Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Cryer
A very funny and informative read from Barry Cryer, full of anecdotes and a brilliant insight into show business. I will buy other books of Barry's on the strength of this one.
M.H.
Published on 31 Mar 2010 by Mr. M. E. Harris

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flat and disappointing
In his fifty odd year career Barry Cryer has written for some of the biggest names in comedy. He is also a busy performer and has been known to belt out the odd tune (he's had a number one record - in Finland). To top it all he is a panellist on Britain's funniest radio show. He has a massive fund of showbiz anecdotes, making him a much in demand after dinner speaker...
Published on 21 Feb 2010 by Bantam Dave


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Cryer, 31 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. M. E. Harris "Mal" (Gwent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Butterfly Brain (Hardcover)
A very funny and informative read from Barry Cryer, full of anecdotes and a brilliant insight into show business. I will buy other books of Barry's on the strength of this one.
M.H.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flat and disappointing, 21 Feb 2010
By 
Bantam Dave (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Butterfly Brain (Hardcover)
In his fifty odd year career Barry Cryer has written for some of the biggest names in comedy. He is also a busy performer and has been known to belt out the odd tune (he's had a number one record - in Finland). To top it all he is a panellist on Britain's funniest radio show. He has a massive fund of showbiz anecdotes, making him a much in demand after dinner speaker. Why then is this book so disappointing?

Set out in small sections, with usually two or three pages on each subject (usually about a show business friend or acquaintance) this should make it an ideal book to dip in and out of but it all just doesn't seem to work. The anecdotes generally fall a little flat, with precious few genuinely funny stories amongst them. This seems a little strange as Barry Cryer is a genuinely funny man.

It is not a big book, the generous spacing and font size meaning it does not take long to read but the inclusion of several pages of totally pointless (and unfunny) photographs and an index which is similarly pointless and unfunny left me with the impression that the whole thing has been `padded out'.

If, like me, you dislike the use of footnotes (they annoy me because they break up the rhythm of my reading) you won't be too pleased to find that this book is littered with them.

This is not by any means a poor book, it's just that I expected better from Barry Cryer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Anecdotal, Entertaining and Funny, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterfly Brain (Paperback)
I'm a fan of Cryer so predisposed to liking the book. It was an entertaining, light read and could have been longer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very funny book, 15 July 2013
By 
M. White - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterfly Brain (Kindle Edition)
Provides lovely insights into himself and the famous and infamous comics with whom he has worked. Wonderful jokes as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Funny man, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterfly Brain (Kindle Edition)
Bought this book on the recommendation of a friend who enthused over it. It's OK I suppose but doesn't engage me as well as it did my friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Always leave them wanting..., 6 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterfly Brain (Paperback)
"Butterfly Brain", so called because the author flits from one subject to another is, basically, a rewrite of Barry's other work "You Won't Believe This but..." (AKA "The Chronicles of Hernia"). Chapter by chapter, we get the same stories as before with a few extra tales thrown in.
I enjoyed both books (yet to read "Pigs Can Fly") & was hoping for even more "insider knowledge" on his showbiz acquaintances, but I imagine threats of litigation were considered before this one went to print.
I await the follow-up tome, providing more anecdotes from the underbelly of celebrity (working title: "Moth Balls"?), in the hope that it will offer further insights about the many personalities Barry Cryer has acquainted himself with & hope he will then unfetter his darkest secrets upon a readership hungry for further tales of vanity & deceit from the world of greasepaint & gaffer tape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but a bit quirky..., 17 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterfly Brain (Hardcover)
Saw Barry recently on his touring one man show - very enjoyable, so bought the book. A lot of pages have small print footnotes...so you have to go to the bottom of the page every so often to read everything. In most biographies the photos relate to the persons life - in this they are meant to be jokes - and for me it didn't work.
Liked the show Barry - not so sure about the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cryer, not a portrait I recognise, 20 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterfly Brain (Hardcover)
I was deeply disappointed with this book. I had met Barry on a couple of occasions and found him an enjoyable and friendly soul. He did not push himself foreward and never SHOWED OFF! The book shows him as an egocentric big head and this he is not!
Ralph
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never disappoints, 8 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Butterfly Brain (Hardcover)
A typical Barry Cryer book full of jokes and anecdotes, many of which have been told before but that doesn't diminish the fun of reading it. To have been in and around so much comedy talent for the past 50 odd years means he oozes stories of the comedy greats and not so greats. He is very funny and the book is hard to put down. I have nearly finished it and will be sorry when I do. Thanks Barry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Butterfly Brain, 30 Nov 2009
By 
A. BURT "Reader" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Butterfly Brain (Hardcover)
A very good read, funny and sets out some of Barry Crier's experiences in programmes he appears in , normally on radio 4
Well worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa484b0a8)

This product

Butterfly Brain
Butterfly Brain by Barry Cryer (Paperback - 28 Oct 2010)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews