Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eighty days
Less than 5 stars would be an insult.
The final book tied all the other books together ( no pun intended)
I thoroughly enjoyed all the books but this was a real gem
Xx
Published 21 months ago by j.t

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointed
Having really enjoyed 80 Days Amber and the story of Luba and Chey, I was disappointed by this latest book. As with the first three books, I just couldn't take to the main characters. Didn't care if Lily and Neil got it together in the same way that I didn't care about Summer and Dominik. Still, it beat watching crap tv I suppose!
Published 22 months ago by Cathie


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eighty days, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eighty Days White (Kindle Edition)
Less than 5 stars would be an insult.
The final book tied all the other books together ( no pun intended)
I thoroughly enjoyed all the books but this was a real gem
Xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 28 Feb 2013
By 
C. Barker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eighty Days White (Kindle Edition)
Have loved the eighty day series. Loved the way all the characters joined together Will be lost not knowing what to read now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eighty Days White (Paperback)
This book was quite good, this charactor was not mentioned much in the first 3 books just the odd time, but it was good to read what she got up to in her life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A story for grown-ups who want more than a fairy-tale, 21 Feb 2013
By 
Marleen (Cavan, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Eighty Days White (Paperback)
I received my copy from Orion Books through Nudge and rated it 4.5 stars.

This fifth book in the "Eighty Days" series is about Lily, the girl with the teardrop tattoo, who has been present in all of the four previous books, be it in very small roles most of the time.

When Lily moves to London after finishing university in Brighton she is ready to embrace the world. She doesn't know what she wants from life or how exactly she fits into her surroundings though. Observing her friend submitting to a man leaves Lily with mixed emotions. She is intrigued by the dynamic between them, the abandon she witnesses in her friend as well as the control the man displays, but she is not quite sure how this relates to her. Lily is on a quest to discover exactly what it is she wants and needs and her search starts with a passionate but somewhat detached affair with Leonard, a man about twice her age. Although she only meets him in impersonal hotel rooms she feels close to and safe with him. When he ends their affair, all to aware of the problems the difference in their ages will at some point cause, he leaves Lily bereft. She longs for Leonard with a desperate passion and while she continues her search for what ever it may be she is looking for, it is always with the image of Leonard in the back of her mind.

After Leonard, Lily starts an affair with Dagur, the drummer in the Holy Criminals rock band. Although she can lose herself in wonderful and imaginative sexual exploits with him, she knows from the start that this isn't and never will be a relationship. Through Dagur she meets Grayson, a celebrity photographer and his Mistress, She, who runs a fetish club. It is through She and her part-time job in the club that Lily discovers her dominating tendencies, but even those don't bring her quite the satisfaction she is looking for. And her confusion about what it is what she wants means that she regularly finds herself angry for no clear reason; with herself and with the people around her.

It is only when she takes herself away from London and all the people she knows that her eyes are opened to what it is she really wants and needs; to what was always available to her if only she had been able to see it.

As in the previous Eighty Days books no effort has been made to make the main character either charming or endearing; these books portray real human beings with real doubts, fears and dark sides. Lily is only 21 years old when the story starts and has only started on her journey to who she is and what her role in life will be. And she is layered; on the outside she may look like a bad girl but on the inside the good girl she has been for most of her life is still alive and kicking. It is through her various relationships and all the different experiences she has that she slowly starts to recognise that maybe there isn't an either - or answer to her questions. Maybe she doesn't have to make a choice between being in charge and submitting; maybe she can just be herself with the one person who never wanted her to be anything else in the first place. This makes for an interesting character study. And while there were times when I wanted to smack Lily and tell her to stop being self-obsessed, her journey felt real and the outcome at the end was very satisfying.

I loved the way in which the characters from the previous books all play minor roles in this one. It was nice to once again get glimpses of Summer and Dominik, Luba and Chey, Lauralynn and Viggo just as it was interesting to see a character like Grayson developed a little bit further. According to the "Acknowledgments" this is the last "Eighty Days" title featuring these characters, and I have to admit that I'm sorry to say goodbye to them. On the upside though we are promised a return of Eighty Days with a whole host of new characters and I'm both delighted and very curious about that.

This book, like the four prequels, is very well written. The authors manage to make both the characters and their surroundings vivid and real. In fact, there were times that the characters were maybe a bit too realistic for me; their emotions and faults a bit too recognisable for comfort. This is not the sort of book where you find yourself wishing you were the main character, at least not until the very end of the book. The journeys the characters in these books have to undertake in order to get to their personal happy endings are too much like real life for that. But then these are books about personal journeys of discovery as much as they are works of erotica.

As for that erotica it is explicit and doesn't always make for comfortable reading. And again that is due to the realism. We do not have beautifully sculpted, idolised versions of what a dream Dom would be in these books. We get a look at everything that can be wrong about the BDSM life-style as well as everything that can be right about it. The characters in these books are searching for that which really works for them and it is a quest filled with ups and downs, happiness and sadness, fulfilment as well as disappointment. Nobody wakes up one morning knowing exactly what it is they want and how to get it, and neither do the characters in these books. And while that doesn't always paint a pretty picture it does make for a realistic and intriguing story.

This book, like the whole series, is a fascinating look at one person's road toward (sexual) fulfilment told in a fun, hot and satisfying way. This is a story for grown-ups who want more than a fairy-tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointed, 7 Feb 2013
This review is from: Eighty Days White (Paperback)
Having really enjoyed 80 Days Amber and the story of Luba and Chey, I was disappointed by this latest book. As with the first three books, I just couldn't take to the main characters. Didn't care if Lily and Neil got it together in the same way that I didn't care about Summer and Dominik. Still, it beat watching crap tv I suppose!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really perfect!, 25 Mar 2013
By 
Francis Holmes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eighty Days White (Paperback)
When I chose this title I was looking for a sexy and romantic novel. Until after reading I didn't know anything of the series, or about how this book came to be so titled. It's interesting that it makes no mention of the fetish elements on the summary on the back cover, but I imagine this must be for a good reason.

The novel itself is fairly well written, although no literary piece of fiction. It tells the story of how Lily starts from a middle class background, and has a desire to rebel while at college. She has various relationships which are quite nicely described, but lack some detail of her thoughts and feelings. When she starts working part time at a fetish club, the book veers off towards fantasy which is somewhat disconcerting.

She finally realises towards the end of the novel, that her ideal partner is literally closer to home than she imagined. Again there is little mention of love or romance between them. Her boyfriend clearly adores her, but it feels that she just accepted him because it fitted in with her desires. Perhaps this is an interesting insight into a woman's mind, but somehow I'm not entirely convinced.

Maybe I'm one of the few male readers of this novel which of course changes my perspective. It was a little disappointing as a romantic novel. And the fantasy elements aren't sufficiently entertaining to warrant returning to this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eighty Days White (Kindle Edition)
Good reading, enjoyed all 8 of the books, feet up, glass in hand type of book. Go get lost in the story and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE WRITE SOME MORE JUST LIKE THIS, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eighty Days White (Paperback)
LOVED THE EIGHTY DAYS BOOKS HOT AND STEAMY
PLEASE WRITE SOME MORE
IM ADDICTED NEED SOME MORE SO GET WRITING. XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am rationing myself, 16 Feb 2013
By 
Sian Spedding - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eighty Days White (Kindle Edition)
I have loved this series of books, and re read the original trilogy twice. I wasn't sure when the author branched out into other characters, but both Amber and White have lived up to the first books. More please as I am reading this slowly to make it last longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! The perfect ending., 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eighty Days White (Kindle Edition)
Wow! Absolutely loved this book, it was such a perfect ending and loved how all the characters over the entire Eighty Days range came together to round the journey off perfectly. Really recommend this read. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eighty Days White
Eighty Days White by Vina Jackson (Paperback - 31 Jan 2013)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews