Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ended too soon.
A fantastic read, very insightful and you get a great sense of Joans ups and downs during her training, the only snag is that the book finishes all too quickly, I do hope Joan will be writing another, I will certainly be looking out for it.
Published 6 months ago by Kit_kat_Lil

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing change
Not a bad read, made a change to read about someone who didn't feel the 'good old days' of nursing were all that good and became disenchanted with nursing. Nice to have nostalgia from a different point of view for a change
Published 7 months ago by Jill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ended too soon., 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic read, very insightful and you get a great sense of Joans ups and downs during her training, the only snag is that the book finishes all too quickly, I do hope Joan will be writing another, I will certainly be looking out for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Olden day nursing, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good book about the good & bad times about training to be a nurse. They reckon it's hard today with modern medicine but this reveals the hardships
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Memories again, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We were worked hard for very little pay but nursing was a vocation then and we didn't have computers then as now it was all down to hard back breaking work and our patients usually recovered too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing change, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a bad read, made a change to read about someone who didn't feel the 'good old days' of nursing were all that good and became disenchanted with nursing. Nice to have nostalgia from a different point of view for a change
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Please, Nurse!: A Student Nurse in the 1950s (Paperback)
Took me back to the days when nursing training meant learning everything from scratch and was very hands on. Living in the student quarters you were ruled by Home Sister who kept a very close eye on all student nurses. Any misdeamnor was reported to Matron. Those were the days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Please, Nurse!: A Student Nurse in the 1950s (Paperback)
If you have ever trained as a nurse then this book is for you . It brings back many memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Things don't change!, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is a brief insight to nurse training in the 50's,some humour but mostly descriptive-in the epilogue it is apparent that over 60 years later the same things occur in nursing-quite ironic really how the same problems are still prominent today,a brief book easy read but unable to grow attached to the main character(author)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars nurse, 8 Feb 2014
By 
Mbwest "margaretbwest" (Norwich England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was disappointed in this book think it was because there are several books like this that I have read. I would say just try it you might like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My young days, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book,amusing to think I was a young student at the time, very nostalgic time to recollect for me.yeah those were real nursing ...scary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Looks an interesting read., 19 Jan 2014
By 
Helen Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Please, Nurse!: A Student Nurse in the 1950s (Paperback)
Chose 4 stars as not read it yet, but being a nurse and one who trained in the 70s I rather think I will still be able to connect quite well with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Please, Nurse!: A Student Nurse in the 1950s
Please, Nurse!: A Student Nurse in the 1950s by Joan Lock (Paperback - 7 Nov 2013)
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews