Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 April 2013
what more is there to say about Clough? Plenty more than is in this book. The style of strick chronological order to his career results in the 'and then' factor featuring heavily. there is little analysis and often a regurgitating of banal insights and other people's opinions. As a Clough-lover (and Forest fan) I would recommend the following for those that want a more interesting perspective: With Clough By Taylor, The Damned United, For Pete's Sake, and best of all, Clough by Tony Francis. Published in 1986 (pre-Pearce, Walker, Nigel, 1993 etc) it was the first biography and contains all you need to know about the man and his talent (and foibles). Interviews with all the key players - Longson, Allan Clarke and Taylor - it sets the scene for his ultimate fall and unpicks his genius.
0Comment3 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
An entertaining read - highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2015
Too much like reading a sporting fixture.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2015
My husband really enjoyed this book
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2014
a present for my son who loved it
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2012
Was quite disappointed by this book really. It seems to focus more on the negative aspect of Brian Clough's career {which obviously it has to cover but too much prominence is placed on them} and doesn't seem to really give him the credit he deserves as one of England's greatest ever managers.
0Comment2 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2012
Like many Forest fans I have read anything about Brian Clough that I can get my hands on.

Through him both Nottingham forest and my life changed for the better but i had heard numerous stories about his other side.

This book pulls everything together and reveals things that I could only previously suspect.

Brian Clough will always be my god but I now understand him more than I have ever done.

Thankyou Jonathan.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2011
Was really looking forward to getting this book, but have to say ended up feeling a bit let down. This book offers little new on the subject. The author's reliance on previous Clough books and newspaper cuttings really shows through. Well written, as you would expect and a weighty offering but told me hardly anything I didn't already know.
0Comment6 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
Everyone is a hero in their own story. This biographer does a good job of showing both sides of the hero.
The book is a lengthy read, and shows Clough's bizarre, childish, generous, thoughtful, and shrewd behaviour.
Brian Clough was a master at bringing on young players. Peter Taylor was often the man who found them.
I would have liked a statistical summary at the back of the book showing the results of games he managed.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
star man 10/10
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse