Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fast-paced adventure
#9 in the Jason Bourne series. Bourne battles a secret cabal that controls many governments.

P.15 "California with the largest deposit of rare earths outside of China"
It now seems that Greenland can claim that distinction.

Error p.76 " the Southern Hemisphere sun..." Bourne is between Bogota and Cali which are north of the...
Published 2 months ago by Mr. Stephen Parkin

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining escapism
I loved Ludlum's original Bourne series and while this is not quite there, Lustbader keeps the pace going. While you can guess what turns and twist are coming, it's an ideal book for a couple of days escapism following Bourne working with an old enemy trying to get the better of a brutal rogue FSB agent. While some of the action is a bit far fetched, I kept saying this is...
Published on 29 July 2011 by David Lowe, Author of "A D...


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining escapism, 29 July 2011
I loved Ludlum's original Bourne series and while this is not quite there, Lustbader keeps the pace going. While you can guess what turns and twist are coming, it's an ideal book for a couple of days escapism following Bourne working with an old enemy trying to get the better of a brutal rogue FSB agent. While some of the action is a bit far fetched, I kept saying this is escapism, fiction, not reality. If you like your thrillers fast paced and full of action this will work for you. If you like your thrillers more authentic then pass on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor plotting, 10 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Feels like a lazy repeat, the plotting is predictable, every turn is a betrayal, again & again & again. More twists don't make for an interesting read. Must have been written to a schedule, planned by analysts with "more is better" as their only criteria. Dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A poor shadow of the real Bourne, 13 July 2011
I feel there is the smell of tills ringing with the way these Bourne books are desigend and sold/marketed. The original Bourne books by Ludlum were crisp, fast paced, technically interesting and dragged you along for the ride. I saw this on the bookstall at the airport and bought it on the basis that it was another Ludlum Bourne novel and was looking forward to a good holiday read. What I got was a 'con-job' with the Bourne brand taken over by an Eric Lustbader, the story is flabby and unconvincing, the behaviour of the motely crew of spies and spooks is laughable with little authenticity of the original. I really felt like giving up after yet another laboured plot twist and betryal that was unexplained and seemingly little to do with the plot context. I would reccomend you stay clear of this and lets just hope that a better Ludlum ghost writer comes along who can do a better job than Mr Lustbader!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deception Shrivels Those Who Practice It, 18 Aug 2011
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
"Those also who seek my life lay snares for me;
Those who seek my hurt speak of destruction,
And plan deception all the day long." -- Psalm 38:12 (NKJV)

In The Bourne Dominion, Jason Bourne, the world's best-loved, amnesia-plagued assassin once again shows himself to be a rarity in the secret world, someone who can be trusted to do the right thing. If you miss having Jason Bourne in the middle of the killing fields, The Bourne Dominion provides some entertaining action and plot twists revolving around the themes of identity and trust. Be warned that the main story starts slowly and is deceptive in its apparent predictability. The pace and your interest will pick up quite a bit around the middle and will be well sustained by the end.

Author Eric Van Lustbader does a fine job of allowing Jason Bourne to notice what everyone else misses . . . and to take appropriate action at the right time. It's the book's most appealing feature to me. Almost as good are the ways that combatants are able to escape seemingly impossible situations in ways that don't stretch credibility too far.

The book has several story lines with changing narrators, which helps to keep the overall plot picture balanced. It's also a nice way to add some thrills by leaving key characters in cliffhanging situations.

Mr. Lustbader's weakness is that he doesn't get inside of Bourne's psyche in the ways that would make the book come alive and be more intriguing. Perhaps that aspect of his writing will improve in future books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fast-paced adventure, 18 May 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen Parkin (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Dominion (Bourne 09) (Paperback)
#9 in the Jason Bourne series. Bourne battles a secret cabal that controls many governments.

P.15 "California with the largest deposit of rare earths outside of China"
It now seems that Greenland can claim that distinction.

Error p.76 " the Southern Hemisphere sun..." Bourne is between Bogota and Cali which are north of the equator.

Error p.334 "Damascus..between the Tigris and Euphrates rivers" Actually hundreds of kilometres away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Dominion (Bourne 09) (Paperback)
as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Additive, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is typical of Robert Ludlums Bourne series, 5 star stuff that grips your imagination to the extent that when the book is finished you have to go straight to the next. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a thriller with all the action and suspense thrown in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars too complicated, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The more books he writes on Bourne, the more complicated they become, the first 4 were brilliant reading, most of my friends feel the same, I have just the last one to read, as I will not give up, I just hope that there will be no more now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 3stars is generous ., 22 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. A. Willis (Dorchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mr. Ludlum is running out of steam 're Bourne! Far too complex a story probably more focused on leading into the next element of the saga than it should!
L
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bourne (again), 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another excellent book, up to the usual standard I would definitely recommendation this one. What more can I say but read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Dominion (Bourne 09)
Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Dominion (Bourne 09) by Eric Van Lustbader (Paperback - 2 Feb 2012)
3.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews