Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another page-turner by Maureen Lee
I've been a big fan of Maureen Lee for a number of years, finding all her books completely engrossing. After the War is Over is no exception. The story concerns three women, very contrasting characters but close friends, and their lives in Liverpool in the years following World War II. As always in Maureen Lee books, the characters on the page are vividly brought to life,...
Published on 24 May 2012 by rumble fish

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maureen lee
This book was abit plodding, it never seemed to draw you in, which is a shame because most Maureen lees books are good
Published 18 months ago by denise baumber


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another page-turner by Maureen Lee, 24 May 2012
By 
rumble fish (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: After the War is Over (Hardcover)
I've been a big fan of Maureen Lee for a number of years, finding all her books completely engrossing. After the War is Over is no exception. The story concerns three women, very contrasting characters but close friends, and their lives in Liverpool in the years following World War II. As always in Maureen Lee books, the characters on the page are vividly brought to life, and the story is dramatic and quite moving. I would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this novel to anyone who just wants a really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars after the war is over by maureen lee, 10 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After the War is Over (Hardcover)
one of the best maureen lees I have read an excellent read it is sad in parts but the ending ties everything up nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maureen Lee at her absolute best!, 3 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been a fan for years, the first book I read, and my favourite, was Stepping Stones and this book is definitely as good. Since then I have read every book Maureen Lee has written. Can't wait for the next one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars after the wear is over, 28 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another excellent read from Maureen Lee - PLEASE can we have more, I loved it. Bought from Amazon and superb delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maureen lee, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was abit plodding, it never seemed to draw you in, which is a shame because most Maureen lees books are good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insite, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good insight into what life was like, explained briliantly and a must to read. I was not born until 1947, but can understand the anxiety of those who lived through the war and came out the other end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life after the war, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
.A story of every day life after the war was over when people sometimes found it difficult to return to every day living, when things were in short supply and people had to readjust. Sometimes sad and sometimes funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting read, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a big fan of Maureen Lee and this one didn't disappoint. It was a very interesting insight into what it must have been like for women just after the war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Author, 25 Nov 2013
By 
whitehouse "J R" (Runcorn,Cheshire,UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As my previous review states I am never ever disappointed with the quality of this authors writing,she always pulls me into her stories with the description she gives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A cure for insominia!, 24 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A bit like watching paint dry! Kept thinking something might make i interesting and then it came to an abrupt end like she had got fed up with writing it herself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

After the War is Over
After the War is Over by Maureen Lee (Paperback - 6 Dec 2012)
3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews