Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rip-roaring yarn
This is a rip-roaring yarn that has countless laugh-out loud moments, but also some surprisingly quiet interludes of genuine depth, as Humphries (acting as the "agent" to his doughty Dame) relates historical and geographical details of antipodean culture, all of which drip with a knowing and self-deprecating satire. I have to agree with a previous reviewer that Humphries'...
Published on 5 Oct 2011 by Daniel Park

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review of Audio CD
This begins really well, like one of those William Boyd novels where you can't tell what is fiction and what reality. Barry Humphries relates the story not only of his life but how he discovered the great Dame. The first disc had plenty of belly laughs. However, some way through the second the pace and concept slacks off. It moves from a hybrid of reality and fiction that...
Published on 30 April 2012 by J & K


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rip-roaring yarn, 5 Oct 2011
By 
Daniel Park "danielpark99" (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a rip-roaring yarn that has countless laugh-out loud moments, but also some surprisingly quiet interludes of genuine depth, as Humphries (acting as the "agent" to his doughty Dame) relates historical and geographical details of antipodean culture, all of which drip with a knowing and self-deprecating satire. I have to agree with a previous reviewer that Humphries' perception of his beloved "Dame Edna" character is really quite "spooky" at times. I witnessed this first hand some years ago when Humphries brought "Dame Edna: the musical" to Guildford. She really is a larger than life character and there is no wonder that - even if book form - she utterly dominates her creator to the point, and arguably beyond the point of reason!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dame Edna above Average, 28 July 2011
By 
Tim Roast (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This book is about Dame Edna Everage and is written by Barry Humphries from the viewpoint of Edna's agent. As it is focused on Dame Edna there are gaps from Barry's life although he has written two other autobiographies such as "More, Please: An Autobiography" (which he says only mentions him playing Edna in his shows because of the pressure he was put under at the to,e by his publishers to write the story in that way to maximise sales) if you want to fill those gaps.

As for Dame Edna's life all the peripheral characters such as the invalid husband Norm, the housemaid Madge and the sons and daughters make an appearance. It is amazing how many times the author mentions the similarities between his mother and Dame Edna. It's as if Dame Edna could have been a character creation based on his mother?

There is also an appendix with a few different bits and pieces of Dame Edna's material as a sort of DVD extra section.

All in all this was an informative read about a comedy icon even if it is a work of fiction (or not as the case may be).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book Review from AntonySimpson.com, 1 July 2012
By 
Antony Simpson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Barry Humphries has been with Edna Everage since the very beginning. In Handling Edna: The Unauthorised Biography by Barry Humphries he describes how they met, and the adventure she's dragged him along for ever since.

Before the book even begins there is a "Note to the Reader" eluding to the fact that some people have come to believe that Barry Humphries and Dame Edna are essentially the same person. Humphries writes that he hopes to shed some light on where this belief came from, so that the reader can make their own decision about what they believe.

The first chapter starts in Moonee Ponds, Australia and describes how Barry and Edna met. Humphries writes in the first person, and throughout the book uses description to indicate the decade and location of events he describes.

Each chapter gives an entertaining and fascinating insight into Barry's life and career (or lack of), Edna and her family's life and careers, her rise to stardom (and Barry's lack of understanding as to why) and the problems that it brought her - all in a chronological order.

A few highlights (in no particular order) include Barry being the warm up act for Dame Edna - for various shows; Edna's time in Hollywood; Barry's stint in hospital with alcoholism and Edna being his only visitor; Barry's love life; Barry's impersonation of Edna on two occasions - the first for his benefit and the second trying to help her; Edna's poor mental health - in particular in relation to the death of Norm (her husband).

As the chapters go on, towards the end of the book you start to get a fictional feel to the book especially in the final few chapters. Earlier in the book Barry is handed a letter for Edna by Madge. Madge instructs Barry to only give the letter to Edna when she dies. In the final chapter Madge finally dies in hospital. Barry remembers the letter and it reveals that Edna's missing daughter Lois was taken by Madge in a moment of madness (which explains why Madge tolerated Edna over the decades). Madge writes that she gave Lois to some old friends to raise as their own, with Lois calling her Auntie Madge. In the hospital, the nurse turns out to be called Lois and is upset as her Auntie Madge has just died.

Having read the book do I believe that Barry Humphries and Edna Everage are the same person? Yes I think they are the same person, but that only makes Humphries even cleverer. The factual parts about Barry's life are interesting to read, but the fiction about Edna is even more interesting. It not only makes the book very entertaining, but it gives an insight into the psyche of Humphries.

The book was a brilliant read, and as you'd expect from a bibliography it has several glossy photo pages throughout the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review of Audio CD, 30 April 2012
By 
This begins really well, like one of those William Boyd novels where you can't tell what is fiction and what reality. Barry Humphries relates the story not only of his life but how he discovered the great Dame. The first disc had plenty of belly laughs. However, some way through the second the pace and concept slacks off. It moves from a hybrid of reality and fiction that teases you into what is / is not real and becomes more like a novel than the fictitious biography it claims to be. By the end implausibility is heaped upon implausibility and it just runs out of laughs. I love Barry Humphries and Dame Edna - but this disappointed. On the plus side, Barry's reading is brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The fabulous world of megastardom revealed, 24 Aug 2011
How could anyone resist the temptation to learn more about this beloved character, megastar, entertainer and comic?! Written by Barry Humphries who as we all know knows Edna better than anyone, we get a remarkable insight into Edna's life and how she came to be the megastar we know and love. The purple fluffy world of planet Everage it seems can also be a sad and sometimes spooky place, but this somehow makes Edna more real and it doesn't stop the laughs at all. The only sinister question is that both Barry and Edna seem to meld quite often....but the book explains that too and theres even the possibility that we get a cheeky peek at some of Ednas romantic dalliances too and they are far from old fashioned! Other beloved characters are featured too, the long suffering Madge, Norm and her children. Its a must read possums!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Odd, truly unsettling, funny but not just funny, 13 Jun 2011
By 
Robert (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Written as if Edna is a real person and Humphries is her "agent". Humphries carries off this ludicrous deception with conviction; consequently, the writing verges on psychotic in a way I hadn't expected, and it left an unsettling sense of being in the presence of madness of a kind I had never encountered before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 10 July 2014
By 
A. WILLIAMS (Wales, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this book. It's made even more special by the fact that I went to the Barry Humphries farewell tour and had it signed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud moments, 26 May 2014
By 
Nicky Dorrian (Dundee Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book cheered me up so much. Wonderful laugh out loud moments . Like other comments it was hard to divorce fact from fiction and I began to feel sorry for Barry and Edna. Better than Valium !,,,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Barry allows us to see Edna's world unfiltered (something she is incapable of). Delightfully entertaining., 1 Mar 2014
By 
John Frame "There Is No Substitute For Equality" (Brisbane, Queensland Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm loving listening to the audiobook by Barry Humphries of his revelatory 2009 unauthorised biography "Handling Edna". Always entertaining, and very often hilarious - but all beautiful spoken as both Barry and Edna. Barry Humphries, as personal manager and co-star of Dame Edna Everage, shares his intimate perspective of the housewife gigastar - and allows us to see her world unfiltered (something Edna is incapable of). Edna saw the world through heavily framed heterocentric glasses: "Fancy a woman wanting to play "Doctors And Nurses" with another woman!" - and one of the many moments I like this book (the audiobook in particular) is when Barry tells us how a blinkered Edna moved in a decidedly gay world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD IDEA, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic story and marvelous reader I could listen over and over again P Barry is just perfect at reading his own autobiography of Edna
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Handling Edna: The Unauthorised Biography
Handling Edna: The Unauthorised Biography by Barry Humphries (Paperback - 15 Sep 2011)
8.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews