Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic
having been a fan of the original bourne series, i read some of the reviews first before buying this book. I wish i hadn't let the negative reviews put me off for so long. i found it hard going at first but quickly got drawn into the story, it quickly became hard to put down. It is a great book and i look forward to reading the next one in the series.
Published 1 month ago by L. S. Dove

versus
34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A New Jason Bourne Is Born
If you expect a classic Robert Ludlum Jason Bourne book or a classic Eric Van Lustbader ninja delight, you will be very disappointed with this book. The Bourne Legacy doesn't fit well into either camp.
If you are willing to forget that you have ever read about Jason Bourne or anything else by Eric Van Lustbader, you will probably find this to be a relatively pleasing...
Published on 18 Oct 2004 by Donald Mitchell


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A New Jason Bourne Is Born, 18 Oct 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
If you expect a classic Robert Ludlum Jason Bourne book or a classic Eric Van Lustbader ninja delight, you will be very disappointed with this book. The Bourne Legacy doesn't fit well into either camp.
If you are willing to forget that you have ever read about Jason Bourne or anything else by Eric Van Lustbader, you will probably find this to be a relatively pleasing page-turner of an action novel.
The book shifts in a number of ways from the prior ones. First, this Jason Bourne is always reacting . . . and a little too late. Second, he's vulnerable both physically and emotionally. Third, he unrealistically recovers form serious injury time and time again to take even more abuse. He's sort of like a silly putty man in that sense. You toss him away and he bounces back quickly. Fourth, his long-time co-characters all but disappear. Fifth, an important new character is introduced, Khan, whom you will probably either like a lot of hate a lot. I leave it to you to decide.
Clearly, this book looks like it is intended to launch a whole series of novels based on the events in it. If you think you might like to see an action hero develop in a different way, give the book a try. If you want more of what you've had in the past, avoid this book.
Good hunting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a genuine sequel, 14 Dec 2005
A very entertaining read but it should not really be looked upon as a genuine sequel to the original Bourne books. Lustbader seems to have forgotten that Bourne will now be a sixty plus year old man. It is also a pity that the main characters of the original books have been completely ignored and new contacts for Bourne seem to have emerged from his previously forgotten past.
Having said this, the book, if read apart from the originals, is a very good plot twisting thriller and if you have only seen the films and not read the original books then it is highly recommended. If you have, however, read the books then please do not expect this to be a genuine follow on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A New Jason Bourne Is Born, 18 Oct 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
If you expect a classic Robert Ludlum Jason Bourne book or a classic Eric Van Lustbader ninja delight, you will be very disappointed with this book. The Bourne Legacy doesn't fit well into either camp.
If you are willing to forget that you have ever read about Jason Bourne or anything else by Eric Van Lustbader, you will probably find this to be a relatively pleasing page-turner of an action novel.
The book shifts in a number of ways from the prior ones. First, this Jason Bourne is always reacting . . . and a little too late. Second, he's vulnerable both physically and emotionally. Third, he unrealistically recovers form serious injury time and time again to take even more abuse. He's sort of like a silly putty man in that sense. You toss him away and he bounces back quickly. Fourth, his long-time co-characters all but disappear. Fifth, an important new character is introduced, Khan, whom you will probably either like a lot of hate a lot. I leave it to you to decide.
Clearly, this book looks like it is intended to launch a whole series of novels based on the events in it. If you think you might like to see an action hero develop in a different way, give the book a try. If you want more of what you've had in the past, avoid this book.
Good hunting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Simply awful., 7 April 2006
By 
S. Laxman (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This really is awful. I just can't understand how Eric Van Lustbader could've done this so badly, surely he must've read the other Bourne books before he wrote this...
In this book, Bourne (who should be about 60) is able to pull off amazing feats, such as jumping from a motorcycle to a truck going in opposite directions. The entire character of Bourne is different to the character in the original trilogy.
Read the others (which really are all fantastic books), and just forget this.
This isn't a continuation of the Bourne series, it's just tripe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A New Jason Bourne Is Born, 18 Oct 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
If you expect a classic Robert Ludlum Jason Bourne book or a classic Eric Van Lustbader ninja delight, you will be very disappointed with this book. The Bourne Legacy doesn't fit well into either camp.
If you are willing to forget that you have ever read about Jason Bourne or anything else by Eric Van Lustbader, you will probably find this to be a relatively pleasing page-turner of an action novel.
The book shifts in a number of ways from the prior ones. First, this Jason Bourne is always reacting . . . and a little too late. Second, he's vulnerable both physically and emotionally. Third, he unrealistically recovers form serious injury time and time again to take even more abuse. He's sort of like a silly putty man in that sense. You toss him away and he bounces back quickly. Fourth, his long-time co-characters all but disappear. Fifth, an important new character is introduced, Khan, whom you will probably either like a lot of hate a lot. I leave it to you to decide.
Clearly, this book looks like it is intended to launch a whole series of novels based on the events in it. If you think you might like to see an action hero develop in a different way, give the book a try. If you want more of what you've had in the past, avoid this book.
Good hunting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Simplistic, dull, predictable., 9 Mar 2006
I bought this book having hugely enjoyed the earlier Bourne novels. Whilst I finished this book I was several times tempted to bin it and give up. The plot was pathetic, unrealistic and predictable. Bourne has turned into an emotionally incontinent wimp and the story had none of the depth and imagination of the Ludlum books.
Avoid it like the plague if you are a fan of the original books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shameful, apalling book - No Stars, 15 Aug 2004
I was a bit worried that when I bought this it was gonna be bad and boy was I right. Its a shameless cash-in on the previous books and the the movies, and tarnished what was one of the best thrillers series ever written. Its hard to know where to begin - firstly Jason Bourne fans wont recognise Eric VL's Jason Bourne - everything he does seems to be down to luck. The combat scenes are terrible - doubly so coming from the man who wrote the Ninja books. The author never manages create a single moment of emotion, whether its tension or excitement.
Marie doesnt make a appearance neither do any of the other central characters that make up the bourne universerve. The prose is turgid and makes you glad to get to the end.
In short this is a terrible cash in from an author who should have known better and whose best writing is obviously years in the past. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 1 star because there is no 0 rating, 24 Feb 2006
By A Customer
In two words, don't bother. I picked this up having seen ROBERT LUDLUM on the front cover, a closer look spells out what it really is - LUDLUM'S! This peice of tripe does not deserve to be in the Bourne series. The first two are great and made me want to read all Ludlum had done, the third disappointed but is still worth reading for fans.
Lustbader's writing style is no comparison to Ludlum, was he trying to emulate the style of the previous three? was he trying to copy it or mix it with his own? I got a third of the way through the book and just couldn't be bothered with the rest. This is why it doesn't deserve the Ludlum name on the front.
Don't bother buying it, it is truly awful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Legacy, 2 Sep 2004
Any Bourne or Ludlum fan will be seriously dissappointed with this travesty of a book.
This is a badly written effort that displays no appreciation for the Ludlum character whatsoever. I suspect that Lustbader has not even read the original trilogy.
The writing itself does not attempt to emulate Ludlum's style; no bad thing perhaps, but when coupled to the failure to relate to the Ludlum characters serves only to emphasize that this is no Ludlum.
I believe there is a case for action under the Trades Description Act. This is not Ludlum's Bourne as it states on the cover.
If you are a Ludlum fan, leave this strictly alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An abrupt change to the Bourne Series, 17 Jan 2006
By 
Mr. J. WARE "wolvieware" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Long time readers of Ludlum's Bourne books may find this book a bit of a curiosity, but not really have much to do with any of the previous books. Newcomers reading to Bourne may find this book more entertaining, without having, or indeed needing, the backstory baggage of the previous three novels.
Legacy is a very slick, action packed thriller. It's glossy with massive action scenes and stunts, coupled with a thin storyline. But Bourne wasn't meant to be a James Bond style spy. The previous Bourne novels were down and dirty, gritty and violent. Rugged street brawls, not smooth fighting. This is where long time fans might get turned off, but if you can overlook that then it's a surprisingly decent read.
Of course, you will have to suspend disbelief. It doesn't have a realism to it that the books used to have. Here, characters survive long falls, motorbike crashes, and escape from lifts that are plumetting to the ground. Reality? None whatsoever. But, again, look past that, and it can be entertaining.
Lustbader has taken over writing duties after Ludlum died, and his writing style is so obviously different. The storyline is very streamlined (being the shortest of all the Bourne books), and it is also very simple. Some terrorists want to strike out at an anti-terrorist summit. That's a big leap of imagination! But an added spin comes in teh fact that Bourne has to stop them after having been framed for the death of two major characters from Ludlum's books.
That's another niggling factor. The only character that long time readers will recognise is Bourne. All the other characters we used to know off by heart have gone. Maybe Lustbader wanted to start with a clean sheet, but it is disappointing. He also seems to have trouble going into detail about Bourne. We get a cookie-cutter idea of Bourne, mostly borrowed from the previous novels. He is not very interesting, and never feels to be in control.
However, Lustbader's own characters are far more interesting, with rich backstories and developments. Most interesting is the story of Khan, that unfolds throughout the novel, and provides some of the more emotional content in the book. He holds a surprising secret...
Zina is another character who was fun to read about. Sparky and fiesty, she gave an insight into the terrorists side of things.
Still, when it comes down to it, this novle bucks the Bourne trend too much to be a real part of the series. While enjoyable on its own terms, it never strikes as a real continuation of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Legacy (JASON BOURNE)
Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Legacy (JASON BOURNE) by Eric Van Lustbader (Paperback - 4 Feb 2010)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews