Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very satisfying crime thriller
Very enjoyable read with interesting characters and plot. Serial murders, a complex FBI agent and lots of question to keep you hooked till the end.
Unusual to have an elderly female protagonist but Brigid Quinn is the kind of protagonist who seems real and believable and she carries the story. Interposed between the action, her relationship with her college...
Published 8 months ago by BWH

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not very believable, but gripping nonetheless
Brigid Quinn is a recently retired FBI agent. One of the major cases that she worked on was a serial killer whose victims included a colleague of Quinn's who was intended to serve as bait to catch him. This case has haunted her, so when it appears that the killer has finally been apprehended she seizes the opportunity to dive back into the action. However she and the...
Published 8 months ago by Julia Flyte


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There is pace, but the story is way over the top, 31 Dec 2013
This review is from: Rage Against the Dying (Hardcover)
This novel follows a retired FBI agent, Brigid, who is approaching 60. She remains on a guilt-trip about a colleague who was murdered at the hands of a serial killer who is believed to still be on the loose.

My first admission is that I had a problem warming to Brigid. The level of dishonesty she extended to those close to her (e.g. husband and police friends) was astounding.

She also did a lot of quite silly things, in my view. I get that a lot of novels have the protagonist taking on the policing duties to give the story its life, but we just go too far here. Brigid has multiple opportunities to turn to others and doesn't because ... well, pick any number of reasons for the occasions she didn't.

And there were just too many plot elements which were unbelievable. The following examples are not spoilers : early on, she comes across a serial killer while rock-hunting and takes the most irresponsible of actions; later, and she knows she is a target, she goes for a walk alone in a state park when a storm is about to hit.

A few typos too, but not enough to further impact the rating I gave.

There was enough to turn the pages here but, for me, there wasn't a plausible story-line, nor a protagonist to align with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Read it but ...., 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
didn't work for me at all ..Read it but it felt implausible and strung out ..wouldn't recommend . I didn't like the 1st person style
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AN INTENSE THRILLER WITH A DYNAMITE PROTAGONIST, 3 April 2013
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
A standout debut deserves a standout narrator - enter Judy Kaye who gives voice to one of the most disturbing, black-humored, intelligent protagonists around. Tony Award winner Kaye has an impressive resume and varied professional experience spanning theater, television and opera. She appeared on Broadway in Grease, Phantom of the Opera, and Ragtime among others. She has performed with a number of symphony orchestras including the NY Philharmonic and the London Symphony. And, just in case you think she doesn't know her way around a thriller she's the voice of Kinsey Millhone in Sue Grafton's series. So, sit back and get ready to meet retired FBI agent Brigid Quinn - one gal you won't forget.

At home in Tucson Brigid thinks she's put her days as an undercover agent specializing in catching sexual predators behind her and happily settled down with her husband, Carlos DiForenza, a former priest who is now a professor. Well, almost - there are memories that tend to haunt. An especially disturbing one is the disappearance and presumed murder of young Jessica Robertson who had been working with Brigid to catch a sadistic killer. So, when trucker Floyd Lynch confesses to being the killer who slaughtered 8 women including Jessica it would seem that's one memory that may no longer bedevil Brigid.

However, there are a few road blocks - Laura Coleman, the new FBI agent on the case thinks the confession is phony; Brigid is retired, no longer permitted to investigate, and before long Laura disappears.

Rage Against the Dying is an intense thriller with a dynamite protagonist. Kudos to Becky Masterson for a stellar debut.

- Gail Cooke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Badly written American cop novel with dubious plot and main character. full of American cop jargon and slang and a couple of annoying dogs. don't waste your time. this was recommended in Richard and judy book club. as we thought they have lost it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uncomfortable reading, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Definitely recommend this to anyone who loves Tess Gerritsen, the style and penmanship is very similar both disturbing and readable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Graphic, 30 July 2014
By 
G A Norton (Woodford Green) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gave up after first few chapters, to graphic for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new here, 21 Jan 2014
This review is from: Rage Against the Dying (Paperback)
Same old same old. The only difference is that the main player is in fact old. Well not that old but getting on a bit. She lives in enforced retirement from the FBI but has not and cannot leave her old crime fighting ways behind her.
The story starts out well with what appears to be a perverted serial killer focusing on his next victim. However he gets more than he bargained for when he tries to tackle this OAP. The OAP is of course our retired agent.
Things start to go slightly awry for our heroine when she accidently kills the killer and decides she will stage his death to look like an accident and then wait for it to be discovered.
The problem is her proximity to the body dwelling wise and the fact her enforced retirement is down to another killing which was down to her.
But is the serial killer she takes out the one the book is about? Actually no. There are another 2 out there which is really what the story is about. One real and one claiming to be real. Combine this with a missing FBI agent who has got to close to the truth you would think you had a good book.
Sadly not. It all plays out rather predictably with there being a bit of a surprise at the end but nothing earth shattering.
I give this book 2 stars based on others I have read of a similar ilk many of which have been better. It is possible however that I have read too many and in fact I am getting bored of the genre.
In essence it was not for me but it might be for you IF you do not read many books of this type.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rage Against the Dying
Rage Against the Dying by Becky Masterman (Paperback - 2 Jan 2014)
7.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews