Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT
I have enjoyed every single book Jonathan Tropper has written, this one being no exception.
Drew Silver is very unhappy man,he once had it all, a beautiful wife, loving daughter Casey and a career playing drums in a rock band. Now he is divorced and living alone, barely scratching a living, and on top of that his daughter has very little if any respect for the way...
Published 22 months ago by Amanda

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not a great read!
OK storyline, but as another reviewer commented, I'm not grabbed by the ending - but won't go into detail to avoid spoilers. Irritated by inconsistencies in books - we are told Lily is wearing her hair down for the first time, yet she only had her hair down a few pages before. Maybe I'm too picky but believe such errors should be eliminated prior to publishing...
Published 4 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 14 Sep 2012
By 
Amanda "sac" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I have enjoyed every single book Jonathan Tropper has written, this one being no exception.
Drew Silver is very unhappy man,he once had it all, a beautiful wife, loving daughter Casey and a career playing drums in a rock band. Now he is divorced and living alone, barely scratching a living, and on top of that his daughter has very little if any respect for the way her father has conducted his life. When he finds out that he is seriously ill and needs surgery to survive Drew decides much to the frustration of his loving family and few close friends not to be operated on, but instead to use the time he has left to attempt to become a better person and to put right the wrongs he feels he has committed.
A heartfelt story with some endearing characters, and as is usual with all the books this author writes he has the capacity to make you laugh one moment and then reduce you to tears the next.
A wonderful novel which I cannot recommend highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delightful Read, 26 July 2013
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Drew Silver was a drummer in a one-hit wonder band. He is now in a residential hotel surrounded by fellow lonely drifters living a melancholy existence. Drew is divorced and in his mid-forties. He is down and fate has dealt him another losing hand of cards. He has a possible fatal heart condition that may be operable. Drew folds on his cards and is determined to put past errors in life that he has made to rights. This becomes complicated as his ex-wife, who he still loves, is about to re-marry. His aloof teenage daughter is pregnant and has a nonchalant approach to it and is dismissive of her father. Drew takes solace in the pub with old mates (a sad lot). The dialogue is hilarious.

The narrative is a fine blend of genuine humour and sadness. There are laugh-out-loud moments interspersed with moving scenes. The novel is well-written in an easy read format with a confectionary of tasty wit and sweet emotions with the odd acid drop. The ending is somewhat inconclusive that some may find irritating but did not detract from my enjoyment of the content that preceded it. Excellent and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There's always time, 8 Jun 2013
By 
This is an adult book because it contains language not suitable for the young, but Tropper is a serious writer with deep and thoughtful themes. Here, he explores a wide range of emotions that permeate the broken relationship of a family - Drew Silver, his ex-wife, Denise, and their 18-year-old daughter Casey. Silver was the drummer in a successful rock band called "The Bent Daisies". They had only one hit, "Rest in Pieces" before their lead singer left them for a successful solo career. "One Last Thing Before I Go" is melancholic, hilarious, and absurd, but underlying the story of the broken life of Drew Silver (a life that was about to end) is a story of a heroic attempt at redemption.

The now old, divorced, and jobless Drew Silver lived in a condominium for retirees, "a place where broken men went to lick their wounds as the battles over marital assets and custody arrangements were slowly lost". He cannot overcome the fact that everyone close to him lived better a life once they had left him behind. His wife, Denise, found a new man, a doctor (Richard). His daughter had a better father, and his rock band leader went on to become a success in music. All that Drew Silver was left with were his friends at the condominium, Jack and Oliver, men who, like Drew Silver, were not shining examples of a well-ordered life. Drew Silver learnt late that "the only way to stay sane is to stop hoping for something better." Yet, when he found out that Casey was pregnant, and that Denise was about to marry Richard, a sense of urgency and purpose came over Drew Silver.

Casey was young and brilliant. She was the only valedictorian from her High School to get a place in an Ivy League college. She loved Drew but only occasionally called him "Dad", and that disturbed him. His action plan to get re-involved in his ex-family's life were derailed when he was diagnosed with a heart condition - an aneurysm - and had to undergo a major surgery which might be potentially fatal, but not going for it was death for sure. In the weeks that followed, Drew Silver showed scant regard for his own health in his drive to redeem himself. His friend Oliver revealed that he was dying of cancer but he had no family and was annoyed with Drew Silver for not willing to take better care of his health. He told Jack and Drew Silver, "I will make a point of visiting your graves on a weekly basis just to piss on them". Eventually, Drew Silver agreed to have the operation. Richard was the surgeon. By that time, Drew Silver could contemplate the short period he had to fulfill three things he wanted to do before he died - be a better man, a better father, and fall in love. He realized then that all three are connected as Casey sat by his side with tears streaming down.

Tropper expresses the tragic and the forlorn with such wit that when one sheds tears reading this novel it might be hard to know if they are tears of sorrow or joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, 1 Oct 2012
By 
C. Colley (Lincs) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I've read a couple of Jonathan Tropper's previous novels and I like his witty style of writing.
The story opens about eight years after Drew Silver's life fell apart. With a broken marriage and a one-hit-wonder music career behind him, Silver's life is depressing. He has a few sad mates and like him they live in a residential hotel that's known to home middle aged men living on their own.
When Silver's daughter reveals that she's pregnant and he discovers he has a heart condition that could kill him, Silver decides to rebuild his life and regain the respect of his family before it's too late.
I just couldn't keep my nose out of this book and read it all in one day. It's written in Tropper's trademark style, in that the story is funny and sad and quite often both at the same time.
Silver is a likeable loser and the rest of the characters are really well-drawn. I loved the banter between Silver and his mates, Jack and Oliver, and I was moved to tears near the end of the story.
The only thing I'm not sure about is the ambiguous ending, but other than that it's an entertaining, fast-paced novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great read., 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A powerfully honest and warming story. Just a man, trying to do the best he can, without really knowing how or where to start. Jonathan Trooper, as always, doesn't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read - of the year, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw a new friend - who usually apparently do not read fiction - so engrossed and laughed a lot while he was reading this, that I decided to give it go. It resulted in two sleepless nights as I was unable to put it down. It is a very good study on how men deal with
life when relationships fail. It is very humorous and the characterisation is very well done. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny and sad, 13 May 2014
By 
Amanda Jenkinson "MandyJ" (Cheltenham) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Jonathan Tropper is in top form with his latest novel. It has all his trademarks – it’s touching and sad, and funny and perceptive. It tells the sorry tale of Drew Silver – divorced, middle-aged, living in a residential hotel surrounded by other losers. He’s not a bad man, but his life just hasn’t panned out the way he hoped. He loves his daughter, but finds it hard to connect with her. His once promising musical career has now sunk to performing at weddings. The future looks grim. But maybe there’s some hope? A chance of redemption?
It’s not a profound book, I’ll be the first to admit. It’s clichéd at times, the plot devices are sometimes just a bit too contrived, but Tropper writes with empathy and understanding, and the angst of growing old when life has passed you by, how desperately lonely a man can become just through inattention rather than malice, and how sometimes there might be a second chance is described with great understanding and gentleness. The dialogue is witty and authentic, especially the banter between men. Overall I found this a totally engaging and enjoyable novel, honest and heart-warming, with some laugh out loud moments interspersed with ones of great pathos, and I heartily recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Suz, 22 April 2014
By 
A book that tells the story of silver, a once star drummer, now a bum that does the weddings circuit. His daughter drops the bombshell, she's pregnant and he now needs to step up to the role his been avoiding most of her life. A fatal heart condition into the mix soon makes thinks harder still.

A tear jerker which will have the hardest of us sniffing, but it also hilarious story told totally from a male point of view. Brilliantly written with heart and soul. Certainly a book which doesn't flounce, but is hard core and will be a great addition to any reading pile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not a great read!, 8 Mar 2014
OK storyline, but as another reviewer commented, I'm not grabbed by the ending - but won't go into detail to avoid spoilers. Irritated by inconsistencies in books - we are told Lily is wearing her hair down for the first time, yet she only had her hair down a few pages before. Maybe I'm too picky but believe such errors should be eliminated prior to publishing. Couldn't really find it in me to care about the characters and some of it seems far fetched. This is the first book I have read by this author and I wouldn't rush to buy another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another amazing read. Easy to read couldn't put it down. Read the book in a day. Here's to the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Last Thing Before I Go
One Last Thing Before I Go by Jonathan Tropper (Paperback - 3 Jan 2013)
9.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews