Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas with Miss Read
I was intoduced to Miss Read at the tender age of 14.....since then I have read and re-read all her novels. I just feel as if ,Im sitting there living with the characters. I bought this book even though I,ve read these books before. I treasure my time with Miss Read. Highly recommened.
Published on 2 Jan 2012 by staffs couple

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I'd never read a Miss Read book before but a friend of mine loves them. I think it might have been a generation thing. Found the opinions of some of her characters too narrow-minded for me, but I know many people enjoy her books, just not for me.
Published 22 months ago by Mrs. J. Potter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas with Miss Read, 2 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was intoduced to Miss Read at the tender age of 14.....since then I have read and re-read all her novels. I just feel as if ,Im sitting there living with the characters. I bought this book even though I,ve read these books before. I treasure my time with Miss Read. Highly recommened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas With Miss Read, 23 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a lovely book to read! You get two books in one which I found, was very good value for money. My favourite story was "The Christmas Mouse." I enjoyed the bit where the two young girls of Mary are growing up, and are not sure whether Father Christmas will be coming with presents. But eventually, Father Christmas does arrive! I would recommend this Kindle edition to add your Kindle repertoire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miss Read, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As I have come to expect from Miss Read's ability as an author, it is excellent. I cannot wait for the remainder of the Fairacre series to be made available for Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book !, 1 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again Miss Read delivers a delightful read for the festive period, lovely !! It's nice to read traditional story telling for a change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A joy to read., 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As always an absolute pleasure to read. Well written characters and the descriptions of the village life a real joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Miss Read, 6 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. William Scott (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas with Miss Read: Christmas at Fairacre, A Country Christmas (Paperback)
This was a present for a friend who was unable to find the book in local bookshops; it is a lovely book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Miss Read books - always a pleasure to read, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can't give a higher rating! Always a pleasure as the characters are so real. One gets to know their characters and idiosyncrasies intimately. They are all friends (well perhaps not Mrs Pringle or Arthur Coggs). It is a 'nostalgia' book of times past but true to life. I have taught briefly in such schools. I'd recommend this book (and all her books) to anyone who wants an easy read but entering into the life of village community.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas with Miss Read: Christmas at Fairacre, A Country Christmas (Paperback)
great service speedy delivery. i love this book as it is one of the few i hadnt read before. great book look forward to buying more!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MISS READ COLLECTION, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Heart warming collection of a couple of novels and several short stories. I thoroughly enjoyed reading all of these over Christmas. Well worth the price if you're a fan of Miss Read. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas with Miss Read, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent read yet again from Miss Read. All these books are so well written and the central characters are so true to life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christmas with Miss Read: Christmas at Fairacre, A Country Christmas
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews