Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enter Truth!
Got it last Thursday, finished it today, Sunday. One word: fantastic! And that's from someone who has already read too many Metallica books. This one is SO different though. Loads of stuff no one knew, and full of interviews with people that never spoke before plus all Wall's weird, sad, scary, funny personal memories. Like his Zep book but better.
Published on 14 Nov 2010 by Jamie Holt

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Enter Personal Opinion
Let me just say I am a huge Metallica fan. The book gives lots of interesting stories and details about the band I did not know. What I do not like about the book is that I get the feeling that Mick Wall is very distant from the members of the band. The book is written like he is watching them from a far and is also full of his personal opinions. Even thouh I both agree...
Published 21 months ago by Gaute Tangen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enter Truth!, 14 Nov 2010
Got it last Thursday, finished it today, Sunday. One word: fantastic! And that's from someone who has already read too many Metallica books. This one is SO different though. Loads of stuff no one knew, and full of interviews with people that never spoke before plus all Wall's weird, sad, scary, funny personal memories. Like his Zep book but better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enter the definitive Metallica biog, exit inferior imitations, 14 Nov 2010
By 
Harry Paterson (notts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Extremely well written, detailed and infused with the insight you'd expect from the man who, for the thick end of two decades, was confidant and Father Confessor to rock's royalty and glitterati. King Of The Scribes, Mick Wall, has penned the definitive biography of Metal's biggest band.

While McIver's thoroughly excellent, The Truth About Metallica, was a pugnacious and highly subjective overview of the Metallica story and the myths that shot up around them, Mick, here, draws on the many personal experiences he shared with the band and, supplemented by clearly first-rate researching and a slew of fascinating never-before-seen interviews, has delivered an absorbing and utterly compelling account.

Wince-inducing honesty and his trade-mark stylish turn-of-phrase ("Neon ooze" p86;-)), mean this beautifully wrought and impeccably presented work contains everything you could ever want to know about Hetfield, Ulrich and Co.

Napster, Mustaine, melt-down, crisis and re-invention make for a gripping story and who better than Mick Wall to tell it? By turns, hilarious, moving and jaw-dropping but never anything less than totally compelling, I just hope Mick feels the agonizing days, weeks and months spent in bringing this to fruition have been worth it. For us readers it's been worth every bit of his personal pain ;-)

A must-have for anyone interested in Metallica but also for anyone at all who enjoys and appreciates great writing and, to be honest, this sits alongside the absolutely first rate When giants Walked The Earth as one of the greatest rock biogs ever written.

Absolutely essential and a at ridiculously cheap [...] for over 500 pages, and in hardback, this represents tremendous value for money.

I cannot recommend this enough. Tell Santa you want one. You will not be disappointed.

H.
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Work, 7 Mar 2011
By 
Until the band write their own story, nobody is going to better Mick Wall's page-turner of a book. He presents his own opinion and no doubt, the band and those around them would disagree with many of his judgements. (I do - this is a guy who praises 'Load' but slams 'Death Magnetic.' Come again, mate?) But nobody can deny the incredibly atmospheric, meticulously researched nature of this door-stopper that I raced through in a few hours, unable to put down. It really is spectacularly good. The most enjoyable part of this is the unique, birds-eye aspect of the record business side of this legendary band's incredible success. How many Metallica books go into detail about Music for Nations, for example? And how well the twelve-inch pressings of 'Creeping Death' sold in as many vinyl colours as Martin Hooker could scamble up to put out there? I particularly enjoyed Wall's summary of the enduring partnership between Metallica and their managers. Unlike other books, this is not just a rehash of published articles. Wall's writing style fits rock like a leather jacket, and reminds me of how much I enjoyed his articles back when he was one of Kerrang!s star writers. He interweaves the account of the band with a touching portrait of his own life, not sparing himself from his critical judgments either... his sulkiness, his own ego, his boozing, his passion for music. Wall is a memorable writer, a great researcher, and more importantly, he was there. Even if you hate heavy metal, if you have the slightest interest in music in general, in the music business, or in a tremendous account of growing up in the spotlight, this is the book for you. I've read a bunch of pop music books and this one of the best I have ever encountered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enter awesome, 16 Nov 2011
Metallica: Enter Night delivers. Mick Wall is great when he chronicles stunning bands the right way. He's a good writer and his slot on Radio XS shows he knows what he's doing. This book confirms it - any Metallica fan wanting to see some of the sweat, anger and commitment going on behind the scenes needs to look at this.

Just for kicks ordered a copy of 'Sherlock Holmes and the Flying Zombie Death Monkeys.' Why not?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Real Deal, 4 Jan 2011
By 
Wings "Wings" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Mick Wall is a good storyteller, and his previous books have always been good for pub yarns, but sometimes let down by too much of his own intrusive personality. I'm not a great Metallica fan but I requested this for Christmas, as I enjoyed Wall's book about Axl Rose. Enter Night is business as usual - There is good detail, thorough digging around in the archives and Wall's own time spent with Metallica is well utilised. It's a ripping good rock story, like Metallica it is very macho, very knockabout and sometimes a bit heavy going. But worth reading. Recommended. And if you love Metallica you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metallica: Enter Night: The Biography (Paperback)
This is a great book. It tells you everything you need to know. I really got into it. From when they were kid's to Death Magnetic . If you love Metallica you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read and insight into the band, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read on the history of the band and the struggles. not too much about the drink and drugs, more about their story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metallica: Enter Night: The Biography (Paperback)
A very good in-depth story about the band... also good that Mick Wall have met the band loads of time, so atleast its not like other books where the writer just guesses and analyse... I would think all metallica fans would love this, his opinions made sense (such as load-reload was bad). I can sense some hate from Wall in this biography, but I guess everyone kinda hates metallica anyway :p how the book is written also makes it very fun to read... So anyways, this biography is very worth it and a must read for a metallica fans, plus it ended with a 'happy ending' with death magnetic :D I hope u guys enjoy it as much as I do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metallica: Enter Night: The Biography (Paperback)
it was bought for my friend who is a fan, he said it was really good, pictures were great too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars metallica, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metallica: Enter Night: The Biography (Paperback)
another christmas gift, not my cup of tea but if you are a metallica fan like my brother he loved it, worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metallica: Enter Night: The Biography
Metallica: Enter Night: The Biography by Mick Wall (Paperback - 5 July 2012)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews