Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Up To The Usual Standards
Following the successful Matt Damon films, based loosely on the first 2 novels, we have a reissue of the third. Do not expect the story that appeared in the films. They have been updated and reinvented and only loosely follow the books.
This third book finds Bourne again on the trail of the Jackal and follows him from the Caribbean to France and to Russia. It...
Published on 16 Dec 2004 by J. E. Parry

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing plot, characters and ending - just won't do!
This was not a great book and at times I found it to be fairly tedious. The plot is an ideal example of the term "half baked".

I hate skipping passages but this book encouraged the practice. I think it is unnecessarily long and could have been edited, to both benefit the book and the reader, by at least a one third reduction. And a little more effort into some...
Published on 20 July 2006 by Brian Butterly


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Up To The Usual Standards, 16 Dec 2004
By 
J. E. Parry "Jeff Parry" (Pontypool, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bourne Ultimatum (Paperback)
Following the successful Matt Damon films, based loosely on the first 2 novels, we have a reissue of the third. Do not expect the story that appeared in the films. They have been updated and reinvented and only loosely follow the books.
This third book finds Bourne again on the trail of the Jackal and follows him from the Caribbean to France and to Russia. It introduces the new Medusa organisation that has known mutated from a Vietnam assassination squad to a corporate octopus taking over companies across the world. The two strands are intertwined to add to the basic storyline.
The book does run out of steam. You get the idea that good editing could have removed about a third of the book. Carlos makes escapes that are clearly there to extend the story. You get the feeling that Ludlum was being paid by the page or word in some respects.
However this is still a good, if over long, thriller that does hit the right spots. However, compared to the other books, you do come away feeling unfulfilled. As his career progressed you felt that Ludlum sometimes revisited previous stories and wrote sequels to satisfy the fans. Sometimes this was not the wisest move and this is one on them.
Definitely one for the fans but new readers should read the first two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comments on plot, the relevance of the previous books, 24 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bourne Ultimatum (Paperback)
Well, what can I say. I thought that perhaps after Identity and Supremacy, this might be taking the format of Bourne too far, but Ludlum has outdone himself with this one. The plot grabs you by the throat and drags you along at breakneck speed, and the twists and turns in the novel are enough to keep even the most experienced thriller readers guessing. One word of warning though; it would be advisable to read The Bourne Identity and The Bourne Supremacy first - if you don't you will still understand the book, and enjoy it, but to enhance your enjoyment I would recommend that you read these two books first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, final episode of Jason Bourne, 27 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bourne Ultimatum (Paperback)
Bourne has settled down when he is dragged out of retirement by a seemingly random killing. As friend turns to foe he must put together the peices quickly, as the Jackal is still alive and wants revenge. From America to Cuba to Moscow the chase continues, and Medusa still exists, and has an agenda of its own. As the Jackal and the creation designed to kill him battle it out, there can only be one winner. If you have read either "the bourne identity" or "the bourne supremacy" then you must read this. If you haven't then read it anyway, the plot will still make sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing plot, characters and ending - just won't do!, 20 July 2006
By 
Brian Butterly "Varied Taste" (Dorking UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bourne Ultimatum (Paperback)
This was not a great book and at times I found it to be fairly tedious. The plot is an ideal example of the term "half baked".

I hate skipping passages but this book encouraged the practice. I think it is unnecessarily long and could have been edited, to both benefit the book and the reader, by at least a one third reduction. And a little more effort into some original plot pieces wouldn't go amiss while the editor was at it.

I also felt the author was "going through the motions" by squeezing a bit more out of his Jason Bourne character. A final showdown with "The Jackal" that became more than a little preposterous. It was predictable, drudgery and I just wanted it to end in the way we all knew it would - just for it to come quicker!

I must say that there were some interesting and likeable characters - I was taken by the ex-Deuxieme Bureau character in Paris and the KGB character that helped our hero in Moscow. However, to counter this observation, I could have cheerfully strangled the brother-in-law and I do not think there would be a short queue for the honour. What an annoying waste of space. Talking of which there were a number of characters introduced that really didn't seem to help the story.

I have read better books by this author and believe me this one took some time to read - all in all - I cannot recommend it, sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars long winded., 11 April 2011
This review is from: The Bourne Ultimatum (Bourne 3) (Paperback)
Mr. Ludlum cannot use one word where several will do. Over 700 pages could easily be reduced to 300 - 400 to create a far better and more readable book. Not his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Come back Matt Damon, all is forgiven, 30 May 2011
This review is from: The Bourne Ultimatum (Bourne 3) (Paperback)
What do you look for in a thriller? A plot with some slight pretensions of credibility? Forget it. This book can not summon the energy even to pretend that it is more than a puerile wish-fulfillment fantasy.

How about credible characters, speaking authentic dialogue? Forget that too. The characters are never more than plot devices, and their dialogue is literally unspeakable. A man wants to tell another man that someone has proved untrustworthy, and does so by saying this: "His august persona - as in Caesar Augustus - should be trashed. Slippery intellectuality aside, he's a whore. He had promise once, more than I let him know, but he let it all go by the boards in a flamboyant quest for his own personal grail." I repeat, that's supposed to be a character speaking in a conversation.

All right, what about basic writing? You know, beginner-level stuff, economy, elegance, precision, show me don't tell me, that kind of thing? All absent. The author's motto seems to be "More is Better". Adjectives are his favourite: "...her tanned, dark-haired, handsome younger brother...", long after we have been introduced to him and formed a mental picture of him, is typical. Characters never "say" when they can "explode", "announce", "whisper", "intone" and so on, always a giveaway for lazy writing.

Pace? My copy is 725 pages long. There is enough material here for about 300, which is coincidentally as far as I got before deciding that life is too short for trash like this. The Bourne franchise is one of those unusual cases where the films are better - much better - than the books. What a pity there is no zero-star rating. Sufficient warning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bourne again..., 10 Nov 2007
This review is from: The Bourne Ultimatum (Paperback)
The first book of the trilogy (Identity) is by far the best, and the associated films a disappointment with little to do with the books. This book is good if you enjoyed the first two books, and is a better read than the second. Medusa comes back to life in a new form, and the plots and twists take us to Paris to meet the Jackal, the States and islands to fight off the Mafia, plus most of Europe finally to Russia to the KGB and the "birthplace" of the Jackal. Conklin, Panov are very much part of the Webb family. If anything the story is a bit far fetched, but quite fun and a bit of a send up in a James Bond type style of latter films. The first book was much more worrying and realistic in terms of what the USA intelligence service could get up compared to this book which is more obviously in a fantasy world. I did enjoy it but would find it difficult to understand the background without reading the first novel. Worth reading if you have read the first two, and interest maintained through out the 700+ pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst book ever, 8 Oct 2009
By 
AG (Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bourne Ultimatum (Paperback)
Well thats 10 hours I'll never get back. the optimistic among u will perservere and hope it gets better, the sensible will put the book down, preferably in a burning pit to spare the unsuspecting charity shop book buyer, for whom will no doubt believe they have found a bargain, from the inevitable enduring pain that this story promises to deliver.

the concept of the book is excellent and what reels u in, the outcome is a muddled incomprehensible pile of steaming dung. there are constant contradictions that border on comical like when the elusive assassin bourne, invisible to his enemies and master of espionage is tracked down by his wife through an ad in a random paper. the brother in law bestowes almost worship status to the main protagonist and fires out cheesy sound bites one after the other which are enough to make you want to rip the book in two. why did i go on?

the cat and mouse game between the jackel and bourne is proposterous. not a word i use often, but the only one that fits here.

all in all, i doubt the actual author wrote this, my guess is this was written by a fifteen year old on work experience at the publishers.

i must just have a glutton for punishment or have thick skin, or maybe i am just as endurable as bourne, do yourself a favour... read somthing else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poorest of the series... but not to be missed, 6 July 2006
By 
Mr. Clark Gillies (West Kilbride, Ayrshire Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bourne Ultimatum (Paperback)
What can I say about this book??????

Mr Ludlum must have been really bored out of his mind when he sat down to write this, because just from reading it you can tell he never put his heart and soul into it like the two previous books.

Not to say it is a bad story (there are ALOT worse Robert Ludlum books out there!!!) but you know what is coming three pages before it happens.

Not as slow to read as Supremacy (took me 1/4 of the time to read), but not as thrilling as Identity.

Thankfully the movie will be NOTHING like this book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Formulaic, 30 July 2004
By 
Trip (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bourne Ultimatum (Paperback)
I found the first two books in the Jason Bourne series quite entertaining. They were well written and clearly well researched. Ulysses they're not, but the stories kept you reading, plots intertwining with sub-plots in an imaginative and engaging manner.
Unfortunately the Bourne Ultimatum is more than a little disappointing. It starts out quite well, however one cannot shake the feeling that Robert Ludlum was either compelled by contract to produce a third book, or simply decided to cash-in by milking the idea one more time. By the time you get to the closing chapters the book has descended into surrealism, with inane twists to keep flogging the long deceased horse. By the time I finished it, I could not stop thinking that this was hacked together from rejected scripts for Hart To Hart, or some other banal tv nonsense.
If you've read the first two books in the series, its probably worth a glance, but don't expect too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bourne Ultimatum (Bourne 3)
The Bourne Ultimatum (Bourne 3) by Robert Ludlum (Paperback - 4 Feb 2010)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews