Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantasic novel from the Sigma series......
....absolutely loved it. James Rollins goes from strength to strength. Each book is thoroughly entertaining with well written action sequences fitting of the best adventure thriller. The storyline is fast paced, with page turning action involving all the Sigma characters from earlier books.

In particular the section of the book which deals with the Doomsday...
Published on 3 Aug 2009 by M. W. Dransfield

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Hokum
If you've read any of James Rollins' previous books and hated it/them then I wouldn't bother picking up The Doomsday Key. This latest adventure featuring the men & women of SIGMA follows the same well worn template used for all of Rollin's previous books; namely some violent incident, this time involving the death of a priest in the vatican, leads to SIGMA uncovering a...
Published on 22 July 2009 by C. Green


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Hokum, 22 July 2009
By 
C. Green "happily low brow" (Quenington, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
If you've read any of James Rollins' previous books and hated it/them then I wouldn't bother picking up The Doomsday Key. This latest adventure featuring the men & women of SIGMA follows the same well worn template used for all of Rollin's previous books; namely some violent incident, this time involving the death of a priest in the vatican, leads to SIGMA uncovering a hidden conspiracy and at the same time solving some long hidden historical mystery. Stir in some pseudo-science to give it a pretence to factual accuracy, a bunch of treasures guarded by Indiana Jones-style traps and a series of action set pieces and you end up with a piece of OTT, often ridiculous but none-the-less hugely entertaining action adventure hokum. Nothing more and nothing less.

Assuming that you're a fan of such things and of Rollin's earlier books you'll probably find that The Doomsday Key, despite being entertaining, doesn't quite live up some of his previous efforts. Whilst it ends with an rapid fire, tense finale, the pace of the first two thirds of the book is slightly off and at times the story seems to slow to a crawl or meander badly. The central mystery isn't quite as compelling as it needs to be either and the main sub-plot, involving genetically modified crops, never really catches fire and then simply peters out. There are some great set pieces, such as a blizzard bound fight in the artic reaches of Norway, but they aren't enough to entirely rescue a book that needs to be punchier but gets weighed down with too much exposition.

Rollins also needs to move the whole 'Guild' story arc, that has run since the first Sigma novel, forward. I struggle to remember exactly what the Guild's primary motivation is at times. Its all very well keeping them as an ominous, mysterious, secretive and ruthless threat in the background for a few books but if we don't begin to find out more about them, how they're organised, who their members are, etc I'll begin to lose patience. For the threat to remain palpable they need to be more than a name and a bunch of expedendable mercenaries who get their comupance at the end of each novel. The Doomsday Key sketches in a few new details about SIGMA's main adversaries but leaves just as many questions unanswered.

So, if you're a Rollin's fan you'll no doubt enjoy The Doomsday Key despite its flaws. If you're new to the author I would recommend picking up Sandstorm or one of his earlier standalone novels before tackling this latest one. If you haven't liked any of his previous books then you're unlikely to enjoy this one either. Personally I liked it but I also know he can do much, much better...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantasic novel from the Sigma series......, 3 Aug 2009
By 
M. W. Dransfield (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
....absolutely loved it. James Rollins goes from strength to strength. Each book is thoroughly entertaining with well written action sequences fitting of the best adventure thriller. The storyline is fast paced, with page turning action involving all the Sigma characters from earlier books.

In particular the section of the book which deals with the Doomsday book in the Lake District is highly entertaining, as is the action sequence that takes place in the icy stretches of Norway. Pure escapism.

Managed to read this book in a very short space of time on holiday. As with all James Rollins books they seem to end far too quickly.

I would thoroughly recommed this book and this author. If you are new to Rollins then start with Sandstorm, the first in the Sigma series and take the very entertaining rollercoaster of a journey through all of the books, I promise you will not be dissapointed. A great book from a fantastic author. I would highly recommend this book.

So heres looking forward to the next one!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 22 Dec 2009
Other reviewers have already given a run-down on the plotline, so I won't go there. Instead I will just say that I loved this book. I think it's one of my favorite Sigma Force novels. If you enjoy stories that are fast-paced, filled with action and adventure and a bit of mystery, you'll enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy them all, 26 Jan 2010
By 
Andrew Whelton "corkboy" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i had never heard of James Rollins until i picked up SAND STORM in a second hand shop, i have since bought his whole library and throughly enjoyed every one of them . Doomsday Key is no exception ,fast paced and action packed it is as good as it gets! what an author .Cant wait for more new releases!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Sigmaficant story, 20 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doomsday Key (Sigma Force) (Paperback)
Yet again well written with plenty of corroberating facts that could be significant to a real story.
A wander around the world (again) with the usual charcters and the world yet again saved. couldn't put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant!, 22 May 2010
This review is from: The Doomsday Key (Sigma Force) (Paperback)
Having picked up The Doomsday Key last week, I've been barely able to put it down. My only previous experience of a Rollins novel has been Map of Bones but this new novel beats that hands down. I found the general plot idea, genetic manipulation of crops, fascinating and very well written. It's one of my own hobby-horses and I found the level of research gone into the book was pretty impressive.
I adore Rollins' Sigma Force characters and I can't wait for his next book to come out.
There are a lot of books of this nature on the market at the minute, and I've found some to be really very irritating (such as Steve Berry's Paris Vendetta) but The Doomsday Key is a refreshing change to what can become a stagnated genre.
Highly recommended for anyone who enjoys these kind of mystery novels with a twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too expensive, 6 Mar 2011
By 
Rhian (Abergavenny, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I know this states, 'price set by the publisher' however a price that is more than £2 above the paper back for an e book is unacceptable, this does not encourage use of kindle. This is an entertaining book, a shame about the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rollins does it again, 25 April 2010
By 
Mr. Ronald Carter (ss8 0nb UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Doomsday Key (Sigma Force) (Paperback)
The Doomsday Key,is another great book from Rollins,it gets a little confusing in the middle,but a short recap brings the story back in line.
It certainly travels around the world,and the knowledge of Ancient Egypt,is excellent,I recommend this too any reader interested in thriller and Ancient history.Thanks James,keep em coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars High Octane Adventure, 27 Aug 2009
This review is from: The Doomsday Key Intl (Paperback)
Another adrenalin charged action thriller from Sigma Force. Rollins combines real life mysteries of pre-Christian Celtic crosses, Egyptian Black Madonna's, prophecies of Popes, and the Doomsday book in a great adventure taking us from Rome to the English Lake District, Wales, Northern France, and the Norwegian Arctic. At the same time, Rollins ties in topical questions around genetically modified crops and their threat to influence world food supply and with that `the whole world'! The fiction is intense and pure escapism, but a lot of fun to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Scary Believeable but Ultimately too clever, 4 Aug 2009
By 
D. Newstead (Middlesex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rollins is back on form again with this great novel of population control mixed with conspiracies polar bears, ruthless assassins. Seichan the assassin from the Guild in the earlier books plays a bigger role and we still do not know whose side she is on. As for sacrificing someone as the book cover implies I fail to see who that was apart from a relatively minor character. At the end of the day a very convincing look at population explosion and how to control it to good or bad ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Doomsday Key (Sigma Force)
The Doomsday Key (Sigma Force) by James Rollins (Paperback - 21 Jan 2010)
£6.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews