Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another breathtaking thriller from the Master
Having read a previous reviewers rather modest opinion on this book, I was somewhat confused as to whether I had indeed read the same book. I can only say that 'The Sign' fully met all my expectations from Mr Khoury and I feel this is without doubt his best novel to date.
The book starts with a scientific expedition to witness the break up of an Ice-shelf in...
Published on 9 Jun. 2009 by G. L. Littlefield

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another from the Dan Brown Genre
I found this book interesting with a number of strong ideas but also overlong and perhaps falling into the trap of being a 'novel with a message' rather than a taut thriller.

A mysterious symbol is seen above sites of global warning and then reappears in the Egyptian desert above the monsateries of Wadi Natrun provoking a worldwide media scrum to track down the...
Published on 31 Dec. 2009 by b


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another breathtaking thriller from the Master, 9 Jun. 2009
By 
G. L. Littlefield (Middlesex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sign (Hardcover)
Having read a previous reviewers rather modest opinion on this book, I was somewhat confused as to whether I had indeed read the same book. I can only say that 'The Sign' fully met all my expectations from Mr Khoury and I feel this is without doubt his best novel to date.
The book starts with a scientific expedition to witness the break up of an Ice-shelf in Antarctica but they witness something far more than they bargained for. How is a priest on a mountain top in Egypt and a reformed car-thief in Boston linked?. The book cleverly includes the role of religion in politics and with Mr khoury's usual unsurpassed skill he combines a very fast paced thriller with a blend of the modern and ancient.Is there a sinister plot lurking somewhere in the wings....you bet your life there is and it all comes to a thrilling finale with a pulsating high crescendo......will good conquer evil?.(You will have to read the book yourself to find out) Next book please Mr Khoury, I can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another from the Dan Brown Genre, 31 Dec. 2009
This review is from: The Sign (Paperback)
I found this book interesting with a number of strong ideas but also overlong and perhaps falling into the trap of being a 'novel with a message' rather than a taut thriller.

A mysterious symbol is seen above sites of global warning and then reappears in the Egyptian desert above the monsateries of Wadi Natrun provoking a worldwide media scrum to track down the message and a battle between religious groups to explain its significance. Meanwhile, former car thief Matt Sherwood discovers the apparation is somehow linked to the mysterious disappearance of his brother and is kidnapped by a powerful group of thugs, uncovering a conspiracy that reaches deep into the heart of American society.

It's definitely a book with a lot to say, but this hampers the speed and action of the development of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the greatest con of all - a fast paced thriller of first order with some serious thoughts, 31 July 2009
By 
Amelrode (Vilvoorde) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Sign (Hardcover)
This is book number three by Raymound Khoury. I finished my review of his second book "Sanctuary" by say "I think the author can become very quickly one of my great favorites." Well, I suppose I can state now he is a great favorite of mine.

Again this is a fast running thriller and the plot is just fanatsic.
Raymond Khoury is a superb storyteller. This is indeed first class mystery telling. From page one the reader gets hooked and swept into the story. The characters are very different, rounder and interesting than in the usual thrillers. They are no sterotypes and do not talk or act like robots. Again he takes up the religious aspect but drives it into a compeltely different direction. It is not about what a certain religion is falsely based upon and tries to hide, but about religion itself - its powers, its dangers and its abuse. He combines this with the global worming issue. It might seem odd at first glace, but it just works.

But there is a different layer. It is not all about action and crimes. But Raymound Khoury argues about religion, argues about the protection of the environment and developments in the US. I suppose it might ruffle a few feathers, but I enjoyed this. It forces one to reflect. Well done Raymound!

An additional aspects which I enjoyed: a great deal of the story is set in Boston and Cambridge MA and the area around - as I had studied in Cambridge MA this was a wellcome trip down memory lane for me.

All in all, this is a great book. I enjoyed every page of it. There was not a single second of boredom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lengthy, a safe conclusion but not bad..., 13 Sept. 2010
This review is from: The Sign (Paperback)
Khoury's novel reminds me of another recent-ish novel by an author whom I now forget whose plot centred on a team of scientists firing up a CERN-esque device and claiming to find God within - though it all turned out to be the usual typical bogus event driven by a devious mind with megalomaniac tendencies. Anyway, Khoury's The Sign is of the same concept with its unexplained phenomenon seen over both the Antarctica ice shelves, the Arctic wastes and in an Egyptian cave where the living saint, Father Jerome, is holed up confused and hearing the Voice of God.
Whilst grandiose fervour follows the appearance of the Sign - ably reported by Gracie, a reporter whose team are always in the right place to capture it all for the Global Media - the sub plot follows Matt Sherwood who is being hunted by the shadowy figures represented by Drucker and Maddox behind the Sign because of his fraternal proximity to the billion scientist, Rydell, who might have made it all possible.
Throw into the mix a group of tele-evangelists headed by Rvd. Darby who grasp the fiscal potential of the events and you have an explosive combination that Khoury exploits to its fullest until we reach an atypical conclusion for the human foes and the new global truth the Sign attempts to provide.
The characterisation is pretty good, the three key subplots touching then eventually combining for the climax and Khoury explores to some safe level the subject of dogma and doctrine whilst throwing in the chases, technology, fight sequences and conspiracies that are the structure of the novel. The media - indeed, most of humanity - is portrayed as somewhat gullible and manipulative yet the aim of the conspiracy backfires somewhat with the realisation that genuine "truth" will eventually win out. The single-mindedness of the main protagonists sets up clash after clash and there is a certain satisfaction that those with a less-pure agenda eventually fall by the wayside. Khoury's third novel isn't too bad a follow-up to The Last Templar and The Sanctuary. It does suffer a trifle from being overly verbose and at times the narration loses its way - usually in all the depictions of character thought-processes that precede every single event which results in it being padded out to reach a fairly lengthy size at 500 pages. It could have been more concise and still delivered a sating story.
3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Enough Religious Thriller, 9 Oct. 2009
By 
J.Flood (Dublin,Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sign (Hardcover)
A mysterious sign appears in the sky, above a scientific expedition, in the Antarctic, just as an ice shelf breaks up. A news crew attached to the expedition manages to film the sign before it disappears, and broadcasts it to a confused world audience.

It took me a while to get into this story. After the initial appearance of the sign, I thought that the story began to meander, as we are introduced to a number of different threads and people. However, as these threads start to come together the story does improve, and the novel becomes more interesting and action packed towards the end. However, I felt that the amount of people blindly accepting the sign, as being for real, a bit improbable, particularly as the book progressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars LOVED IT KHOURY AT HIS BEST, 15 Aug. 2013
This review is from: The Sign (Kindle Edition)
In Antartica a massive shimmering ball of light appears in the sky, shape shifting into a mysterious symbol before disappearing as suddenly as t arrived, the entire event witnessed by live-television viewers across the world.

Gracie Logan is the reporter who witnesses the event and she rushes to the desert where the sign has been seen before, home to a reclusive monk. In the USA Matt Sherwood, a reformed car thief discovers that his brothers death may not be all it seems.

This book is slightly different than Mr Khoury's previous ones, this feels a little bit more up to date, and Indiana Jones type of book.
There is plenty of action to keep you engrossed, with the murder mystery feel about it. Good reaad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelmed, 7 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sign (Paperback)
Rather too fantastical to be realistically compared with the best. The writing is good but a plot that portrays one man who could do what the hero supposedly achieves is more comic book than anything I've read for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great Idea but Average Execution, 7 Aug. 2010
By 
Mr. William Oxley "oxenblocks" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sign (Hardcover)
An amazing out-of-this-world sign mysteriously appears over the melting ice cap in Antartica creating an interesting turn of events across the globe. Underlying all this is the web of intrigue surrounding the disappearance of talented IT professionals and a brothers search for an explanation when all is not as it seems.

The premise for the story is really interesting as it raises questions of religion and politics and religion in politics, especially in America.

But the story develops too slowly and meanders. Plus the main character of Matt just seems too tough and clever for an ex-con. And the ending is an attempt to rise to a climax that just feels tame. Okay for a beach book but not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read that gives you food for thought, 11 Feb. 2010
By 
J. Stubbs (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sign (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. It took me a few pages to get into, but it was worth the wait. I liked the way the plot skipped around, moving from a cliffhanger chapter ending with one of the characters to the next with another. Eventually all sides come together for a realistic, action packed finale. With a lot of these genres of books I always find the endings a bit of an anticlimax but this was great.

I also liked reading Khoury's take on religion and the environment, particularly his views on religion. I couldn't agree more with his final analysis of it all.

Excellent book. An interesting and talented writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great sign from Khoury, 27 Feb. 2010
This review is from: The Sign (Paperback)
An excellent and original plot that is exciting throughout. I think this is the best of the first 3 novels from Khoury. A strange unearthly sign appears across both poles and then in Egypt above a holy man. Is this alien, godly, or man-made? An ex-car thief (Matt) gets embroiled in the plot as he searches for his brother who was lost/ killed in a science project a few years ago. The pace is well kept with a fair share of bad guys, egotistical preachers and politicians. This is a solid read and very enjoyable with some thoughtful conjectures posed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sign
The Sign by Raymond Khoury (Paperback - 10 Dec. 2009)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews