the last couple of chapters were on his Moto GP career. All of his world championships are in the premiere class and I would have liked to read more detail about that part of his life. If your into racing, you'll definitely enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forthright, entertaining and great value., 8 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent compilation, concise transparent audit trail throughout his extraordinary and remarkable career. Fascinating insights notably the Ducati years and the tyre war years (interesting reference to Valentlno and the infamous Valencia front end fold!). Worthy of note are the extraordinary lenghts and sacrifices taken by his parents making his career possible, and giving us, the bike fans the opportunity of witnessing a truly great champion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pushing The Limits, Casey Stoner, 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pushing the Limits: The Two-Time World MotoGP Champion's Own Explosive Story (Hardcover)
As a big fan of Casey Stoner this was an excellent read, so well written, it is not just a list of his acheivements but the long road to get there, what a tough life before he hit the big time. Would you believe on his forst few days in England he was living with an aunt & uncle in my home town down in Sussex, I could've walked past him in the street!! A definite recommend for all Casey & Moto GP fans. We miss you on the track Casey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent account of a Top Sportsman., 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pushing the Limits: The Two-Time World MotoGP Champion's Own Explosive Story (Hardcover)
Excellent account about Casey Stoners start in the world of motor cycle racing, from a young boy to 2 Times World MotoGP Champion. A very good read for anyone interested in Motor cycle racing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life is not easy and full of surprises for the champion. It is clearly seen that the family support plays a very important role, 28 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pushing the Limits: The Two-Time World MotoGP Champion's Own Explosive Story (Hardcover)
It exeeds my expectations.

I appreciate the efforts of the authors on sharing the life experience of Casey and how his family supports him.

Life is not easy and full of surprises for the champion. It is clearly seen that the family support plays a very important role in Casey's life.

Overall, the book is well structured and supported with some great real-life photoes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have never been a Stoner fan but I really enjoyed reading this book. Its very well written and very easy to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Casey Stoner: Pushing the Limits, 1 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Pushing the Limits: The Two-Time World MotoGP Champion's Own Explosive Story (Hardcover)
I've been a fan of MotoGP ever since I was a little boy. Among other great riders, I have to say that after reading some stuff about Casey Stoner, I got very impressed: [...] "One feat he achieved that illustrates his passion and "need" for racing was at age twelve. Over one weekend he raced in 5 different categories in all 7 rounds of each capacity; a weekend consisting of 35 different races. Not only did he compete in all these categories and different engine capacities, the young Stoner went on to win 32 out of the 35 races. There were five Australian titles to be won that weekend, Stoner won all five." Impressive! More than a show-off man, he is a true rider. He rides because he loves it, not to just to take part in some media circus. And after all, he was the one to master the Ducati "beast". This book is a must have for any motoGP fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ok read for motor cycling fans, 1 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Pushing the Limits: The Two-Time World MotoGP Champion's Own Explosive Story (Hardcover)
An interesting read from Casys humble begingings in the the world of Motor GP. You could understand why he one a Moto GP title on a Desmo and proberly no one will ever repeat that feat.
In that generation of that bike , what a true talent .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars greatest read ever, 8 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Pushing the Limits: The Two-Time World MotoGP Champion's Own Explosive Story (Hardcover)
this book in BRILLIANT. I had to read it in a day, couldn't put it down. its awesome and you really appreciate what casey went through and such a hard life and still became world champ in 7 yrs...truly an awesome read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pushing the Limits: The Two-Time World MotoGP Champion's Own Explosive Story
£15.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews