Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back, Myron ' we missed you
There are two sides to the Coben portfolio : one features Myron Bolitar, the other doesn't. This is my seventh novel by the great man and of course I'm here to pass on the message that everyone already knows, which is that if you want to read the best that Coben can offer, stick with Myron. Over the six year period since his last escapade, we have been presented with lead...
Published on 4 July 2006 by OEJ

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was ok...just ok
My review is going to be completely different from others on here. I have read a few of Harlan Coben's books, and this one disappointed me slightly.
First off it took a few chapters for me to actually get into the storyline. This is unusual for me.
Secondly, i didnt find the story gripping enough compared to his other books that i have read. I have read a...
Published on 6 Oct 2007 by L. Thomas


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back, Myron ' we missed you, 4 July 2006
By 
OEJ - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Promise Me (Hardcover)
There are two sides to the Coben portfolio : one features Myron Bolitar, the other doesn't. This is my seventh novel by the great man and of course I'm here to pass on the message that everyone already knows, which is that if you want to read the best that Coben can offer, stick with Myron. Over the six year period since his last escapade, we have been presented with lead characters such as Will Klein in Gone for Good, Matt Hunter in The Innocent and Dr Marc Seidman in No Second Chance, but none have been so readable, durable and plain enjoyable as sports-agent-cum-amateur-sleuth Myron Bolitar.

Promise Me is, as usual, full of such highly colourful characters that it's almost like reading a comic. Myron himself is relatively normal, but you can't say the same about his friends, family and accomplices Win, Esperanza, Big Cyndi, Zorra and El-Al, nor some of the baddies conjured up such as the 'very bad hombres' known simply as The Twins. (If Win warns you they're bad, that means bad bad) The central theme of the story is parent-teenager relationships and how variously most of the characters in this book act them out. There's a fair slice of violence of course, which often tends to happen when Win's around, but there are also regular helpings of humour and romance. You could accuse Coben of trying to please all of the people all of the time with such an all-bases-covered approach, but he gets away with it. And it's true to say that he does keep you guessing until the last page.

Much as I enjoyed the story, and in particular the way it was told, I can't help but feel that it's somewhat forgettable. When I look at this title in a year or two I can imagine myself thinking "Great book, I really loved it" followed a moment later by "What was it about again?" Maybe it's just my weakening memory, but although I regard Darkest Fear (another Myron Bolitar outing) as a better read than Promise Me, I can't remember what it was about! Is this what they call popcorn writing? Whatever the answer, Harlan Coben has a deservedly huge fan club and the next time that Myron features, I'll place my order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars award-winning author Harlan Coben has revived his most enduring character, 20 Dec 2007
This review is from: Promise Me (Paperback)
Myron Bolitar, and breathed fresh life into the sports agent- turned-detective with this slick, fast paced thriller that is guaranteed to satisfy from the moment the novel is opened.
Everything that a Crime fiction reader could ever possibly want is within the pages of this book. The dialogue is Connelly-esque in its tightness and holds such a natural rhythm that the reader becomes a virtual eavesdropper. The descriptive prose has been so vividly drawn, it is as though we have been invited to come along for the ride and so can "see" where we are and what is about to transpire.

As for the characters, good and bad alike, well, it's like meeting with old friends - or running into old enemies - such are the feelings that are stirred. The theme of the novel is simple - as it usually is with the best of novels - and, here, is delivered and adhered to with such clear mindedness that when the denouement arrives, it is not so much as a surprise but more a physical shock to the system.

Harlan Coben has now written eight Myron Bolitar novels and this is as good a place to start as any if you've not read any of the others. The blanks in the back-story are filled in with out being heavy handed, whilst the peripheral characters have all been drawn with such attention to detail, the reader wants to know what they have been up to in the interceding six years as much as they do about Myron. This indeed is a welcome return of a well-defined hero and Harlan Coben can expect to roundly applauded from all quarters for doing so at long last!!! Also, if you missed reading Tino Georgiou's masterpiece--The Fates, go and read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Back, Myron!, 15 April 2007
By 
This review is from: Promise Me (Paperback)
Coben had given Myron Bolitar, Win, Esperanza and co a break and has focussed on 'one off' thrillers like 'Just One Look' and 'Tell No One'. But now Myron is back!

I have to say that 'Promise Me' was much more like one of his recent thrillers but with Myron as the central character - his MB SportsRep (now MB Reps as he represents actors as well) clients are no longer the key characters.

It was nonetheless, like all Coben books (Myron and non-Myron) very enjoyable. Certainly not his best but suspensful, witty and fast paced if a bit dubious plot wise. I like the way that HC develops his characters - Myron always comes out on top but not without self doubts, personal flaws, goofy smiles and the fact that he lived with his parents well into his 30s!

Coben's books are so easy to read - I finished this in two days - before seeing this I was (and still am) really struggling with Atlantis by David Gibbons.

I'm looking forward to the next book having read the one chapter teaser at the end of this. Its great to have Myron and co back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back Myron - we missed you, 9 May 2007
By 
OEJ - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Promise Me (Paperback)
There are two sides to the Coben portfolio : one features Myron Bolitar, the other doesn't. This is my seventh novel by the great man and of course I'm here to pass on the message that everyone already knows, which is that if you want to read the best that Coben can offer, stick with Myron. Over the six year period since his last escapade, we have been presented with lead characters such as Will Klein in Gone for Good, Matt Hunter in The Innocent and Dr Marc Seidman in No Second Chance, but none have been so readable, durable and plain enjoyable as sports-agent-cum-amateur-sleuth Myron Bolitar.

Promise Me is, as usual, full of such highly colourful characters that it's almost like reading a comic. Myron himself is relatively normal, but you can't say the same about his friends, family and accomplices Win, Esperanza, Big Cyndi, Zorra and El-Al, nor some of the baddies conjured up such as the 'very bad hombres' known simply as The Twins. (If Win warns you they're bad, that means bad bad) The central theme of the story is parent-teenager relationships and how variously most of the characters in this book act them out. There's a fair slice of violence of course, which often tends to happen when Win's around, but there are also regular helpings of humour and romance. You could accuse Coben of trying to please all of the people all of the time with such an all-bases-covered approach, but he gets away with it. And it's true to say that he does keep you guessing until the last page.

Much as I enjoyed the story, and in particular the way it was told, I can't help but feel that it's somewhat forgettable. When I look at this title in a year or two I can imagine myself thinking "Great book, I really loved it" followed a moment later by "What was it about again?" Maybe it's just my weakening memory, but although I regard Darkest Fear (another Myron Bolitar outing) as a better read than Promise Me, I can't remember what it was about! Is this what they call popcorn writing? Whatever the answer, Harlan Coben has a deservedly huge fan club and the next time that Myron features, I'll place my order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Myron is back and better than ever (well, kind of), 26 April 2006
By 
This review is from: Promise Me (Hardcover)
I was very excited to learn that Mr. Coben was bringing back the character of Myron Bolitar after a long absence, that I order my copy months ago and was very happy to see it arrive a day before the publication date! After two nights of page turning thrills I am happy to say that it was worth the wait! Coben's characters and dialog are as sharp as ever. Myron is trying to be a good guy and has for the last 6 years. But when he over hears the teenage daughter of the woman he is dating talking to her friend about being driven home from parties by drunk and stoned friends, Myron makes her and her friend an offer. He tells the girls he will offer them a no questions asked taxi service to and from parties. The problems start for Myron when he drops off one of the girls at New Jersey cul-de-sac wear she claims her friend lives. The next day the parents of the girls report the girl as missing, and guess what?-Myron was the last person to see her alive! Poor old Myron is back in trouble again. The book takes off from here with Coben's trade mark style (and I do mean style) with plenty of twists, turns and suspense. Its an over used cliche, but this is a truly a page turner! If you like Coben's style I highly recommend you check out the thriller "A Tourist in the Yucatan."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Coben Tour de Force, 29 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Promise Me (Hardcover)
It's been a while since Harlan Coben produced a Myron Bolitar novel, but the wait is well worth it. It is great to have Myron, Win and gang back. After a couple of dodgy novels, Coben is back on form with a great story full of the trademark twists. In his acknowledgements Coben claims that he wanted to wait for a good idea before bringing Myron back. He hit gold with this one, because it is a gripping page-turner. If you take longer than two or three days to read this novel I'd be surprised!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Thriller Writers Around, 4 Aug 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Promise Me (Paperback)
Harlan Coben continues to prove that he is one of the best thriller writers around at the moment. A page turner is a much used phrase but in this case it is really appropriate. The author's books are always so well structured and his character's well rounded. He is obviously comfortable with his style and ability and this transmits itself to the reader making the reading of his books sheer pleasure from start to finish. Coben has now got a string of best selling crime novels behind him and all I can say is that I hope he continues to write for many years to come. The author lives in New Jersey with his wife and four children.

It has been an unsually quiet period for sports agent Myron Bolitar. In fact in the last six years very little has happened to take him out of his comfort zone. He has not taken a punch, fired a gun, in anger anyway, and his clients have managed to stay alive, a big plus in his line of work.

But of course nothing lasts forever. By trying to do the right thing and protect two neighbourhood teenage girls from the all too dangerous and common mistake of getting into a car with a driver who has been drinking, Myron has the girls promise him that if they are ever in trouble and afraid to call their parents, they should call him instead. Little does he know what he has let himself in for.

Sure enough several nights later a call comes through in the early hours and true to his promise myron picks up one of the girls and drop her in a quiet cul-de-sac where she says a friend lives. The following day the girl's parents discover their daughter is missing and Myron was the last person to see her . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is this Series Filmable, 26 July 2006
By 
Ian Paterson "exiledscotsman" (Newcastle Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Promise Me (Hardcover)
Suprised that after the success of the stand alone books that Coben should return to Myron Bolitar this time barely a mention of dealing with any sports clients and that perhaps makes this book a bit weaker than others in the series. It seemed more obvious when Myron got involved in the problem through a client. The initial link here is very weak. That said as soon as Win pops up kick off your shoes and just read on. I've often wondered if anyone would consider filmng some Coben books and although the stand alone books would probably work better it would be fun seeing who they cat in a Bolitar story. For some strange reason I keep seeing David Hyde Pierce fromn Fraiser as Win !!!!!.

The story rattles along and I was actually disapointed that the "Twins" didn't feature more they seemed like truly bad bad dudes.

Myron's new relationship just somehow didn't seem right and I wonder if Coben is setting this up for the next book where Myron goes looking for revenge ? or was he just trying to make Myron's character move on slightly

All said though it's another book that you will devour in a few hours and keep checking on line to see when the next Harlan Coben book will be released
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bolitar Returns, 28 May 2006
By 
Chris High "Chris H" (Wirral, Merseyside,England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Promise Me (Hardcover)
After a six-year hiatus, award-winning author Harlan Coben has revived his most enduring character, Myron Bolitar, and breathed fresh life into the sports agent- turned-detective with this slick, fast paced thriller that is guaranteed to satisfy from the moment the novel is opened.
Everything that a Crime fiction reader could ever possibly want is within the pages of this book. The dialogue is Connelly-esque in its tightness and holds such a natural rhythm that the reader becomes a virtual eavesdropper. The descriptive prose has been so vividly drawn, it is as though we have been invited to come along for the ride and so can "see" where we are and what is about to transpire. As for the characters, good and bad alike, well, it's like meeting with old friends - or running into old enemies - such are the feelings that are stirred
The theme of the novel is simple - as it usually is with the best of novels - and, here, is delivered and adhered to with such clear mindedness that when the denouement arrives, it is not so much as a surprise but more a physical shock to the system.
Harlan Coben has now written eight Myron Bolitar novels and this is as good a place to start as any if you've not read any of the others. The blanks in the back-story are filled in with out being heavy handed, whilst the peripheral characters have all been drawn with such attention to detail, the reader wants to know what they have been up to in the interceding six years as much as they do about Myron.
This indeed is a welcome return of a well-defined hero and Harlan Coben can expect to roundly applauded from all quarters for doing so at long last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another STOKING read, 2 Jun 2006
By 
A. King - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Promise Me (Hardcover)
Outstanding! I read it in 3 and a half hours because I simply could not put it down. As usual, it's Harlan Coben's characterisation that makes the novel; each character is so complete they're like real people and you feel as though you're in their world watching events unfold first hand. There are twists and turns every step of the way - right up to the final page - and you'll never see them coming. No crime writer even comes close to touching Harlan's books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Promise Me
Promise Me by Harlan Coben (Paperback - 19 Mar 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews