Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good.
Some interesting twists and turns. One of my quickest reads yet, but that will be down to skipping large amounts of descriptive texts. I wasn't overly interested in the fine details of EVERY room. But enthral lying all
Published 10 months ago by Luke1984

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Forget it !
I bought this at the airport because it had Robert Ludlam's name emblazoned on the cover. I should have realised that something might not have been quite right when I noticed the price had been slashed by 50% !
This is not a Robert Ludlam book. This is not the Jason Bourne of Ludlam's earlier books. This book has been written ( I use the term loosely ) by Eric Van...
Published on 11 Dec 2009 by E.M.S


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Forget it !, 11 Dec 2009
I bought this at the airport because it had Robert Ludlam's name emblazoned on the cover. I should have realised that something might not have been quite right when I noticed the price had been slashed by 50% !
This is not a Robert Ludlam book. This is not the Jason Bourne of Ludlam's earlier books. This book has been written ( I use the term loosely ) by Eric Van Lustbader ?
The plot complicates itself up it's own backside from the outset, jumping from place to place all over the planet every few paragraphs without holding your attention for a minute.
Some books are 'un-putdownable' this one is sadly one of those books that you keep hoping will get better......it doesn't !
The style of writing after Ludlam's 1st classic trilogy, is amateur, cliche ridden, with needless adjective overkill oozing of every line ?
What a waste of time and money ! If this is the standard of the stories after the original trilogy.......Forget em !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars reasonable story appallingly written, 21 Oct 2009
The storyline is OK and pretty much what I expected and bought it for. However the author drove me to distraction with his schoolboy like efforts to make the story move along by introducing, for e.g., a quick reference to a characters past which means, miraculously, they can come out trumps in a difficult situation. I felt as though he had written to a semi-climax and through lack of forward planning couldn't then keep the storyline moving without resorting to elementary techniques.
Analogies throughout the book left me astonished that they could be so tortuously bad that they spoiled the description he was trying to make.
Finally his use of a thesaurus didn't impress. This could be the only way in which the author could have dredged up some very obscure words in an attempt to impress the reader with his vocabulary. Once may have been acceptable, throughout the book just left me asking 'what is he trying to prove'?
Overall so disappointing I am moved to write this my first ever review. If I hadn't been trapped in a tent with nothing else I would have binned the book long before the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter rubish, avoid it., 27 Mar 2010
This review is from: Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Deception (JASON BOURNE) (Paperback)
This is a cheap rip off of Robert Ludlum's Bourne series, clearly they wanted to cash in some more profit so dredge up this rubish author. Got half way into the book and bined it. Wish I had given up at page 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good., 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some interesting twists and turns. One of my quickest reads yet, but that will be down to skipping large amounts of descriptive texts. I wasn't overly interested in the fine details of EVERY room. But enthral lying all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An Appalling Read, 15 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. Stuart White "Stuart W" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Deception (JASON BOURNE) (Paperback)
I am a massive Jason Bourne fan and have complete respect for Robert Ludlum who writes a great book. This book is NOT written by Robert Ludlum, despite the pages of praise at the start of the book for Ludlum, it is written by Eric Van Lustbader and i thought it was completely appalling. It is poorly written and is not a Jason Bourne story in any way if you know the character and the Jason Bourne style. I found the book completely dishonest and a very poor read indeed, if you are expecting to read a Jason Bourne story or a continuation of the Bourne saga then you will be sorely disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Deception (JASON BOURNE) (Paperback)
as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fast-paced adventure, 17 May 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen Parkin (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Deception (JASON BOURNE) (Paperback)
#7 in the Bourne series. Jason continues to do several impossible things before breakfast, this time against his nemesis, the Russian assassin Arkadin.

Error p.8 "there are poweful elements in my government aligned with Iran because we (Russia) want their oil.."

Russia is usually the world's largest oil producer, some 10-11 million barrels a day and exports 70% either as crude or refined products. Woeful ignorance shown here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Still a good read, 6 April 2014
By 
Dave Mowbray (Sleaford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ending was left a little bit open but this won't stop me buying the next one, maybe that is the idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jason Bourne is so much better than James Bond, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great story line ,does tend to add a little to much detail about nothingness ,I always picture Matt Damon as Jason Bourne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Much of the same, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unfortunately, van Lustbader sticks to the same formula, and it is getting boring. By trying to keep a thread going through the series of novels, he has become repetitive, and the situations Bourne gets out of are becoming more and more far fetched. It is time to call it a day and stop milking the Ludlum connection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Deception (JASON BOURNE)
Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Deception (JASON BOURNE) by Robert Ludlum (Paperback - 4 Feb 2010)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews