Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eloquent and intelligent sportsman with something to say
We heard David Millar speak at the Hay Festival about the drug culture in professional cycling, his own descent into use of performance enhancing drugs and his subsequent championing of the battle against drug use as he reentered top class racing. He was eloquent then. His book, in collaboration with Jeremy Whittle, is compelling. It is not very often that you hear and...
Published on 10 April 2012 by M. Hillmann

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Millar - the boy who never grew up
As he admits (or his wife told him), Millar was often 'a bit of a dick' - he doesn't come across as very self-aware even on reflection and it is quite a self-absorbed account. It gives some insight into pro-cycling, but where I think the Hamilton biog is better is that Hamilton explains why he thinks he's such a strong cyclist (a willingness to push boundaries, take risks...
Published on 3 July 2013 by Matthew Bakewell


‹ Previous | 128 29 3039 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 7 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent read, a real insight into the world of professional cycling. I am happy to recommend the book to anyone who enjoys good writing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is mine and I have not got around to reading it yet - and he is retiring this year - I had better get down to reading, 7 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Racing Through the Dark: The Fall and Rise of David Millar (Paperback)
Oh dear! This book is mine and I have not got around to reading it yet - and he is retiring this year - I had better get down to reading it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 2 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite literally the most heart wrenching and inspiring book i have read. New found respect for David Millar above that which i already have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars what an insight, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written, gave real insight into how the doping culture existed and infected the life of a cyclist. Great to read how DM came through!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Redemption, 12 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic insight into the world of procycling. David Millar describes in great detail the troubles faced during the dark days of cycling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great story, 22 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent inside account of pro cycling, enjoyed millars honesty. Definitely recommend to anyone interested in cycling or sport in general
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 18 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Racing Through the Dark: The Fall and Rise of David Millar (Paperback)
What an awesome read, David Miller lays it out plain and simple. One of the books everyone should read, even if you are not into cycling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a great story of someone making good of what was a bad mistake. Any cyclist will enjoy this book. Great insight to pro riding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Racing Through The Dark by David Millar: A Review, 6 July 2011
This is by far the best cycling memoir I have read to date.

It leaves no stone unturned in the life of a professional Cyclist. I commend Millar for his exceptional writing style, one that keeps you turning the page again and again. I found his story truely captivating and inspiring. If we are to believe what we read, Millar is more of a victim of the system than he is compliant. His story demonstrates how riders were forced into a life of doping just to stay with the pack; just to stay in the game. Albeit, David Millar has proved that he could win clean against riders that were doping and that is testament enough to an athlete that has overcome great personal turmoil and self-conviction.

He is man that has been stood on the edge of total destruction, yet fought back when it would have all the more easier to give up!

Those who are still critical of David Millar today need to take a step back and take time out to listen to his side of the story. It is all too easy to be sucked into damning an athlete and throwing them on the srap heap. I think Millar has turned his life around tremendously and has become a champion for the anti-doping cause.

Doping aside, Millar breaks the mould of your typical pro cyclist. He is well educated and intelligent; culturally diverse and intensely self-aware.

This was a book I could not put down! A must read for any cycling enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opener!, 9 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Racing Through the Dark: The Fall and Rise of David Millar (Paperback)
Really good read. Offers an interesting insight to the world of a cyclist. I can recommend this to anyone with an interest in sport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 128 29 3039 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Racing Through the Dark: The Fall and Rise of David Millar
Racing Through the Dark: The Fall and Rise of David Millar by David Millar (Paperback - 28 Jun. 2012)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews