Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet 'Trunk' Music
Harry Bosch returns in this novel by Michael Connelly in what reads initially as his most straight forward adventure to date. A body has been discovered abandoned in the boot of a car, execution style. All indicators point towards a mafia-style hit and the victims connections to the seedier side of Las Vegas. However, Bosch knows that it’s the details that break...
Published on 8 Nov 2005 by Sam Tyler

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good 5'th Bosch novel.
Preferred the Concrete Blonde and Last Coyote but this is still a good staple plot from Connelly. The story follows the normal deception that we expect, with Bosch following obvious leads, upsetting Vegas Mafia, as well as Internal Affairs. This all unfolds with good detail of investigative procedure that takes the reader along Bosh's detective trail. Bosh also hooks up...
Published on 27 April 2008 by Clive


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet 'Trunk' Music, 8 Nov 2005
By 
This review is from: Trunk Music (Paperback)
Harry Bosch returns in this novel by Michael Connelly in what reads initially as his most straight forward adventure to date. A body has been discovered abandoned in the boot of a car, execution style. All indicators point towards a mafia-style hit and the victims connections to the seedier side of Las Vegas. However, Bosch knows that it’s the details that break the case and he feels it's going a bit too easily - is Harry right?
Bosch is a very dark character and in 'Trunk Music' I feel he is at his darkest yet. If he is not pointing a gun at someone’s face he is kneeing them in the stomach. Perhaps Connelly has gone a bit too far into this area of Bosch's character as its hard to feel sympathetic to a cop that busts heads - characters with arguably a similar mentality are depicted as White Supremacists!
'Trunk Music' is still a very good novel even with its dark nature. The story follows a more linear path than the earlier books but drops off with twists near the end. The book goes into more detail of how a crime is solved and I found this more technical approach interesting.
Not quite as good as some of the earlier novels in the series but still a worthy addition to the fold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great book, 24 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Trunk Music (Paperback)
This may not be Connelly's best, but the standard he has set is exceptional.
I concede the plot is very complicated and jumpy - but, hey, not all murder investigations are straight forward! I was certainly never lost, and Connelly gently moves towards a solution, even if there are some sideways off-shoots.
The story telling, descriptions and character portraits are as fantastic as ever. Bosch is a detective with plenty left in him, especially since Connelly takes time off with other characters.
The best Connelly I can recommend is "The Poet."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must be Considered a Tour de Force, Even For Connelly, 20 Dec 2009
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Trunk Music (Paperback)
"Trunk Music," an early novel by American mystery author Michael Connelly, is the fifth of the writer's Harry Bosch detective series that now numbers fourteen published works. That is, if you don't count in The Brass Verdict, a recent bestselling Mickey Haller-Harry Bosch novel. The series, Los Angeles-set police procedurals, looks at life on the "noir" side; Connelly is a former journalist, a crime beat writer for the Los Angeles Times, who certainly earned his spurs in murder while earning his daily bread. His recent standalones, The Scarecrow; "Brass Verdict," and The Lincoln Lawyer, have all been #1 New York Times Bestsellers. Crime Beat: A Decade of Covering Cops and Killers, a non-fiction collection of his journalism, was also a New York Times bestseller, as most of his previous standalones have been, too.

Connelly is a wonderful writer, my favorite among American mystery authors, and I've read all his books save "Scarecrow." (Like many other readers, I imagine, I prefer his series works to his standalones: like many other writers, his mysteries seem more powerful if they are filtered through the sensibilities of his detective protagonist.) At any rate, Connelly's plots drive like Mack trucks; furthermore, they are usually fresh, tight, riveting, complex. His narrative and descriptive writing is terse and witty, informed by his deep, accurate knowledge of police work, after several years on the cop shop beat. His dialog snaps. He explicates his love of jazz as he goes. And his mise en scene writing: well, it's heartfelt, written by a man in love with a city, and it's so precise that a stranger could find his way around LA with a few of his books as guides. His books clearly follow in the footsteps of earlier outstanding hardboiled Los Angeles authors Raymond Chandler and Ross Macdonald, but add the further ingredients of a police procedural, as they chart the career of Connelly's creation, LAPD Detective Bosch, assigned to Hollywood Homicide.

"Trunk Music," opens with Bosch coming back after a suspension: the first case he catches is that of Tony Aliso, Hollywood producer, found shot dead, execution style, in the trunk of his Rolls Royce Silver Cloud on Mulholland Drive. (The mob, whom everybody suspects of the murder, would describe it as a guy listening to trunk music.) Bosch just about proves it was a mob hit, I certainly believed him; then the detective realizes it can't have been. He comes up with another theory, that I again believed; he then demolishes that one too. The third proves the charm. The book also reintroduces Eleanor Wish, back from the "Black" books after losing her job with the Federal Bureau of Investigation for misconduct on the job, and going to jail. And it's unusually titillating for the serious Connelly, taking a guided tour through the sexual mores of the time. The book just has to be considered a "tour de force," that is, the author showing off a bit, he's so good. Furthermore, it is unusually resonant, and emotionally powerful, for the author, as it centers on the most important relationship known to man, that of mother and child.

If you've come to Connelly through his newer books, you really owe yourself this early one. It sets a benchmark he -- or anyone else--will not easily reach again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bosch gets his Wish, 30 May 2008
By 
OEJ - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Trunk Music (Paperback)
This is the fifth in the series built around L.A. homicide detective Harry Bosch, in my humble opinion the best of his kind in contemporary crime fiction. This particular episode isn't the best in the series I would concede, but it's still a well-written story and Bosch is such a magnetic and appealing character that his trials and tribulations are always good value for reading money. The essence of the tale is that a man has been found dead in the boot (trunk) of his own car and the murder bears the hallmarks of a mob assassination, as the victim is a known money-launderer for the Mafia with strong connections to Las Vegas organised crime. Immediately, Harry Bosch is assigned to the case to find out who did it and why. There are some twists and surprises on the journey.

There are two good reasons to pick out Trunk Music as landmark reads in the series, and those reasons are both female. First, this is the story that introduces us to Kiz Rider, who will play such a key role in future novels, and then there is Eleanor Wish, who appeared in Connelly's debut novel THE BLACK ECHO as an FBI agent but whose circumstances are very different five years on. The relationship between Wish and Bosch in this novel is appealing and shows a slightly different side to Harry's personality, but we see rather less into the mind of the slightly enigmatic Eleanor. The conclusion of their love affair (within the context of the story) is a little unconvincing, and if anything seems improbable. But this is nit-picking on my part, as the relationship is really just the 'love interest' aspect to a tale that is otherwise focused entirely on the investigation and which develops into another confrontation between Bosch and the Internal Affairs Department. It does puzzle me that for all Bosch's past successes in solving crimes spreading back 15 years, the IAD is constantly on his tail with a determination to have him ousted from the force at every opportunity. It makes for great reading though, and adds to the sense of pressure and tension.

This is another Connelly-Bosch book without conventional chapters by the way; instead the tale is broken up into a total of ten 'parts', some of them 100 pages long or more, so if you like to read in quick bursts then in the case of this novel you may need to plan it in advance. And if you are thinking of reading all of the Bosch stories, then don't miss this one, indeed I would recommend that you start at the beginning and read every single one - once again I would claim that there's no better crime fiction series than this one. In my opinion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring em on!, 29 Mar 2001
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trunk Music (Paperback)
Harry Bosch is a wonderful anti-hero and although he is bang up to date I get echoes of Raymond Chandler all over the shop here! I love these books. They are bleak, pessimistic, tired and shot through with an ennui for life. They are very much in the vein of James Ellroy as far as setting and mood go. Harry is up against it all roads up and the more complex the plot, the more corruption there is, the more I like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another great read..., 29 Dec 2008
By 
Big Bertha (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Trunk Music (Paperback)
In this, the fifth in the Harry Bosch series the book starts off with a body being found in the trunk of a Rolls Royce Silver Cloud high in the hills overlooked by the Hollywood Bowl. All indications seem to point to it being a Mafia hit. Identification of the victim and further investigation show him to have had connections with organized crime in Vegas.

Bosch is again doing what he does best, crossing the wrong people, rubbing everyone up the wrong way but coming through with a result. This time however he gets it wrong, more than once before getting it right, but that just makes him more believable as a character.

Internal Affairs are once again on Bosch's tail (seems where he goes they'll follow) and there's also an interesting mix of characters from the FBI (past and present), Organized Crime Intelligence Division, a new Lieutenant on the Homicide Division and a new addition to Harrys team, Kizmin Rider.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book, the twists kept coming right to the end and read it cover to cover in a couple of days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trunk Music, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great book from Michael Connelly. I can't wait to read the next one. Bosch is great a real bad, good guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars trunk music, 25 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
usual high Michael Connelly standard my favourite Connelly books are the Harry Bosch stories - dont kill him off Michael
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars usual m/conn cant put it down book, 11 Dec 2012
This review is from: Trunk Music (Paperback)
usual good read from connelly and twist in the tail always keeps u wanting to finish it but not wanting it to finish .would recomend it to any-one with a taste for murder and policing .really good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's done it again, 27 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trunk Music (Paperback)
Yet again Michael Connelly has written a highly believable novel full of suspense and a nice subplot of the human side of the detective and his personal life. Harry Bosch is a brilliant detective but a bit of a maverick. However, he is also a man with normal human feelings and failings and this makes the reader warm to him. As ever with this writer the plot twists through different stages tantalising and intriguing the reader, until all is revealed at the end. This is obviously a detective novel, but the human aspects give it more universal appeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trunk Music
Trunk Music by Michael Connelly (Paperback - 11 Jun 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews