Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book of the Year 2013
Review

When i get to the end of a book im always eager to sit and write the review, to express my opinion and feelings of the work i have just finished. I think this is probably the first time i have been intimidated by the process, worried that i didnt have the right words or the eloquence to do justice to the book.

Yes the book is simply that...
Published on 16 Mar. 2013 by Parm

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you like hokum, you might like this, if you don’t, you might not.
At the time of writing, Amazon want to know if reviews are from ‘verified purchases’. I shall show I have read the book by making references to the 2013 paperback edition.

And I quote from p119, “Laughing, he whipped the cork from the bottle and thrust it towards John, the sharp alkaline savour surging through his head like a shot, clearing...
Published 5 months ago by Roger-hedgehog


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book of the Year 2013, 16 Mar. 2013
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shakespeare's Rebel (Hardcover)
Review

When i get to the end of a book im always eager to sit and write the review, to express my opinion and feelings of the work i have just finished. I think this is probably the first time i have been intimidated by the process, worried that i didnt have the right words or the eloquence to do justice to the book.

Yes the book is simply that good.

I have read many stories where the authors love of the subject is clear in the telling of the story. But this time its more than that its a passion for the tale, for the time, for the people and for the subject. This passion leaps from every word, every utterance of every character the very bones and soul of the story.

The synopsis will tell you enough about the plot im certainly not going to spoil a single line of it for you. What my utmost desire is by writing this, is that you go and buy a copy. Because this story has it all; a love story, a family story, History, mystery and intrigue, passion, sex, plots, fighting, infighting, backstabbing...the list could go on and on. Its is the complete package.

A book this good comes along only rarely and deserves to hit the bestseller list.

Highest recommendation

(Parm)

London 1599, a city on the brink of revolution...

He is Queen Elizabeth's last, perhaps her greatest, love - Robert Deveraux, Earl of Essex. Champion jouster, dashing general...and the man that John Lawley, England's finest swordsman, most wishes to avoid. For John knows the other earl - the reckless melancholic - and has had to risk his life for him in battle one time too many.

All John wants is to be left alone to win back the heart of the woman he loves, be the kind of father that his son can look up to, and arrange the fight scenes for the magnificent new theatre, the Globe. To realise these dreams, John must dodge both Essex and his ruthless adversary for the queen's affections, Robert Cecil, and remain free to help his oldest friend Will Shakespeare finish the play that threatens to destroy him: THE TRAGEDY OF HAMLET.

But John is doomed by his three devils: whisky, women and Mad Robbie Deveraux. Despite every effort to evade the clutches of Elizabeth and her cohorts, John is soon enmeshed in the intrigues of court and dragged into the seemingly hopeless war in Ireland, forced to play his part in a deadly game of power and politics, conspiracy and rebellion.

From the scaffold of the Globe to the one in the Tower. From ambush in Ireland to even greater menace in Whitehall, John Lawley must strive to be - or not to be - the man who might just save England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent yet again, 15 Jun. 2013
By 
I. B. Pitbladdo "jacandian" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shakespeare's Rebel (Hardcover)
C. C. Humphreys is an automatic purchase for me, that's how much trust I put in his ability to entertain me. With 'Shakespeare's Rebel' he again proves worthy of that trust. The story is fast paced, exciting and peopled with engaging well realised characters. The central flawed hero John Lawley has an almost Flashman like ability to end up in the thick of the action while doing his utmost to avoid it. All he wants to do is return to worming his way back into the affections of his love Tess. In short, you get just about everything in this story: love, action, conspiracy, betrayal and a little black humour...highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SHAKESPEARES Rebel, 3 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shakespeare's Rebel (Hardcover)
I LIKED THE BOOK but was not as enamoured about it as I have been as the ones before , this author has written better books than this. The book did not grip me as others have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enriches as it entertains, 26 Dec. 2013
By 
This review is from: Shakespeare's Rebel (Hardcover)
I have read quite a few books by this brilliant author but Shakespeare's Rebel is my favourite; the skilful mix of historical and fictional characters in the London of 1599, within a story that mixes wonderful creativity with historical fact, gives the reader a true insight into England in the late Elizabethan era. It's a phenomenal book that entertains and enlightens in equal measure. Simply superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Encore Mr Shakespeare!, 24 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shakespeare's Rebel (Hardcover)
John Lawley is not Jack Absolute by any stretch, in fact I never really warmed to him, but CC Humphreys' sense of period and his knowledge of swords and Shakespeare mostly made up for that. At times I was more interested in the players than the plot, but I was keen to stay in his Elizabethan London, particularly if the players are once again involved!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 4 Feb. 2014
By 
Dave Graham "Dave" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shakespeare's Rebel (Hardcover)
I hadn't read historical fiction in a while when I picked up Shakespeare's Rebeland I have to say it was a great read on a number of levels. It's not the first book I've read by C.C. Humphreys , I 'd previously enjoyed The French Executioner but this far surpassed even that.

The author created a great sense of the London of Shakespeare's time from the filth, to the various street tableaus with the vendors etc., pedestrian crush and general haphazardness along with quite detailed descriptions of the geography of the city. From the start of the story, I liked John Lawley the hero but, again, he is skillfully drawn by the author in that you are drawn to like him but you're not unaware of his failings, most of all his selfishness and undependability - to read a character drawn this roundly is fantastic. The research and detail regarding swordplay is entertaining and educational without ever becoming a lecture on minutia that would be boring.

Beyond all this great stuff, though, there were two elements of the book which I particularly enjoyed. The first was how the capriciousness of the nobility, particularly Essex, Cecil and Elizabeth is portrayed - they all came across as totally ruthless and self-absorbed not caring how they treated their 'pawns' or what affect their decisions had on their lives. It is partially the way they treat Lawley that makes you sympathetic towards him.

The other great element of the book is how well the role the theatre played in society is portrayed and the implications this had for the principals involved such as the writers and actors. More than entertainment or soap opera, the theatre allowed the common populace to give vent to their feelings in relation to the affairs of the day. The theatre had the ability to enflame the passions of the crowd or to lance the boil.

I can't end the review without a quick word on two other items. The scene where Essex rushes back to London with the reluctant Lawley in tow and barges in on Elizabeth is brilliantly written, particularly the climax. And, finally, the author's note at the end of the book is well worth reading, entertaining in its own right and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Humphreys 'captures' the Elizabethans, 25 Jan. 2014
By 
Billy J. Hobbs "Bill Hobbs" (Tyler, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shakespeare's Rebel (Hardcover)
John Lawley really wants to be left alone—actually, there are three items on his “bucket list”—to win back the heart of the woman he loves, to be a great father to his son, and (and these two are important to theatre lovers!) to arrange fight scenes for the new Globe theater and to help his oldest friend Will Shakespeare finish the play that threatens to destroy him!

Yes, it’s Elizabethan England and in C.C. Humphreys’ “Shakespeare’s Rebel,” we find all the intrigue, drama, deceit, corruption, and even evil-doing in one fell swoop of a novel.

With Elizabeth’s fascination (attraction!) to the Earl of Essex (Robert Deveraux) occupying much of Her Majesty’s attention (she has lots of other things on her mind, too, of course). Essex seems to have no leash on his unfettered actions, much to the dismay and chagrin of many at court. What a mess he can be. And throw in “the troubles” with Ireland (will they never cease?), it’s a wonder Lawley (much less the Queen) can keep sane.

In facing all of these trials and tribs, Lawley also has his own demons in the form of whisky and women. What’s a poor Elizabethan man to do!

But what this reviewer perhaps found most fascinating were the bits and pieces of historical commentary from that period. Humphreys’ work could be scholarly, yet it reads—as it should—as a well-written, easy to follow novel. Lawley’s relationship with the Bard himself certainly creates much literary interest (Will “Hamlet” be completed and known as Will’s greatest work? Will it?). Suspense, period action, intrigue, drama—all add up to an excellent read. The play may be “the thing,” but this novel is worth the price of admission!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great main character in Lawley, 10 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shakespeare's Rebel (Paperback)
Superb read. Couldn't put it down. Great main character in Lawley, who would like nothing better than to act, be a husband and father and stage the fights in Shakespeare's plays, but who becomes an unwilling pawn in warring court factions represented by Robert Cecil, who oversaw the equivalent of an Elizabethean CIA, and the Earl of Essex, Elizabeth's ambitious favorite courtier. A good and believable presentation of Shakespeare as a character. and a satisfying description of the first staging of Hamlet. I've read many novels featuring Essex and his complicated relationship with Elizabeth and this novel's approach to their relationship is well done. I also appreciated the sense of being plunged into the glory, vigor, and danger of the Elizabethean world itself, where a misspoken word could easily land one in the Tower on a charge of treason, punishable by one of the goriest deaths ever invented, unless you were nobility, of course, and then you merely had your head removed.

.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book despite completely flawed description, 29 July 2014
By 
Larry Jeram-Croft (South Brent Devon UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For goodness sake. Once gain I am half way through a book and find out that it is in fact a long term continuation of some of this others. Not one clue to this in the 'product description' which is in fact a load of reviews from somewhere else. Excellent book good story but why oh why can't the publishers give the Kindle book a proper product description and tell us how it relates to his other work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars c c humphries i love you, thanks, 15 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shakespeare's Rebel (Paperback)
a long time since i enjoyed a book so much! it was just a joy, written with a great sense of humour and full of intrigue. the 'hero' is very funny and always in trouble. william shakespeare is his best friend and we are given an insight to the great man's character as seen by the author of course. i will be reading more by this author from now on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shakespeare's Rebel
Shakespeare's Rebel by C.C. Humphreys (Hardcover - 14 Mar. 2013)
£18.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews