Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring read
This book is a fascinating account of life as a nurse from the 1960s and examining how nursing has changed over twenty years. This is powerful storytelling at its best. Some of the stories are heartwarming while others are heartbreaking and the book is punctuated with numerous comedic moments. Wholeheartedly recommend this book. Am hoping there will be a follow up book as...
Published on 4 May 2013 by Choggler

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nursing stories
This was fairly interesting as I was a nurse who trained around the time that the authoress did. The writing style is rather dull and reads as an account of true events in rather a measured way. It recalled the days when we were trained to an extremely high standard which was backed up by adequate funding. If you want an unchallenging but relaxing read then this fits the...
Published 21 months ago by Loopy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The children's nurse susan macqueen, 30 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautifully written and very informative. A true nurse with values of care. I hope others who read this are as impressed with this book as I am. Barbara
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful memorable, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is easy to read a real page turner. A really must read for those considering working in the nursing profession.
A really must read for those older folk who were in hospital as children when Matrons we're on the prowl ,Health ministers should read this book to find out how hospitals work and how hard and nurses work and just how much responsibility they have.,No I'm not and never have been a nurse but as. a child I spent time in hospital and this book brought back memories.
A delightful funny sad book tastefully written by an ex nurse .Loved it so beautifully written a really good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story of someone who was ultra successful in probably one of the most heartrending jobs imaginable - looking after children who are ill enough to require hospitalisation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I read a lot of medical literature and this one I would rate on of the best., 12 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very well written. I was a nurse all my life and although I did not work in paediatrics this book proved very informative.
I would certainly recommend this book to friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting, very well written. If you enjoy reading about Great Ormond Street Hospital in the 60's you will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The children's nurse: the true story of a great ormond street nurse, 29 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this book just wish there was more of it! Nowadays you cannot beat the old methods of nursing, this book shows that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 25 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great read very enjoyable can't put it down brings back memories of when I was a nurse very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 8 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a realy good true life book. I have read it twice. Would recommend . Thank you delivered straight to kindle excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book from start to finish. Have kept it on my kindle as I would love to read it again in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars could be better, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
all though I enjoyed this book I think it could of involved more of the patients that was looked after and it does not
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Children's Nurse: The True Story of a Great Ormond Street Nurse
The Children's Nurse: The True Story of a Great Ormond Street Nurse by Susan Macqueen (Paperback - 25 April 2013)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews