Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good quality action adventuring
This is a sequel to his last book `The Last Templar' and finds our intrepid hero Sean Reilly and his heroine Tess Chaykin off on another adventure in search of old manuscripts. These had been in the keeping of the Templars in the 1200's and had disappeared, their fate unknown until a Turkish professor Behrouz Sharifi found a letter hidden in the binding with clues that...
Published on 17 Feb 2011 by Mark H

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to the normal standard
I always thought of Raymond Khoury being a significant upgrade on Dan Brown, with his twists and turns being better thought out and having more of a sense that his books are considering their audience, sadly this trend seems to have been reversed with the Templar Salvation. I personally found this book to have far too much of a screenplay feel, that coupled with...
Published on 6 Feb 2011 by Chris Chalk


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to the normal standard, 6 Feb 2011
By 
Chris Chalk "Chris" (Croydon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Templar Salvation (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I always thought of Raymond Khoury being a significant upgrade on Dan Brown, with his twists and turns being better thought out and having more of a sense that his books are considering their audience, sadly this trend seems to have been reversed with the Templar Salvation. I personally found this book to have far too much of a screenplay feel, that coupled with characters that I struggled with empathising with made the whole novel just feel a little flat compared to his other work.

Although I wasn't totally blown away by his previous novel, The Sign, I was really impressed in how it introduced something a little left field, something I hadn't considered in literary narrative but everything about the Templar Salvation screamed "been there, done that" and frankly I expect better from someone I admire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I Templari c'entrano sempre!, 5 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Templar Salvation (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Khoury's book opens in 13th century Constantinople with the armies of the fourth crusade laying siege to the city. A small band of Templars infiltrate the the imperial library and make away with 3 chests laden with documents which have the potential to rock the foundations of the Christian faith to their very core.

Fast forward to the present day where FBI agent Reilly who, in order to rescue his girlfriend Tess, is co-erced into breaking into the Vatican's Secret Archives by a phsycopathic Iranian agent who is determined to retrieve the lost works for himself.

What follows is a reasonably enjoyable romp around the Vatican and the near East, as Reilly and Tess race against their adversary to uncover the location and nature of the lost treasure. It's bloody and fast-paced with the action split between the thirteenth century and the present day. Whilst it's generally good fun, I found it all just a tad too implausible for my liking - with an FBI agent leaving in his wake a trail of destruction and a bodycount that would strain the most cordial of diplomatic relationships, not to mention the ridiculous ease with which clues, seven centuries old, are located and unearthed fantastically intact. It's probably not going to win any literary awards but having said that, if you're looking for a holiday read with which to whittle away those tedious in-flight hours - you probably can't go too far wrong with this!

* The Templars have something to do with everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good quality action adventuring, 17 Feb 2011
By 
Mark H (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Templar Salvation (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a sequel to his last book `The Last Templar' and finds our intrepid hero Sean Reilly and his heroine Tess Chaykin off on another adventure in search of old manuscripts. These had been in the keeping of the Templars in the 1200's and had disappeared, their fate unknown until a Turkish professor Behrouz Sharifi found a letter hidden in the binding with clues that could lead to the hiding place of the manuscripts. Of course there is an evil enemy who is also looking for the manuscripts which he hope will destroy Christian beliefs worldwide and discredit Western governments. He has an understandable hatred for their actions as they destroyed his family. Good, solid basis for an entertaining adventure novel.

The adventures of our intrepid duo take them to the secret archives of the Vatican City to find a hidden document for more clues. These lead to Istanbul and beyond and finally lead to cave dwellings of Cappadoccia in hidden valleys in Turkey, in the usual harum scarum manner of these books. I think most readers of these sorts of novels can see the endings some way off but the enjoyment is in the journey there. Like his other novel Khoury makes this a particularly enjoyable and entertaining, if a little unbelievable, trip. Perfect getting away from it all entertainment if that is what you are in the mood for.

Apart from the unbelievable daredevil actions of Reilly and Tess I enjoyed the book which slipped from 1200 and 1300s to modern day. Raymond Khoury has clearly researched the historical and geographical information he has written in this book and it does give one food for thought about all the manuscripts that are hidden concerning the foundations of the Christian religion. It is this attention to detail that for me takes Khoury a step above the average adventure novelist and makes it easier to put up with the the impossible action sequences as an occasional diversion from the deeper stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Rip-Roaring Romp, with Cutting Questions on Christianity, 6 Oct 2011
By 
A. K. Johnston "(www.andrewj.com/books)" (LEATHERHEAD United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Templar Salvation (Paperback)
This is an excellent adventure story, which quickly engages the reader and holds the attention through 500 action-packed pages. At the same time, it raises some thought-provoking observations on how Christianity has evolved, and how the dogma of major religions reflects political rather than spiritual necessities.

When I started the book I was a little bit trepidatious to be reading yet another tale of secrets from the Knights Templar being exposed in modern times. This fashionable seam of subject matter must be close to being worked out, and it's a credit to Khoury that he has managed to extract another fine adventure, even if there are times when the echoes of his earlier book are perhaps a bit obvious, especially in the nature of the revealed secrets, the historical narrative and the watery denouement. Even if there may be scope for a third outing for the central characters, it needs to be against a different backdrop.

Refreshingly Khoury avoids making his heroes into supermen, but the same is not quite true of his villains, all of whom seem to be well-resourced single-minded psychopaths one step ahead of the good guys. A bit more variety there would also help.

Khoury writes well, much better than Dan Brown or some of his other competitors, and the book never lost my focus or interest. The action is well paced, with occasional explosive sequences of high drama. These feel slightly like the the author has an eye on the future film script, but are plausible and reasonably easy to follow. However as much as the action I enjoyed his observations on the formalisation of Christianity by the Romans under Constantine, and the extension of these ideas into yet more possible roles for the mysterious Knights Templar.

This is a thoroughly enjoyable book, with a bit more depth than some others of its genre. I just hope that the author now has the courage to develop a bit more subject matter variety for his excellent writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lost me pretty early, 7 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. A. Mcgregor "Alex" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Templar Salvation (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have read a lot about the Templers, both fiction and history books. I was looking forward to this book and hoping for a tense thriller with lots of twists and action. In many ways it did deliver. There certainly was lots of action, and at times the writing was griping. The trouble is that the good bits just weren't there enough, and the characters simply were simply to boring for me to keep coming back to this book; it took me a long time to finish. It is by no means a dreadful book, but I can't honestly recomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Runs out of steam, 16 Dec 2010
By 
Andy Edwards "staxasoul" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Templar Salvation (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In the second of his Templar books, Khourry revisits a familiar theme, and just like the previous book, the results are a mixed bag. This is a schizophrenic book in some ways. Opening as an action thriller, kidnap, bombings, chases, fight scenes all pile on top of one another before there is any real clue as to why - so far so good then, you want to know what this is about, so you can probably ignore the more outrageous elements (and there are a few).

Once the reason for all the mayhem becomes clear and the chase begins to beat the baddie to the "treasure", it all starts to unravel. The underlying 13th century story is so complex that the author has been forced to include large sections of what are essentially academic explainers to make sure you are keeping up.

These are interspersed with more action scenes, only some of which are convincing, before a denouement which manages to combine a wholly unlikely end to the search, a run through Turkish history and a scene in an aeroplane which defies belief (I won't spoil it if you want to read it but I laughed out loud at the sheer impossibility).

My advice to the author would be to decide what sort of a book he wants to write - an academic text or a thriller as this convinces as neither.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my kind of good read, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar Salvation (Paperback)
Great author, am so looking forward to reading it when I get the chance, hopefully when have done all the christmas shopping!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 18 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Templar Salvation (Paperback)
Very good as you'd expect from an ex news man. I am not sure how-ever, if you picked it up as a one off if it would make-sence, as a book. You would have to have-some knowledge of the subject. So should be linked as in vol 2 or 3. In my most humble opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Something missing, 27 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Templar Salvation (Paperback)
It maybe that I have read far too many of these religious thrillers but this one just didn't do it for me. The story itself is not bad and I found the flash back part of the story to be the most interesting. However Tess came across as selfish and demanding. Considering she is supposed to have a child at home that fact didn't have an impact when she was going after what she wanted. I found Sean to be a bit weak and gave in to Tess far too easily. The bad guy was too extreme for my taste and it wasn't 100% clear whether he was out for revenge for himself or if someone else was pulling the strings. Finally you were left to wonder what was contained in these books that had been hidden for so long because the author didn't reveal it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good reading, 28 Jun 2013
By 
A. Ferguson (St. Helens . England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar Salvation (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading this book because it caught my imagination, it was a very good story which interested me with plenty action in it . I would recommend it to anyone who likes this type of story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaae16d5c)

This product

The Templar Salvation
The Templar Salvation by Raymond Khoury (Paperback - 29 Sep 2011)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews