Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read.
Intriguing book and very readable.Bigger than I expected so not easy to read everywhere.The relationships were complex but cleverly portrayed.
Published 7 months ago by Wendy

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Visit the Victorian Underworld From the Safety of Your Armchair
A real cornucopia of Victoriana and peopled with some weird and wonderful characters, Essie Fox's second novel 'Elijah's Mermaid' makes for an atmospheric read. Orphaned twins, Elijah and Lily are rescued from Coram's Foundling Hospital, by their writer grandfather, Augustus Lamb. The twins are brought up in Kingsland House, their grandfather's delightful country home,...
Published 17 months ago by Susie B


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read., 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elijah's Mermaid (Paperback)
Intriguing book and very readable.Bigger than I expected so not easy to read everywhere.The relationships were complex but cleverly portrayed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Visit the Victorian Underworld From the Safety of Your Armchair, 9 Nov 2012
By 
Susie B - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Elijah's Mermaid (Hardcover)
A real cornucopia of Victoriana and peopled with some weird and wonderful characters, Essie Fox's second novel 'Elijah's Mermaid' makes for an atmospheric read. Orphaned twins, Elijah and Lily are rescued from Coram's Foundling Hospital, by their writer grandfather, Augustus Lamb. The twins are brought up in Kingsland House, their grandfather's delightful country home, cocooned from the outside world, listening to Augustus's stories about fairies, hunting for "treasure and magic things" and dreaming about mermaids with golden hair. Meanwhile, in London, a beautiful web-toed baby is found floating in the Thames one dank, foggy night and taken to the House of Mermaids, a brothel, where she is raised in luxury by the Madame of the house, Mrs Hibbert. The child is given the name Pearl and is cared for lovingly by Mrs Hibbert, or at least she is until she reaches her fourteenth birthday, when she is made aware that she and her virginity are to be auctioned off to the highest bidder.

Shortly before the auction, the paths of Pearl and the Lamb twins cross by chance, when Elijah and Lily come to London, where Elijah is struck by Pearl's luminous beauty, falling in love with her after just a glance. But Pearl is not destined to be Elijah's mermaid, for she is soon sold off to an eccentric artist, who is delighted to find his very own mermaid and muse. A few years later, Elijah meets up with Pearl again when he has become a talented photographer and has been offered a job in London. But soon after arriving in London, Elijah disappears and when no news about his whereabouts reaches his sister and grandfather, Lily realizes that she will have to travel to London herself, in order to discover what fate has befallen her beloved brother. (No spoilers - there is plenty more for prospective readers to uncover).

Inspired by Charles Kingsley's 'The Water Babies' and with the motif of water ever present, this attractively presented novel is written in a mixed media method, with first-person narratives from the perspectives of Pearl and Lily, diary entries from Elijah and a selection of newspaper articles and letters. Essie Fox has researched her subject well and includes an appendix at the end of the book informing the reader of the real life characters and places that inspired her novel and she also includes a list of Victorian slang words (which, on reflection, might have been more useful if placed at the beginning of the novel).

I haven't read Essie Fox's previous novel: The Somnambulist - in fact this book was given to me as a present and, having heard the author being compared with Wilkie Collins and Sarah Waters, I thought that Essie Fox would have a lot to live up to. Well, 'Elijah's Mermaid' may be an atmospheric story, but I do have to say that I found parts of it a little contrived and I must say that I found the writing rather overblown at times; however that said, Essie Fox's enthusiasm for her subject is evident and her Victorian world is descriptively vivid, so many readers may find it easy to become pulled into this story of secrets, obsessive love, duplicity and betrayal. If you are in the mood to be seduced by some Victorian-style sensationalism and want to spend a little time in the Victorian underworld from the safety of your armchair, then 'Elijah's Mermaid' may be just what you are looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully descriptive..., 8 Nov 2012
By 
jaffareadstoo (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Elijah's Mermaid (Paperback)
In Elijah's mermaid, Essie Fox, has with Dickensian precision revealed a passionate story of obsessive love, and sordid betrayal. Beautifully descriptive, the highly regarded worlds of Victorian art and literature, meet the dark and repellent world of the demi-mondaine, in a story that abounds with duplicity, and scandalous intrigue.
Pearl has been brought up in the notorious brothel, The House of Mermaids, where she has been cosseted and pampered as a child of the house; however, as she nears her fourteenth birthday, she is aware that her innocence will be soon be sold to the highest bidder. Meanwhile, in a secluded country house, the twins Lily and Elijah, who were rescued as children from the Foundling Hospital, live in isolated splendour with their grandfather, the reclusive author Augustus Lamb. In an unexpected incident in London, Lily and Elijah, cross paths with Pearl, and the fickle finger of fate combines, to bind these characters together.
The dark and socially corrupt world of Victorian London is brought vividly to life, the narrative never falters, and the rich assortment of characters that flutter in and out of the story, add a fascinating glimpse into the shadowy world of the Victorian underclass.

I found much to enjoy in Elijah's Mermaid - it's a perfect book for a cold winter's evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dissapointed, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elijah's Mermaid (Kindle Edition)
It started out looking like a potentially good novel even if the prose was slow at times. From half way through I was finding it less and less enjoyable.

The narrative is mostly given by two of the main characters but also using newspaper articles, letters and a diary.

If the narrative is to given from more than one point of view then surely they need to be discernable. I would find myself asking "Who is this narrative given by" and I would have to check.

Some scenes and the reactions of individuals in those scenes didn't come across as particularly credible at times.

After what seemed a slow story at times it then seemed rushed in the ultimate "chapter".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully crafted Victorian mystery, 9 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elijah's Mermaid (Kindle Edition)
"Elijah's Mermaid" was an amazing novel to read. Like Fox's debut novel, "The Somnambulist", it is a gothic mystery set during the Victorian Era, but (other than the quality of the writing) the similarities go no further. "Elijah's Mermaid" is an entirely original piece of literature - I have never read a novel quite like it.

Stylistically, Fox is in a league of her own. As far as contemporary literature goes, I am yet to encounter a novelist whose language is as poetic. The theme of water was present throughout the novel, which was enhanced by the natural, graceful flow of the prose. The imagery is rich and beautiful.

However, there is just as much darkness as beauty in this novel, and on occasions the two intermingle. As well as their idyllic childhood in the countryside, raised by the celebrated novelist Augustus Lamb, the twins (Lily & the eponymous Elijah) must also navigate their way through the criminal underbelly of Victorian London. Drugs, crime, prostitution, insanity - it's all there, and each horror is dealt with masterfully. What makes the more terrifying aspects of this novel so effective is that, through the eyes of Pearl, they are perceived as a part of her everyday life, if not normal.

The novel is also an insightful reflection upon Victorian society; all too easy to understand how a stroke of misfortune could lead to ruin. There was nothing difficult about having a troublesome relative committed to an insane asylum, especially if she was female, and there were never so many steps down to prostitution as one would like to believe. "Elijah's Mermaid" is harrowing in places, and the first person narration enhances the experience.

Fox's characterisation is spot on. Lily's love for her brother, the urgency with which she tries to find him - all of it is real. The family dynamic between the twins and their Papa - Augustus - is also entirely convincing. Without such realistic relationships between characters, the astonishing chain of convents could not have been so compelling.

I could scarcely bring myself to put this book down. The plot is full of twists and turns that are never predictable, although always believable. The language is as stunning as the art detailed, both the paintings and the children's stories. The characters are absolutely vivid - I doubt I will ever forget them. This book bowled me over - its conclusion left me reeling. Whether or not this is a genre with which you are experienced, I recommend "Elijah's Mermaid" wholeheartedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Eijah's Mermaid, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elijah's Mermaid (Kindle Edition)
Easy to read held my attention with its mystery. relationships were very complicated and I would love to have heard a little more detail about their lives as they grew old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An atmospheric novel of darkness and delusion, 24 Oct 2013
This review is from: Elijah's Mermaid (Kindle Edition)
Elijah's Mermaid by Essie Fox explores the all consuming nature of obsession in the pursuit of perfection, until reason is lost and morality dies.

Pearl is the jewel in the crown of the House of Mermaids, a notorious brothel in Victorian London, 'a glittering palace of dreams'.

As a baby, Pearl was carried to the House on a tide of misery.

An unusual child with webbed feet and astonishing beauty, Pearl is cosseted and looked after, brought up on tales that she was sent to the House by the 'mermaids' of the Thames.

Until her fourteenth birthday when she learns that she is to be sold off to the highest bidder.

Our introduction to Pearl is as a young confused adult, one who has had her sense of innocence torn away from her. Vile images writhe in her descriptions of her early life, her detached tone evoking a sense of the deep depression that resides within her.

Her fear is palpable.

Sensuous and dark, the prose flows through your senses gently like stream at first, before pulling you down into the murky depths of the The House of Mermaids.

Meanwhile, orphaned twins, Lily and Elijah, are adopted from a Foundling Hospital by their grandfather, author Augustus Lamb.

They grow up in the countryside and enjoy an idyllic childhood, sheltered from the world that Pearl resides in.

It is while on a visit to London that they first encounter Pearl.

A chance meeting that is set to change the direction of all their lives in the future, when the twins will enter a world where reality shifts like sand underfoot, unreliable, unsteady, ever changing.

A world where they won't know who to trust.

The warmth of the affection between the twins offers a direct contrast to the indifferent, cold cruelty that Pearl experiences at the hands of her new owner.

She is an object, his muse, his inspiration, a pure beauty to be possessed, controlled and obsessed over.

Elijah's Mermaid is an atmospheric novel of darkness and delusion, secrets and lies masked by the respectability of art and literature in Victorian England.

An intriguing study of mental breakdown, it also explores the frightening treatments on offer in unregulated asylums at the time, where the patients were objectified and the emphasis was on cruel experimentation and manipulation rather than cures.

Fox's passion for the Victorian period shines through the prose and the research that is documented at the back of the novel.

As with Fox's début novel - The Somnambulist - it is worth paying attention to the quotes above each chapter as each one will give you a sense of the direction that the story is moving in.

With thanks to Essie Fox who sent me a copy of Elijah's Mermaid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read from Essie Fox, 22 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elijah's Mermaid (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading Elijah's Mermaid. Fox's writing seems so well researched and the plots are so thorough and dense. I completely escaped into Victorian times whilst reading this book and was sad to look up and see that I'd reached my tube stop! I read this book in about 3 days because I could not put it down, I was so enthralled and simply had to know what would happen next.
I would also recommend The Somnambulist by Essie Fox and I cannot wait for her next book The Goddess and the Thief to be published in December 2013. If I sound like a fan it's because I am! ^_^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love Essie Fox's writing, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elijah's Mermaid (Kindle Edition)
I adored The Sonambulist so was really excited to read Elijah's Mermaid. I wasn't disappointed. This novel captures London during the Victorian period in such detail. The characters were fascinating and frustrating in equal measure - and I mean that in a positive way!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars wrote well, 10 Jun 2013
This review is from: Elijah's Mermaid (Paperback)
All though most of the reviews have all ready been out lined what the story is about. I personally liked reading about the twins Elijah and Lily when they take it turns to tell their story. Whats great about this victorian story is that everyone will find some thing that draws them in to Elijah's mermaid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6d92fa8)

This product

Elijah's Mermaid
Elijah's Mermaid by Essie Fox (Paperback - 9 May 2013)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews