Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Treading water
This is by no means the best of the Faraday/Winter series of books but it follows a very high standard set by the author over these last ten years or so.

To my mind, the previous novel has been the best so far. This one seems mired a little in the efforts made by the arch-criminal-turned-social-benefactor Bazza Mackenzie to set up a Trust for disadvantaged...
Published on 5 April 2010 by Michael Watson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but one coincidence too many
Really impressed with the way the principal characters have developed over the series and like the fact that Faraday is now not so much the main character. What has always worked has been the alternate Faraday and Winter chapters and also how the different themes interlink. Most of the book is up to usual standards but what spoilt it for me was one sub-plot thats timing...
Published on 14 Mar 2011 by A. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Treading water, 5 April 2010
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is by no means the best of the Faraday/Winter series of books but it follows a very high standard set by the author over these last ten years or so.

To my mind, the previous novel has been the best so far. This one seems mired a little in the efforts made by the arch-criminal-turned-social-benefactor Bazza Mackenzie to set up a Trust for disadvantaged children, most of whom seem to live in Portsmouth.

At the same time, there is the obsession with the police to bring him to justice, by any means they legitimately can. Naturally enough for this series, there is a murder to be solved, an increasingly disillusioned Faraday senses he is being put out to grass and the now DS Jimmy Scuttle plays an ever-increasing part in most of the investigations.

This is still a very good read. Character development continues, ex-DC Paul Winter is well to the forefront of his own investigations for, as usual, both he and Faraday are intent on doing their own thing, leading to the right result. In and amongst all this is the sudden and unexpected kidnapping of Bazza's grandson. Mix this with a deal gone sour in southern Spain, a cold case rape and attempted murder and Hurley brings all these strands together in his usual seemingly effortless way.

In this book, there is little of the interreaction of Faraday with his ex-lover, Gabrielle and son, J-J. The former has disappeared to Canada, the latter to London, leaving Faraday morose and uncomfortable. Add this to his perception of the state of the Country and one begins to feel for the man. There is goods news, though. Unfortunately, we're going to have to wait for the next book next year to see where that goes. What shall we do until then?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better and better, 18 Jan 2010
By 
C. Bones "surreyman" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Perhaps Graham Hurley won't see it this way but the fact that he continues to fall short of the public recognition he deserves is probably serving us readers well. We are on book 10 of the series and Mr Hurley continues to produce fine books that show no sign of flagging. And without that rushed feel that can happen to a series once author fame takes over from author craft.

So Beyond Reach is just another in a line of fine novels, as much about Pompey as they are about crime. In fact an earlier Hurley novel called Heaven's Light set in Portsmouth is hugely underrated but then so are all of his books.

A great police procedural then with great characters and a plot immersed in those mean streets of Portsmouth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent continuation of this series, 18 Jan 2010
By 
M. Collins (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the tenth book in Hurley's series starring Faraday and Winter and it retains the high standard of that series. I would not however recommend starting with this book if you have never read any of these, as much reference is made to action and characters from previous books, and the story stands better as part of the series than as an independent plot.
Hurley writes plots that are fundamentally credible, and his characters show weakness, vulnerability and sometimes poor judgement in a much more realistic way than most detectives. His prose is extremely well written and the plot moves on with good pace, but never at the expense of character or background colour. Hurley's world is full of shades of grey and he brings that out well in this book.
One day they might put some of these books on TV and they would then get the attention they deserve.
Until then, I would strongly recommend starting the series (with Turnstone) and working through it to get to this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite writers, 3 Mar 2010
By 
Bill Bell (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
Graham Hurley is one of my favorite writers. His Faraday and Winter novels are a true achievement. Not one bad book in this series and I hope there will be more. I can't get enough. They have all the ingredients that you whish for in a crime novel. They are well-written, convincing and with a sharp edge. The last one "Beyond reach" is nearly as good as the others. But I had some problem with this one. Firstly, the interesting story about the murdered boy fell of the radar a bit early and the investigation called "Sangster" doesn't make any sense. It's about a 24 years old rape that Faraday shall solve. But I can't see that file as a Major Crime investigation(there are lots of murders unsolved etc), and it's sprung out of nowhere. I thought all the time that it was a Willard set-up. But no. And my favorite is still Faraday and he is somewhat on the back burner in this novel. Winter is an interesting character(and Bazza), but not as much as the brooding, half depressed and highly intelligent Faraway. When he's not the main character, the other becomes a bit dull. There is not real "al dente" if Faraway isn't around with his son and french mistress. But Mr Hurley still writes the best police procedural novels in the world and I always by his hardcover as soon as they are available. This didn't put me off, but I want Faraway back in the game. Full time. Please...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another winner in a fine series..., 14 Jun 2010
By 
bloodsimple (nottingham, uk) - See all my reviews
I am a huge fan of the Faraday and Winter novels - for me, they are the best British police procedurals around. This is not the best of them - and yet, it seems way ahead of any other series.

In some ways, this feels like a transition novel, with both Faraday and Winter harbouring doubts about their role and whether they can continue it. As a result, the crime plots themselves never turn into fully-fledged focal points for the novel; they are all sub-plots. That said, they are delivered with sufficient skill to move the storyline along.

Winter and Faraday and, increasingly, Bazza McKenzie, have developed into fine characters - they have depth, subtlety, and they move along the arc as they should. Next time, I would like a return to a major crime, but this remains an excellent crime novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Winner, 28 Feb 2010
By 
K. Collins (portsmouth, hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again Graham Hurley brings the seedier and exotic parts of Portsmouth together. A must for those who love their detective novels and those who live in or around Portsmouth. Faraday and Winter are brilliant fighting for each others corner, a real class act.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Reach, 17 Feb 2010
By 
Mrs. P. M. Bennett (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Graham Hurley is in his usual supberb form. This is a real page turner of a book and will not disappoint his established fans or any new reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing !, 16 Dec 2013
By 
John Harvey "harpic04" (Nerja, (Malaga), Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Reach (Di Joe Faraday) (Paperback)
I don't like the style of this author; the whole novel seems unfocused. I have one more of Hurley's to read - I hope it is better than this !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super read, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Reach (Di Joe Faraday) (Paperback)
Another super read from Graham Hurley. Fast moving, no nonsense, no irrelevant padding, great storyline, great dialogue. For me Graham Hurley is the best find of the year. Up there with Rankin and McBride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Reach (Di Joe Faraday) (Paperback)
We only wish we had started Hurley's books from the beginning. The intertwining of the lives of the characters adds greatly to the devious twists of the plots and we feel as if we know Portsmouth without having ever been there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beyond Reach (Di Joe Faraday)
Beyond Reach (Di Joe Faraday) by Graham Hurley (Paperback - 20 Jan 2011)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews