Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darkest Fear - A criminally good read!
Harlon Coben, is for me, a recently-discovered writer and, after only one book, "Darkest Fear". This story gave me hours of delight as I allowed the outside world to be "put on hold" whilst I was led through a weave of unexpected twists and turns in this pacy thriller.
Myron Bolitar is charged with the search for an anonymous donor who has mysteriously disappeared;...
Published on 19 Aug 2003 by Christina

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Laughing in the Face of Misery
I like my private investigators to look fear in the eye and reply to its threats with a pithy quip. The light hearted gumshoe has been a staple of my crime fiction diet ever since I picked up the works of Robert B Parker and Robert Crais. Another author who played with the comedic PI is Harlan Coben; before he was serious crime man, he had created and released several...
Published on 31 Oct 2011 by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darkest Fear - A criminally good read!, 19 Aug 2003
Harlon Coben, is for me, a recently-discovered writer and, after only one book, "Darkest Fear". This story gave me hours of delight as I allowed the outside world to be "put on hold" whilst I was led through a weave of unexpected twists and turns in this pacy thriller.
Myron Bolitar is charged with the search for an anonymous donor who has mysteriously disappeared; without this bone-marrow match, the life of a young boy is at stake. Events quickly develop into a cat-and-mouse game when a kidnapping takes place and Myron is caught up in an FBI investigation. Myron's plight in this story is made even more compelling by family links to the events as they unfold.
The book works well on two levels - one, the reader has the suspense and uncertainty of a twisty plot and two, the author puts the conflicts faced by Myron in the context of the emotional turmoil he is under due to the human relationships involved. The author has given a detailed delineation to create a believable character who is capable of carrying out a wide range of emotions and actions with credibility for the reader. There are also some excellent touches of humour in the book to add light relief to the more serious, twisty plot.
On starting the book I didn't realise that this is one of a series of Myron Bolitar stories, but it does work very well as a stand-alone novel. However, reading this story resulted in another visit on-line at Amazon to buy more of Harlan Coben's novels!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Laughing in the Face of Misery, 31 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Darkest Fear (Paperback)
I like my private investigators to look fear in the eye and reply to its threats with a pithy quip. The light hearted gumshoe has been a staple of my crime fiction diet ever since I picked up the works of Robert B Parker and Robert Crais. Another author who played with the comedic PI is Harlan Coben; before he was serious crime man, he had created and released several books starring Myron Bolitar; Sports Agent and investigator. Bolitar is a light hearted character who hides his fear under brashness and a sense of humour, however, when you are investigating the disappearance of a bone marrow donor that could lead to the death of a 13 year old boy - is comedy acceptable?

`Darkest Fear' is a transitional book for Coben as it marks his move away from lighter crime action into the darker realms that have made him an even more successful writer. When you are dealing with an evil serial killer and dying child, the idea of making jokes no longer works and therefore Bolitar struggles in this book. He laughs in the face of fear, but he also has to laugh at his Dad's heart attack, a dying child and 4 missing people. Like some of the later Elvis Cole novels, the once happy go lucky Bolitar cannot exists successfully in such a dark novel.

If a more generic alcoholic ex-cop had been airlifted into `Darkest Fear' the book would have been more conventional and worked slightly better. As it is the tone shifts from the dark to the light with each flippant remark. The story itself is an interesting one, making the book worth reading. It would be another 6 years before Coben returned to the character of Bolitar, as if he knew he was running out of steam. A decent read for the character's fans, but not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Coben Cracker!, 1 Feb 2004
By A Customer
For anyone who has read any of Harlan Coben's previous Myron Bolitar novels this is the next in a long line of exceedingly good reads. For those who want to check out for the first time why critics and fans alike are raving about Harlan Coben then this is definitely the book for them.
Whether you have already met the characters or are being introduced for the first time, Coben makes it easy for the reader. There is always enough information for the first-time reader to follow where the main characters have come from and what they are about but never too much to put off the veteran.
The storyline has many twists and turns, not too many to confuse, but enough to make you think you've worked out what will happen next... but unless you've already skipped a few pages ahead, you will almost certainly have guessed wrong.
This is definitely a book that once you've started reading you'll find it very difficult to stop. Reach the end of a chapter, check the watch, you'll be guaranteed to decide that you've still got a few more minutes and can read one more chapter. Before you know it, it will be 2 a.m. and you still won't want to put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great Myron adventure, 25 Feb 2008
By 
lmhh (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With the Myron Bolitar series Coben manages to walk a difficult tightrope by keeping the books similar enough for them to feel wonderfully familiar but different enough so that you don't feel as if you are reading the same book over and over.

In Darkest Fear Myron Bolitar, sports agent, has to grow up a little and decide what level of involvement he wants in the life of the son he has just discovered he has - which is new ground. At the same time, he is re-evaluating his relationship with his own aging parents but this is not as heavy as it sounds, and the interaction with his parents creates some fine comic moments. As does the presence of Myron's psycho friend Win, always a welcome element in the novels. At the same time, the subject matter of bone marrow transplants and Myron's complicated love life give the novel some emotional complexity making it a rounded story, and one with sufficient depth to keep you interested.

A treat for both fans of the Bolitar series, and those who haven't come across him before. Recommended read for anyone who enjoys a good crime novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FANTASTIC READ THAT CONTINUOUSLY SURPRISED ME!, 17 Sep 2001
By A Customer
DARKEST FEAR by Harlan Coben is not only the newest "Myron Bolitar" novel, but also the first in the series that I've read. I got hooked on Mr. Coben's writing when I read his newest hardcover, TELL NO ONE, which knocked me right out of my little white bobby socks. It was so good that I decided to go back and read his previous novels, all of which center around ex-basketball player, now sports agent and sometimes private detective, Myron Bolitar. Since I tend to start backwards when beginning a new series, I naturally picked DARKEST FEAR to read first. So, go figure. Anyway, in this novel Myron discovers that he's a father. It seems that on the night before his ex-girlfriend, Emily Browning, was to marry his college basketball rival, he and she did the two-bear mambo (uh, sorry, Joe!), and the son she produced was a product of his genes, rather than that of her new husband's. Though a little shocked and surprised, Myron finds that he can deal with it. The problem, however, is that Emily's son, Jeremy, is slowly dying from a disease called Fanconi anemia and desperately needs a bone marrow transplant to live. A donor, who was a perfect match for the transplant was found, but then suddenly disappeared. Emily wants Myron to track down the missing donor. Enlisting the aid of his closest buddy, Windsor Horne Lockwood ("Win" for short), plus long-time friends Esperanza Diaz, Big Cyndi, and Zorra, Myron begins the hunt for the man who could save his son's life. What should be a relative breeze in the park for this gang of amateur sleuths turns into something deadly serious when the "Sow the Seeds" serial killer comes out of hiding to warn Myron off. Exactly what a serial killer has to do with a bone marrow donor is a question Myron intends on answering. If that isn't enough, he's also being stonewalled by the Lex family (billionaires who guard their privacy with extreme measures) and warned to desist in his attempt to locate a missing family member. Myron certainly has his work cut out for him, but with Jeremy's life hanging in the balance, he's not about to let anybody get in his way or prevent him from finding the donor. He'll do whatever it takes to save his son. I have to admit that DARKEST FEAR really surprised me. I wasn't the least bit sure that I'd enjoy it. Instead, I found myself hooked in the first chapter or two, curious as to where the story was leading, enjoying the character of Myron Bolitar, along with his wild bunch of cohorts. Mr. Coben kept me guessing right up till the end with his meandering twists and turns-first going in one direction, then switching gears and heading in an entirely different direction. I have to say that the character of Win came pretty close to stealing the show. He's definitely someone I want to find out more about. Maybe it has to do with his martial arts ability, or possibly his inability to take anything seriously. Whatever it is, I'm drawn to this rather unusual character. I'm also happy to say that sports has very little to do with the story. If your lack of interest in sports has been the only thing holding you back from reading a "Myron Bolitar" novel, then forget about it and pick up this book or one of the others in the series. The writing is excellent, the plot holds you in its vice-like grip till the last page, and the characters are some of the most unusual ones that I've ever encountered in the "mystery" genre. I'm already trying to decide whether to read THE FINAL DETAIL or ONE FALSE MOVE next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 5 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think that this is the third or fourth book of Harlan Cobens' that I've read, and they've all been interesting and flowing. The plot thickens and thins and then thickens again with surprising twists. I've bought two at the airport because I knew that I would have a good read on holiday if needed, and I wasn't disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Darkest Fear, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not his best, as I was really looking forward to reading this book. I have loved all his other novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Classic Thriller from the Author, 28 July 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Harlan Coben continues to prove that he is one of the best thriller writers around at the moment. A page turner is a much used phrase but in this case it is really appropriate. The author's books are always so well structured and his character's well rounded. He is obviously comfortable with his style and ability and this transmits itself to the reader making the reading of his books sheer pleasure from start to finish. Coben has now got a string of best selling crime novels behind him and all I can say is that I hope he continues to write for many years to come. The author lives in New Jersey with his wife and four children.

Myron Bolitar, ex-professional sportsman and currently a sports agent still has quick reflexes, but he never saw this one coming. His ex-girlfriend turns up with news that stuns Myron. Her son, Jeremy is dying and needs a bone-marrow transplant. The donor has vanished without trace. But what she tells him next is the punch that almost brings him to his knees, the boy is Myron's son, conceived the night before his ex girlfriend married another man.

Stunned by the news, Myron pulls out all the stops in the search for the missing donor, but the deeper he digs the darker the mystery becomes and doubts begin to emerge about Jeremy's true paternity . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Coben on Top Form as Myron Bolitar returns., 5 Aug 2014
By 
rocky (Wokingham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the best Myron Bolitar thrillers yet. All the old characters are here; Win, Esperanza etc

An old flame asks for Myron's help in tracing a bone marrow donor for her critically ill son. He is reluctant to get involved but the first twist, a fairly obvious one, locks him in. The trail twists and turns in various directions but the end twist is certainly worth waiting for. Brilliant. Coben at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All you expect from Harlan Coben, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent thriller with the typical Coben twists combined with the humour of the Myron Bolitar character. One that you don't want to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Darkest Fear
Darkest Fear by Harlan Coben (Paperback - 28 May 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews